We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just had my Wedding celebration here & everything was fabulous! Our room was stunning with beautiful views out over Loch Long. The food was excellent as was all service. The staff went beyond the call of duty to make sure our stay was as seamless as possible. The Manageress, Ann, went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed it and made it very personable. The full Scottish Breakfast in the morning was of the best we've ever had! We both slept wonderfully in the extremely comfy bed and we just loved our ensuite which also looked out onto the water which made my bubble bath even more luxurious. Room was absolutely spotless with lovely touches. Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Get the Superior room at the front if possible - just gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moragcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Congratulations to both of you. We are delighted with your review and hope to see you both very soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 684 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

An absolutely amazing hotel. All the staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble. An amazing array of whiskeys, wines and beers to choose from in the bar. The food is outstanding, plenty of choice from the menu and is cooked to order. The restaurant was packed both nights that we stayed. The staff worked really hard and we didn't have to wait long for our food.
The view from the room was outstanding............a view of the mountains and the loch........ what a view to wake up to every morning!! We asked to book a table for the evening..............they had already booked one for us............how's that for service!!! We are already planning next years trip there. I can't fault them at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the loch. Book a table for the evening meal as they get booked up quickly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

What an amazing review. Myself and all the team at the Village Inn are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and cant wait until you visit again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

i had lunch here with a friend of mine. The location, right next to the loch is stunning and inside of the building is beautiful, the exterior does not do it justice. We ate in the main restaurant and the service from the waiting staff and bar staff was faultless. They were very attentive and helpful. The food and drink were fantastic; a good selection of draft beers, including some local ones and the food is to die for. Aside from the core menu, there were several specials on offer. I wouldn't hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C8898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

thank you for your important feed back, we greatly appreciate it. hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We wanted somewhere around Arrochar for 3 nights so we could do a bit of hill walking in the area and relax in general. The location was perfect for us and the hotel looks the business, but unfortunately the room we were given (Room 1) was terrible. Swelteringly hot (they even provide a fan, which we had on all the time), very noisy (facing the kitchen exhaust fan), intermittent hot water (inclined to cut off as soon as the shampoo goes on), old and tired looking furnishings and broadband at dial up speeds. We commented on this and were offered a different room if one was available for the last night, but nobody followed up with this.

On the plus side, the walks in the hills were fantastic, the food was generally good (luckily as there are hardly any other alternatives in Arrochar), the bar and restaurant looked fantastic and the outlook across the loch was gorgeous. But these didn't make up for the room - with the good reviews elsewhere on TripAdvisor I can only assume that the other rooms are better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard_and_Moira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

thank you for your important feed back, we greatly appreciate it. hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

No need for any PJ's in the Nudist Room room. Ignore any of the other negative reviews. We have read all of them. This is a great hotel and much better than other reviewers give credit for. We stayed in Room 1 for two nights. We climbed Ben Arthur and had a good view of the peak from the hotel, and vice versa. The Nudist Room was very hot because it is directly above the kitchen. The heating wasn't on but it was still very hot. The hotel has supplied a cooling fan, which we used each night. Despite the chilly external temparatures, you can easily imagine yourself on a Carribean Island, too warm to have any bedclothes on, relaxing under the warm summer breeze. Apparently the rooms at the rear have better internet access than the rooms at the front? We ate in the hotel both nights. The food is very good. We had fish both nights. The restaurant seats about 50 people,and it was fuklly booked each night. They were turning away people without reservations. If they can fill a 50 seated restaurant each night then they have to be doing something right? The staff are very friendly and attentive. We had great service. If I had to find a fault anywhere, it might be the driveway? It was a gravel driveway and too difficult to wheel a heavy case across it. Otherwise we had a great stay and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Choose room 1. Ask for the Nudist Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CondadoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

thank you for taking time to write a review, were sorry not to meet the standards we have set this time, we hope that you return and give us a chance to redeem ourselves as im sure we can. The summer has caught everyone out and we have invested in some cooler fan etc for the rooms.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and were very happy with our stay at the Village Inn. We had bed and breakfast which you couldn't fault, sausages and all. I agree the reception area was small but does that really matter, I think not!! Our room was absolutely fine.The staff were friendly and very helpful. A great base to explore a very beautiful part of the country, we will definatley go back again.

If I could mention a slight negative, there were times when the bar was not manned and 3 or 4 people would wait until someone came from the restaurant, not ideal but maybe just down to being short staffed.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

thank you for your important feed back, we greatly appreciate it, were glad you enjoyed your visit and were hopeful you intend to return again very soon. best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

When we arrived at the Village Inn we were pleasantly surprised. It has an excellent location overlooking Loch Long and had a lovely well kept garden. The building itself also looked well maintained. However on walking in the impression changed. Reception is a tiny cupboard under the stairs and there is clutter everywhere. Our room was in the main house and at the top of the stairs there was more clutter, 3 old trunks and an vintage vacuum cleaner, what's that all about? Our room looked over the back of the property and was dark and very tired with one stained dining chair to sit on. There were curtains with swags and tails even in the bathroom which was a reasonable size but very old fashioned and even had a toilet with a high level cistern, something I have not seen for years. It also had a free standing bath with a shower attachment but there was no way you could have a shower unless you held the shower over you with water going everywhere. On the positive side everything was very clean.

The bar and the restaurant area were again very dark and cluttered but the food was OK. Breakfast was very well presented but with the smallest piece of bacon I have ever been served and a very cheap deep fried sausage.

Overall not somewhere I would recommend or stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

were very sorry you didnt enjoy your visit with us this time , we do hope you will return soon to give us a chance to redeem ourselves. best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.5 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
563 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Address: Loch Long, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range: $80 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn, Arrochar has 14 en-suite bedrooms all of which provide fresh, comfortable and welcoming double accommodation. They are all tastefully decorated and furnished in a traditional rustic style. Each room has tea and coffee making facilities and luxury toiletries. The 2 superior rooms in the main building offer stunning views over Loch Long and the "Arrochar Alps". We have a traditional Scottish pub on site serving local ales and a restaurant offering freshly prepared food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Arrochar
The Village Inn Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing