We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy room ruined it”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noisy room ruined it”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night after doing some hill walking in the area. Normally we would just have gone home afterwards but we thought it would be nice to spend the night in a nice hotel and make a weekend of it. We booked our room a few days in advance and paid a very reasonable £40 inc breakfast. The room was fine, clean and warm, but we were disappointed to find that there was no shower, only an attachment over the bath which sprayed water at various angles and soaked the bathroom. We had a couple of drinks in the bar before having a nice meal in the restaurant. Food, service etc was all great, and the staff were lovely. We wanted to have an early night after a long day of walking...this is where it went wrong. Our room (room 4) overlooked the kitchens (I think) at the rear of the hotel, and was directly above the bar. The extractor fans from the kitchens were very noisy, but nothing compared to the volume of the music from the bar which didn't stop until 1.45am. When the music stopped the customers in the bar started singing and stamping on the floor instead. I was ready for getting in the car and going home. Nothing spoils a trip more than a terrible night's sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 at the weekend when the bar is busy and open late
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thriftytraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant & would like to apologise for the noise from the bar. As we are a Village Inn we have a lot of guests & locals who enjoy a sing song at the end of the evening & we try to make sure that it doesnt get too loud. We do hope you will return in the future.

Kind Regsrds
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    211
    80
    25
    30
See reviews for
91
392
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstone, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped for a bite to eat and we were not disappointed. As well as a good pub menu there was also a fantastic selection of specials and we were not disappointed. The Cullen Skink was delicious as was the Chicken Bamoral. One of the nicest meals I've had recently and way beyond pub grub. Will definitely be back and from the reviews the rooms have been given might even stay over.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind reviews. We do hope that you will stay the next time to enjoy the whole experience.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

went in for our second visit last week whilst on holiday in the area i was really looking forward to it as on our first visit i rated 5 star.service a bit slow as most tables were full and seemed only to be one girl working.we just ordered mains this time.it seems that they have moved away from home cooking,the chips served with 3 out of the 5 mains we ordered tasted like they had been fully cooked then reheated my scampi was way overcooked and a bit crunchy and the batter on the fish a bit soggy,kids meal was ok apart from chips and the 2 salads were good.At £10 for pub grub main course i needs to be much better (like the last time).i am putting this down to an off day and will give another chance the next time i am in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Slaes Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We endeavour to offer the best quality & service at all times. I would like to apologise that you felt you didnt receive this. If we were aware of these issues at the time we would of rectified it straight away. I do hope you will visit us again.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stopped at the Village Inn for 3 nights,christmas eve,christmas day and boxing day.Our room was #3 which was warm, homely and clean with breathtaking views of the snow capped mountains and Loch Long.The breakfasts were scottish traditional fayre with a generous selection to fill you till tea time where you could then order from the reasonably priced pub menu at the bar.The christmas day lunch was served by friendly,courteous, attentive staff and the meal was spot on and worth every penny.We thoroughly enjoyed our value for money stay and look forward to stopping there again in the near future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardenlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for one night to surprise a friend who was staying nearby. This was a lovely old styled Inn, but the rooms were modern and well decorated. All facilities were provided including, tv, coffee making and separate bathroom.
Although we only had breakfast, the food was excellent and a good choice too. The restaurant was busy when we arrived but we didn't have the opportunity to sample the food.
Staff were pleasant, friendly and very helpfull.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There may have been Loch view hotels. Room 4 only had a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougal911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your generous review. We look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A 3 Star Hotel with 5 Star treatment, from the minute we walked in the door to the minute we left, we cannot fault this wonderful experience.
Ann, Tony, Willy, Jacky, and to the rest of all the wonderful staff, you made us feel very homely, we stayed in room no 8 at the back of the hotel, very quite, we have a 2 year old boy, and this was perfect. The room was spotless, very warm for a winter stay, the only thing if i may suggest is turn the heating down a couple of deg in the whole hotel, not a complaint, just a suggestion. But don't get me wrong, the open fires blazing, the craig was great, I event stoked the main lounge fire a couple of times as the fire was so comforting. We only had breakfast during our stay, but what a feed it was, nothing was ever an effort, and enough to keep you going all day.
We will be staying here again, and if you are ever in the area, I can strongly recommend this children friendly, bubbly welcoming Inn.
Thanks you all for a lovely stay.
Brendan, Joan, and Jodan-Lee.

Room Tip: If you want to stop in Arrochar, don't miss the Village Inn, trust us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for such a generous review. We do hope you will visit us again very soon.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qkebt147
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The rooms were great, the people were very friendly and the service was very good. The rooms were excellent value: 35 pounds for two people including a Scottish Breakfast! We only spent a day there, but we had a very comfortable stay. They had free internet throughout the building. The rooms were excellent! Great big bathroom with a tub!

Room Tip: Very nice location to rest and enjoy the fantastic landscapes of Loch Lomond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qkebt147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your comments and look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: Loch Long, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn, Arrochar has 14 en-suite bedrooms all of which provide fresh, comfortable and welcoming double accommodation. They are all tastefully decorated and furnished in a traditional classic rustic style.We have 10 double bedrooms (some with large double ended baths!) in the main building and a further 4 bedrooms in the beautifully restored annexe building to the rear of the inn. The annexe has 3 double rooms and 1 twin room with 2 of these bedrooms being on the ground floor.The 2 superior rooms in the main building come with 4 poster beds and offer stunning views over Loch Long and the "Arrochar Alps". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Arrochar
The Village Inn Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing