We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fab hotel”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Spent another night in this hotel as was walking the cobblers the next morning, ok not 5 star but paid £60 for dbb for two with entertainment. Evening meal was fab, well presented and breakfast was good, room basic but all our needs where met and all the staff where welcoming at all times. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone, I will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sap3051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Very many thanks for your comments. A pleasure having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    413
    268
    155
    118
See reviews for
123
694
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel and can't wait to book a return visit. The room was lovely and clean with a beautiful view. We ate both night in the hotel and enjoyed dinner on both occasions. The staff were really friendly and helpful especially the receptionist who fell in love with the dogs :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ckaylesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Llovely meeting yourselves and the dogs. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire scotland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Cute little room clean and comfy a few little bits of maintenance required Pleasant restaurant food not as good as last time but good enough Happy to say music a bit better also ! Rain spoiled plans for a walk around the beautiful setting of this hotel Cheerful staff Great value for money No doubt will be back Only disappointment was bed was a bit on the small side and pillows a bit flat

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We look forward to your return ( and a bigger bed)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just returned from 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast at the Arrochar hotel. Deal was through Easy breaks and was total of £114 for two people for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast. Dinner on first night included bottle of wine (Hardy's Chardonnay). The staff were welcoming and friendly throughout. Yes, the decor would benefit from some updating and the food was not 5 star but I did not expect that given the excellent price. Customers were a variety of walkers, retired and one young foreign family. I read various reviews before arriving at the hotel and I can only say that any negative comments must have been from people who expect Ritz and Michelin star standards for a bargain price.
Well done to the Arrochar hotel for providing an excellent, clean, comfortable and welcoming hotel for such a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Loch Long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkpno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for positive comments. We were dilighted to have you here and look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Once again a very enjoyable few days. Lovely loch view room for which there is a minimal charge, definitely worth the extra. Food was very well presented and freshly prepared with a few choices for each of the three courses,we never managed to eat lunch after the hearty breakfast. So once again thank you to EASYBREAKS for giving us the opportunity to come back to this lovely hotel as such a bargain price, cant imagine you will be able to book direct with the hotel for these prices. Keep up the good work and we will be back soon. A big thank you to all the staff who go out of their way to help you.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying small charge for a loch side room . Such a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honda5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Many thanks for your comments . We enjoyed your company.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Both myself and boyfriend stayed here for a night beginning of March. This was a night away as a surprise , and a surprise it was.

The check-in did not open until 3pm not just for us but for everyone in the hotel who we're checking in. When my boyfriend joined the queue to check-in he had to fill in an information sheet with all his details, this could have been done while waiting. The person on reception also covered the bar not suitable for the staff really.

We had booked DBB , it was a set menu with limited choice or no choice if you are a vegetarian ( we are not ) the starter was well mediocre to say the least, main course well not sure if the potatoes were boiled or roast as the plate was covered in gravy to go with what they call Roast Beef. The winter veg was boiled within an inch of it's life as was the Pasta.
Desserts we chose were warm Apple Pie with Ice Cream and Cheesecake.The Apple Pie was freezing cold the Ice Cream was warmer, the Cheesecake made a 99 pence one look amazing. Breakfast was just as bad the only hot thing was the Tea / Coffee.

Now onto the bar , with limited stock on bottled beers esp, At a weekend is not good for customer service. They have Guinness on draft but for some reason this was sold in a can ?

The rooms are lovely and clean so not sure how the Two cleaners do it to be honest, but the decor needs to be re-done for the whole Hotel as it looked drab and dated. Not sure how someone can think about having their Wedding there though it might be the view ?

The Staff and nice and friendly but they all looked disheartened as I would be if I worked there. I would strongly think about staying here unless it is just somewhere to rest your head and not eat anything.

Think about spending a few pounds more for a decent place that gives good local produce and doesn't do food mass produced or on a budget.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Sorry you did not see the best of us. Hopefully you will return and take the opportunity to sample our famed higland hospoitality and delilcious food,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arrochar hotels

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I know check in was 3pm,arrived at 215pm.Making you wait till 3pm was a first for me,had to wait to be served at bar,as the barmaid was also at reception.When 3pm arrived there was queue then a form to fill in,this could and should have been done earlier.Room was ok,could be doing with be updated.Dinner was horrible,salmon started was wheres the salmon,there was that little, roast beef was cold and fatty,potaoes were cold didnt know if they were roast or boiled and veg was over cooked,Hot apple pie was frozen.As for breakfast poor quality ingredients and toast that was curling up at the edges.The only good thing was the view of loch long.DONT GO HERE, no matter the price.NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin973897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Sorry you did not see the best of us. Hopefully you will return and allow us to show you the good food and frieindly welcome we are famed for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
472 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing