We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Frendly welcome from reception and nice room 134 double glazing and plenty of room for two. Bar prices are good, all staff very nice and willing to make your stay nice.
the food was plentiful and lovely and hot we will definitely be back to this hotel very good value for money.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank emccook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

We were delighted to have you here and look forward to your return
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed three nights at the Arrochar Hotel from 23-26 January 2014. At £25 B&B, booked through Late Rooms, this was excellent value. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was also good - enjoyed the haggis! Would I stay here again? At £25 a night, definitely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MountainBagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Many thanks for your comments . We look forward to you receiving more value for money at the Arrochar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Reception welcoming and friendly. Clean room with comfortable bed and lovely view over the loch. Old deteriorated multi-pane single-glazed wooden frame sash windows allowing icy blast into room, so heating only adequate when curtains closed and bunched on window sill. Bathroom clean. Fitments old with water pressure low, and water temperature adequate but not very hot. Restaurant service quick, efficient and friendly and food excellent. Large lounge bar with views over the loch, but with a door opening to the outside resulting a cold draught when door opened. Arrochar is a lovely little village and the hotel would be pleasanter in warmer weather! The performers and staff worked hard for the Saturday night ceilidh - but the very small dance area in the lounge bar (and no caller for the dancing) made the dancing less than easy. All in all a pleasant weekend, very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBR43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

it was a pleasure meeting you over the burns weekend. I am glad you enjoyed our company as we did yours.
We look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great ceilidh/party atmosphere with good craic. Nice group of people in hotel. Well done to Janet and David Collings & the hard working friendly staff who had time for everyone even though hotel was busy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12christinef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Very kind comments . Delighted to have you here in Arrochar and look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

En-route from Skyes to Edinburgh and me and my wife decided to stay for a night... The location is good and with the kind of price I would rate it as good.
Although the breakfast was average and could have been better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DhingraAmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Many thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Well we arrived at the hotel after booking on line, after a very long drive on route to Saddel Bay, It took my hubby and I 20 mins or more to locate staff, then a chap appeared who did not seem to know what he was doing on reception,quite miserable and ignorant, we eventually got our keys and when up the very dirty stairs, to a room that someone had just left, towels still wet and dirty from previous occupant bin full of old sandwiches,bed looked like the previous occupant had just got out of it, dirty tea/coffee cups, an awful mess....we went back down to reception only to be greeted by Mr ignorant again who gave us a 2nd set of keys no apology,we then trudged up 2 flight of stairs only to find dirty towels again and the bed was not made up just a pile of pillows and a grey coloured duvet, back down again to Mr miserable, I asked to see the Manager, he was not available the chap then tried another room but same outcome,We asked for a refund, the manager appears, he then sent my husband up to another room same outcome but this time with the key he handed over a previous person information sheet full of credit card details address etc......BE AWARE OF THIS..A total joke and a very dirty smelly hotel.Just what I needed, this was a treat after finishing Chem and Radiotherapy...what more can I say......

Room Tip: Do not bother with this horrible dirty smelly hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

My apologies for the confusion. this was caused by a computer error which displayed the rooms as clean when in fact they were not.This is has now been sorted.
My receptonist and i felt your discomfort especially after just completing a course of chemotherapy and we both send our sincere apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

En-route from Skye to London, this was just a crash pad.
Great value for £50. Hotel hints at glory former years. Rooms small but relatively modern, good decor.
Shower was terrible, no water pressure. TV has blown pixels which left yellow lines all over it. Wifi was useless, less than 0.5mb, no good for streaming news etc made browsing hard work.

Staff were polite enough. Manager/owned looked knackered and seemed rather fed up with it all! Breakfast was good enough, coffee hot and adequate!

Bar had the atmosphere of a morgue, always seems hotels for want residents to spend time and money in their bars, letting them go to atmospheric local bars instead! Weird business mentality that.

Would not want to stay more than a night here, but good as a stopover.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Sir, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I was not bored or knackered , just deep iin concentration.
Please look us up again if you are passing and you will recieve a very warm welcome.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
573 reviews
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,556 reviews
14 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range: $65 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing