We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A series of disasters”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We arrived at the "dog friendly" hotel and met a lovely guy on reception (with a ponytail) who checked us in. A room had been assigned to us although when he saw the dog (which had been mentioned at the time of booking) said that the room is pretty small and did we want to change. We said we were sure it would be fine as we just wanted a bed and bath. I did ensure it had a view of the loch as suggested in previous reviews.
On entering the room, we noticed damp patches on the walls above the door and windows, these had obviously been there a while - shame it hasn't been acknowledged by management and cleaned/painted. The windows had a thick layer of mould on the frames and plenty of condensation was compounding this. The mattress was old and has had it's day, but we did manage to sleep. The bathroom had mould around the seal of the bath and the seal was hanging off, exposing more mould. Shame as its quite a nice bathroom apart from this.
Back in the bedroom, we noticed coffee stains up the wall next to the bedside cabinet - please housekeeping, sort it out, this should not be happening.
Next morning we had a fairly small breakfast, although not delicious it was adequate. On the second night we chose not to take part in the entertainment (bingo) as we had completed a huge walk and were knackered and really didn't want to sit in the brightly lit foyer/bar with coach loads of seniors.
Breakfast next morning was partially burnt and NOT what we ordered with the background noise of hammering in the bar next door from workmen.
Altogether a pretty unpleasant stay although the young guy on reception was lovely and the hotel location was perfect for our requirements (walking in the Arrochar Alps).
We won't be back.

Room Tip: Get a loch view when booking your room
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cariad_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
There are newer reviews for Arrochar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

807 - 813 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

We use the arrochar hotel every year for our end of season dance this year we had 60 in our party on the 26th October we stayed fri night as well could not fault the food was excellent both nights rooms clean and warm staff fantastic we've already booked for our dance for next year. The breakfast is plentiful and hot and a great choice they also donated an over night stay for our raffle for Loch Lomond rescue boat . We're planning on going there for valentines day as well as are a lot of our party can't wait !

Room Tip: As for a loch view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jg440uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

we as a couple stayed there for 2 nights on a bed/breakfast evening meal deal at the end of october. we found the staff very helpful and friendly and the food in the restaurant we could not fault. the service was a little slow the second night due to them having 2 coach trips in but we were in no rush and when it did arrive it was piping hot,plentiful and very tasty so we def' had no reason to complain and the waiter did apologise for the delay. we even got a free bottle of wine with our meal on the first night. we asked for a room with a view and is worth the upgrade. clean,warm and a stunning view. we were'nt expecting any entertainment so was a nice surprise to be entertained by a childrens local scottish dance school. all in all we had a lovely stay,we have stayed here a few times in the past and even before the hotel had a refurbishment we never have had any reason to complain. thank you once again arrochar hotel for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: would always reccomend a room with a view overlooking the loch.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

When i arrived at this hotel i was waiting about for 10 minutes as reception staff wasn't present, we where checked in with a lady called Janet i think that was her name, She was very rude and very unhelpful. When we got into our room (135) was very hard to get in because there was a tiny little hallway before you even got in the room i was struggling to even get my bag in (WASN'T EVEN BIG ENOUGH TO SWING A MOUSE!!!!!!!!!) wallpaper was hanging off the wall next to the radiator and the radiator paint was peeling off...the room was dusty, floors were needing a good hoover i found a blood mark on my pillow towels were dirty and hair in the bath. when i was in my room the view was despicable as i seen trees and there was big gas tanks right outside our window and i seen the staff outside smoking not exactly the view i was hoping for. the restaurant if you even want to call it that was dark and dull staff where rude and the food was horrible cold, bland and dry we would have preferred to have just eaten a pot noodle in our room.the entertainment was dreadful was like listening to a tone deaf cat choir our ears were bleeding !! at the end of the night me and my partner had banging sore head. by the time we had to leave we could not get out there quick enough we even skipped breakfast (YUKK) This hotel is a 2 star trying to get a 3 star well that is definitely not going to happen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

we booked this hotel as it is dog friendly. The rooms were warm, clean but a little dated. The staff were brilliant, and couldn't have done more to make our stay comfortable. Also when they say dog friendly they really meant it. We are walkers and when we came off the hill it would have been good to have somewhere to dry our walking clothes and boots, however Daniel (a member of staff) made sure our clothes were dry for the next day. The breakfasts were good. The dinners could have been warmer but they were fine. we will go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed here as a solo traveller recently to do some walking in the area. The hotel has a nice location on the Loch and is advertised as somewhere for a relaxing break, mentioning activities such as kayaking and diving. The reality is that the hotel is completely geared towards coach parties of older people with cabaret style entertainment every evening in the bar. My room was unfortunately on the first floor over the bar which made it impossible to get an early night or even watch television as it was deafening. When I called up to ask what time it was finishing, I was told that there was nothing they could do about it and it was only 10.30 so I shouldn't complain. Whilst I understand that people want to stay up, listen to music etc, I do think the hotel should warn people about the music and give them the option of moving to a higher floor as people should also have the right to get an early night if they choose.

At 5.30 in the morning I was then woken up by people packing and leaving as the hotel is full of coach trips leaving early. The walls are paper thin and the floorboards very creaky which means you can hear every conversation and even people going to the loo.

If you want a relaxing break then pay a bit more and stay somewhere else as it is not how the website describes it. It is not a hotel for solo travellers or walkers (not if you are expecting sleep).

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor away from the bar.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank solotraveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

For what we paid for this hotel we didnt expect much.Its best point is the view of the loch and mountains.The hotel seems to be used for bus parties.The decor is very dated and a wee bit drab,but very clean.the rooms had everything we needed,comfortable double bed,hairdrier,tv,decent shower,hot water.we ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel.food was good,hot and reasonably priced.there was entertainment(a man singing badly whilst collecting glasses and looking out the door)but the elderly bus passengers seemed to enjoy it.

Room Tip: ask for a loch view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluelou60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range: $62 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing