We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all round”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Fantastic all round”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just spent a super two nights at The Village Inn - a great base to use for exploring the area. I'm a real ale fan, so the ale-on-tap was well appreciated and enjoyed, including the Bitter & Twisted on the second night. The breakfast included in the room rate was extensive and cooked to order. Our dinners were excellent as the menu is quite extensive - cullen skink was really good.

The staff were very attentive, and I appreciated Marnie's demeanour & sense of humour, especially her talents for making toast.

My only gripes were the prolific plastic flowers on the tables and dotted around the hotel - after seeing so many lovely natural flowers in the area I'm sure you could bring them indoors too! Also, the WiFi was quite ropey & frequently dropping out, both in our room as well as in the bar, but seeing as it is a free service anyway - I'm not complaining.

I would definitely book this hotel in future.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3 so that you have a view of the Loch as well as WiFi access from bed :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dumpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the real ales. Marnie is delighted that you mentioned her in your review. We look forward to you visiting us again very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    211
    80
    25
    30
See reviews for
90
392
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We found this pub while out walking what a find, Lovely gardens to enjoy a drink on a sunny day cosy atmosphere inside would be lovely in winter log fire with comfy sofas. Staff very friendly and the food was excellent and value for money. Hope to stay here on our next visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandycumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your generous review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to you visiting us again when you are next in Scotland.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great value for money. Our room was down below with no view, but other than that pretty well perfect. Large room with ensuite that included a full flow shower and a most welcome bath. All the trimmings and a great breakfast both quality and quantity. This a pub which made it slightly impersonal compared to an owner-operated B&B but the staff were very friendly and helpful and the pub had a high quality restaurant. We paid a best less than the going rate for a top of the range B&B which made the Village Inn excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our team work very hard to make your stay enjoyable from start to finish. We do hope the next time you are in Scotland you will visit us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Village Inn for 2-nights at the end of holiday in the Highlands. We like Inns - pubs with rooms - and wanted one located within striking distance of Glasgow airport but with a nice view; the Village Inn ticked all the boxes and didn't fail to deliver.

We stayed in room 3 which is above the main bar, over-looking Loch Long. High ceilings, old fire place, etc. Wonderful. We didn't have any problems which others have complained about, namely noise from the bar or from outside. We loved the room and the large bathroom too. The bathroom, like the bedroom, has a large window over-looking the Loch and is nicely finished. The only slight niggle is that there is only a shower head attached to to the taps - not a proper shower (- and the hose needs replacing as the connector is broken and sprays everywhere). I have travelled to some pretty random locations, so not having a proper shower didn't bother me but I know some might not like it.

Breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend the bacon buttie. We ate in the restaurant both nights and really enjoyed the food, beer and wines. It was very busy, so probably best to book a table in advance. Given their are so many lovely flowers at this time of year, it is a shame the restaurant has plastic flowers on the tables. Small niggle in the overall scheme of things but it does cheapen things.

Wifi is free and given the location, not a bad speed.

In summary, we really like The Village Inn, would recommend and we will return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Candelabra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and we will definitely take on board your comments. We do look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Well,this is a little gem of a pub/resturant,had pre-booked,a twin room this time ,excellent room,newly fitted out to a very high stand.very comfortable and quiet.We ate in the resturant ,very varied menu of excellent quality,as was the breakfast.Staff are so friendly and the atmoshere was great,Really wished we had booked longer here.(see --JUNE 12TH.)!!

Room Tip: Well can recommend the twin room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargeryT617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are delighted you had an excellent stay. The team have worked really hard to get 6 of our rooms refurbished for the season. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stables room 7 tired and very disappointing. Asked to pay for an upgrade for loch view rooms but was told both occupied. However after a major problem with the furniture we were moved to a newly refurbished loch view room. Surprised this was available having been told nothing was!! No problems with outside noise but very very noisy when any adjacent room used their shower. Unless something has changed I would defy anyone to get a good shower both in even temperature and power of the water spray. Very disappointing. Ensure you dine as the food is very good well presented and friendly team. Breakfasts excellent nothing was too much trouble for the girls waiting on. Nice experience but could have been much better.
If you have a promotion, please enter the Access Code here:

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teeandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
thank you very much for your feed back, we hope you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. we shall call out a plumber to look at the shower and act on what were advised, thanks for letting us know.
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Checked in on Saturday to this busy little hotel with my daughter, shown to our room which already had a camp bed set up for her as asked for. The room was clean and set up beautifully.
On such a lovely day the garden in front was busy with visitors stopping for lunch and a drink. There is a lovely cosy bar inside with a great selection of real ales and malts. The restaurant is very popular (book in advance) and for good reason the food is lovely and varied. The menu is varied and had a selection of steaks, risotto, fajitas,pulled pork, fish and chips, prawns and local seafood all in good portions. We had the home made terrine and a cray fish salad to start followed by the char grilled chicken risotto and the pulled pork. Absolutely beyond expectations.
The restaurant was full yet the staff managed it so professionally and yet friendly chatting to customers. Even though the main course took a bit of time to come out we were told when ordering and the starters came out quickly. The food was well presented and hot.
I will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munchingbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for an absolutely fantastic review. The team work very had to deliver the best service & food as possible and we really look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: Loch Long, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn, Arrochar has 14 en-suite bedrooms all of which provide fresh, comfortable and welcoming double accommodation. They are all tastefully decorated and furnished in a traditional classic rustic style.We have 10 double bedrooms (some with large double ended baths!) in the main building and a further 4 bedrooms in the beautifully restored annexe building to the rear of the inn. The annexe has 3 double rooms and 1 twin room with 2 of these bedrooms being on the ground floor.The 2 superior rooms in the main building come with 4 poster beds and offer stunning views over Loch Long and the "Arrochar Alps". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Arrochar
The Village Inn Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing