We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable bed”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most comfortable bed”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I had a wonderful sleep in this hotel and would definitely recommend it. Spacious parking, good dinner, nice atmosphere, the room was very clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelexyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel W, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    211
    80
    25
    30
See reviews for
91
392
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Used this as a stop on the way further north.
Lovely location and friendly welcome.
Room was nice if a bit quirky.
Meals were okay but really "pub grub" not restaurant
Had a terrible night's sleep as the radiator in our bedroom started banging at 02:00 and again at 04:00. Then somebody else's room radiator started banging later.
They need to get a plumber in!!!!!!!!
Spoilled what was otherwise a pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyjAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel W, Sales Coordinator at The Village Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
I am sorry your experience at the Inn was not as you expected. We will definetly look into the noise coming from the radiators. I hope this will not put you off visiting us i the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Maclay Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Went for an evening pint here recently with a friend as I liked the look of the place and it appears in the CAMRA guide. Thoroughly unimpressed with the service, at eight pm we were informed by the very terse barman that they were no longer serving food and in any case they were fully booked. Having passed through the restaurant to get to the bar and noting that at least half of the tables were unoccupied I was incredulous to say the least.

Settling for a pint instead we asked for a small taste of our potential selection, as in all good real ale pubs. We were once again met with a frosty response from the barman who simply informed us that "he was not in the habit of giving away freebies" but after some cadjoling eventually agreed to do so.

I have eaten here before and found the food to be very enjoyable - if not a little expensive. CAMRA why have you put your name against such an unpleasant welcome?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theluge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
thank you so much for your feedback, were sorry you first impression was not a good one, no excuses. this is not our usual high standards set out. we do hope this has not put you off visiting us again in the very near future. best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Who hires the most ignorant, unhelpfull and miserable bar man in Scotland? Its a shame to say this lovely Scottish pub was ruined by the presence of this disgracefull Englishman.
Asked if we could sample the local ales was returned by a grumpy retort of 'we don't give out freebies'. It was busy in the restaurant that day, asked if we could just order our food and sit outside to enjoy the sunshine he responded angrily with 'no we are not taking orders till I say so' he gave us back our money and took our Ales off us. They obviously earn far too much money there to have any care about their customers. Avoid.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JimmyCarr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
thank you so much for your feedback, were sorry your visit wasnt a pleasant one and didnt meet with our usual high standards, we do hope you would consider returning and giving us a chance to redeem ourselves best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night in May 2012. The hotel is set in a great location with very scenic views. Our room was very comfortable and more than adequate for our short stay. The staff were very friendly, the bar was very warm and welcoming ( with lovely log fires) and the food high quality pub food with generous portions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
thank you so much for your generous feedback, were really pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and hope you intend to return to see us again soon. best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Location... perfect, couldn't be any prettier.
Room...Big. Bathroom could do with a lick of paint. Shower warm and powerful enough.
Decor... a little dated.
Bed... Ok, not as comfortable as home but ok.
Staff... friendly.
Food... Good pub grub, nothing more nothing less.
Bar... warm and welcoming.

Value... worth what we payed, no complaints

Room Tip: Room two is big and has a Loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyShields1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
so pleased you took time to write a review as their so important to us, good or bad ! were very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night whilst having a weekend break, on arrival the view and setting at the inn was picturesque to say the least, all the staff were friendly and informative, the food was excellent, well cooked and well presented and fantastic value for money, the bar next to the restaurant had a great friendly atmosphere! The only let down about this hotel was the room was old and tattie but it was clean and had everything we needed and for what we paid we still felt satisfied, all in all this was a great little place and will definately return for more excellent food and a relax in the bar.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn1731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
were very glad you came to visit us and that you had a good experience, we thank you for your feed back and hope you intend to return to see us again soon. best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: Loch Long, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn, Arrochar has 14 en-suite bedrooms all of which provide fresh, comfortable and welcoming double accommodation. They are all tastefully decorated and furnished in a traditional classic rustic style.We have 10 double bedrooms (some with large double ended baths!) in the main building and a further 4 bedrooms in the beautifully restored annexe building to the rear of the inn. The annexe has 3 double rooms and 1 twin room with 2 of these bedrooms being on the ground floor.The 2 superior rooms in the main building come with 4 poster beds and offer stunning views over Loch Long and the "Arrochar Alps". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Arrochar
The Village Inn Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing