We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leg 3 of journey.”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Well,this is a little gem of a pub/resturant,had pre-booked,a twin room this time ,excellent room,newly fitted out to a very high stand.very comfortable and quiet.We ate in the resturant ,very varied menu of excellent quality,as was the breakfast.Staff are so friendly and the atmoshere was great,Really wished we had booked longer here.(see --JUNE 12TH.)!!

Room Tip: Well can recommend the twin room !!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargeryT617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We are delighted you had an excellent stay. The team have worked really hard to get 6 of our rooms refurbished for the season. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
There are newer reviews for The Village Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 670 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stables room 7 tired and very disappointing. Asked to pay for an upgrade for loch view rooms but was told both occupied. However after a major problem with the furniture we were moved to a newly refurbished loch view room. Surprised this was available having been told nothing was!! No problems with outside noise but very very noisy when any adjacent room used their shower. Unless something has changed I would defy anyone to get a good shower both in even temperature and power of the water spray. Very disappointing. Ensure you dine as the food is very good well presented and friendly team. Breakfasts excellent nothing was too much trouble for the girls waiting on. Nice experience but could have been much better.
If you have a promotion, please enter the Access Code here:

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teeandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

thank you very much for your feed back, we hope you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. we shall call out a plumber to look at the shower and act on what were advised, thanks for letting us know.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Checked in on Saturday to this busy little hotel with my daughter, shown to our room which already had a camp bed set up for her as asked for. The room was clean and set up beautifully.
On such a lovely day the garden in front was busy with visitors stopping for lunch and a drink. There is a lovely cosy bar inside with a great selection of real ales and malts. The restaurant is very popular (book in advance) and for good reason the food is lovely and varied. The menu is varied and had a selection of steaks, risotto, fajitas,pulled pork, fish and chips, prawns and local seafood all in good portions. We had the home made terrine and a cray fish salad to start followed by the char grilled chicken risotto and the pulled pork. Absolutely beyond expectations.
The restaurant was full yet the staff managed it so professionally and yet friendly chatting to customers. Even though the main course took a bit of time to come out we were told when ordering and the starters came out quickly. The food was well presented and hot.
I will be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munchingbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for an absolutely fantastic review. The team work very had to deliver the best service & food as possible and we really look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We ate here on the second attempt - booking is essential as local choices are limited. The food and service were very good. We had fillet steak which was first rate and a seafood platter which was good. Nice location overlooking Loch Long. Bit pricey.

Room Tip: Did not stay
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gerry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for your generous review. Our Team work very hard to delivery great service & food and they are delighted with your review. We look forward to you returning soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Three of us stayed here for 2 nights and it was a big disappointment. Our booking, which had been made in person 6 months previously, had been lost but eventually we got 2 rooms - one at the back and one at the front of the hotel. The room at the front did have a bit of a view but was very noisy, with cars and people coming and going. The room at the back involved a walk outside to get there and was quite small. Although there was no traffic noise, the noise from upstairs was deafening.
Breakfast on the first morning was excellent. Not so the next morning. We were hoping to have a soft drink or coffee before we left but were told that the bar wasn't open so we couldn't get anything. It was no problem for us to go elsewhere!
Certainly won't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it. A real shame because it's a wonderful setting and had loads of potential.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get the noise from the car park and beer garden but a lovely view. The refurbishe...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie7Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do strive to offer a high standard of accommodation and service at all times and have fell short of this on this occasion. We do hope you will come back and give us another chance.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just had my Wedding celebration here & everything was fabulous! Our room was stunning with beautiful views out over Loch Long. The food was excellent as was all service. The staff went beyond the call of duty to make sure our stay was as seamless as possible. The Manageress, Ann, went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed it and made it very personable. The full Scottish Breakfast in the morning was of the best we've ever had! We both slept wonderfully in the extremely comfy bed and we just loved our ensuite which also looked out onto the water which made my bubble bath even more luxurious. Room was absolutely spotless with lovely touches. Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Get the Superior room at the front if possible - just gorgeous!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moragcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Congratulations to both of you. We are delighted with your review and hope to see you both very soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

An absolutely amazing hotel. All the staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble. An amazing array of whiskeys, wines and beers to choose from in the bar. The food is outstanding, plenty of choice from the menu and is cooked to order. The restaurant was packed both nights that we stayed. The staff worked really hard and we didn't have to wait long for our food.
The view from the room was outstanding............a view of the mountains and the loch........ what a view to wake up to every morning!! We asked to book a table for the evening..............they had already booked one for us............how's that for service!!! We are already planning next years trip there. I can't fault them at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the loch. Book a table for the evening meal as they get booked up quickly...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

What an amazing review. Myself and all the team at the Village Inn are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and cant wait until you visit again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,177 reviews
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Address: Loch Long, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range: $104 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn, Arrochar has 14 en-suite bedrooms all of which provide fresh, comfortable and welcoming double accommodation. They are all tastefully decorated and furnished in a traditional classic rustic style.We have 10 double bedrooms (some with large double ended baths!) in the main building and a further 4 bedrooms in the beautifully restored annexe building to the rear of the inn. The annexe has 3 double rooms and 1 twin room with 2 of these bedrooms being on the ground floor.The 2 superior rooms in the main building come with 4 poster beds and offer stunning views over Loch Long and the "Arrochar Alps". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Arrochar
The Village Inn Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing