We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One bad apple..”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One bad apple..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Arrived there on Friday and stayed until today (Sunday) was a good deal at £80 and was looking forward to it. Unfortunately it didn't live up to expectations, primarily because of one particular female member of the serving staff who treated us shabbily on the Friday evening in the restaurant, forgetting us, even forgetting the bread starter, while attending to other tables. Upon complaining we were told not to be "obnoxious" and heard her saying "sorry about them" to another table of diners! How very professional! Next day at breakfast this lady took our breakfast order -then we waited..then 45 minutes later, she asked us how was breakfast, we replied we hadn't received it! Another 20 minutes later it arrived, so over an hour after the initial order. She then blamed the chef who was "just back from holiday"! We both believed this was her way of getting back for complaining the night before. I would have given this place only a one star rating but the other staff were good and one young lady was particularly nice early yesterday evening (sat) in the bar. We were a bit disappointed to be given a room at the back of the building seeing as we were there earlier than those who got these rooms, but the bath was nice, though the shower-head was faulty, spraying water in various directions, soaking the floor and changing temperature from cold to burning hot constantly. Will not be rushing back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We strive to provide a friendly and welcoming experience. Please accept our apologies and be assured that this is not normal practice.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    204
    71
    21
    23
See reviews for
84
370
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Decided to visit The Village Inn on recommendation from staff where were were staying. We were not disappointed. The staff were attentive and pleasant and the atmosphere was warm and welcoming.
The food was excellent and cooked exactly as we had requested(steak). We plan on visiting again before our holiday ends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanoeStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed you meal & look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is a lovely secret place to go for a great cosy night. We have been on several occasions and the food, staff and breakfast are all brilliant. We always stayed in the rooms above the bar and restaurant which all have there own decor. This time we were in room 10 and didn't like it as much as Rooms 1,2,3 or 4 however still had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMCrosby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your generous review. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please remember to ask for one of the rooms above the bar the next time you book & we will do our best to accommodate you.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Surprised at paying such a small cost for such a beautiful place to stay for the night. We got a last minute deal for this Loch Lomond hotel in Arrochar. And although it was a room for the night, it resembled a lodge style room which was fab. Breakfast in the morning was brill and cooked fresh. But have to say the staff were wonderful. Very pleasant and more than willing to help us throughout our stay. We decided to eat at the Inn and were astounded by the quality of the food and such an affordable price. Only 45 mins from Glasgow by car. Soooooo relaxing. Wish we had stayed 2 nights. Very busy the night we were there.

Only thing I would say is that the room was very dusty i.e the lights above the bed and the cupboards provided, but beds and bathroom were clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgow2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your generous review. We will take on board your comments & look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

had a wonderful stay at the village inn recently. i can't find anything to fault (except that for the first time anywhere in the UK, I felt a little hot at times...but i was sitting next to the open fires in both rooms at the time). The Village Inn is exactly the type of unobtrusive hotel build that that the rural parts of the UK require..its picture postcard pretty and the interior doesnt let it down either. The pub is small and inviting, the selection of wines, beers, ales and soft drinks are great. The restaurant does some great food and the breakfasts are wonderful. The staff were more than helpful. The room that we had overlooked the loch (as i think most of them do) all i can say is that the view from my window was like a framed picture...it personified tranquility and peace...just nature at its best. The room was wonderfully decorated and the attention to detail in terms of the soft furnishings fit the feel of the Inn. I would say the room was luxurously cosy, inviting and comfortable. If you want to stay in a well converted stagecoach inn that still has its original features and fitting with some well made 21st century adjustments, this is the place to be. I would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone...it really is a gem of a place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastLondonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
What a wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The staff were great - really attentive and one guy even came and got my keys for our room even though he had finished for the day and was taking a break in the bar. Breakfast and evening meals were good value for money - rooms are basic but do the job - shower in the room was really poor but the views were lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornamwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your generous review. We will take on board your comments & look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I love this place..A must after being to the Cobbler..Just a soup and pint visit,but as always good food,and drink.Warm,good atmosphere,love the wood decor..A must visit,all year round.In the summer,the views are fantastic.A great base,for getting to see the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamson000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for an excellent review. We look forward to you returning.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
Lochside Guest House
Lochside Guest House
#3 of 17 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabank B&B
Seabank B&B
#1 of 17 in Arrochar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: Loch Long, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn, Arrochar has 14 en-suite bedrooms all of which provide fresh, comfortable and welcoming double accommodation. They are all tastefully decorated and furnished in a traditional classic rustic style.We have 10 double bedrooms (some with large double ended baths!) in the main building and a further 4 bedrooms in the beautifully restored annexe building to the rear of the inn. The annexe has 3 double rooms and 1 twin room with 2 of these bedrooms being on the ground floor.The 2 superior rooms in the main building come with 4 poster beds and offer stunning views over Loch Long and the "Arrochar Alps". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Arrochar
The Village Inn Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing