We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We did realise that the hotel only rated 2 stars but I was hopeful that it might have surprised us. The location is lovely, the main building dates back to the 1800's. Management needs to stop patrons from smoking outside the front door as the smoke drifts inside as well as giving a poor feel to the hotel entrance. The rooms are dated and a bit shabby - needs updating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    405
    256
    149
    111
See reviews for
117
671
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here on the spur of the moment, at the end of our holiday. We had a room overlooking the Loch and apart from the weather which they could do nothing about, we had a lovely last night in Scotland. There was live music in the bar, which everyone enjoyed and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening meal and breakfast were very good, our only thoughts were that the dining room in the evening was a little too formal and an optional more casual eating area would have been very acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotie418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochabers, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just back from a 2 night break at the arrochar hotel.Staff were friendly and helpful.Room[126] was perfect.Very clean and comfortable.Dinner in dining room each night was very good!Only little niggle was the sausages at breakfast which we cooked a little longer. Apart from that my wife and i had a very enjoyable time and hope to return soon! One again great hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAMISH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

stayed here for 4 nights and was a little worried after reading some reviews but we had a fantastic stay and despite a problem with the room we stayed in we were quickly moved and wow amazing.
I could not have asked for better we had views to die for and food service and entertainment were all perfect.
We got friendly with a tour group that were there and had a really good time in the evenings.
Price was unbeatable and the cost of drinks and food in the hotel were really good and food was really good quality and well presented.
One thing i did notice was that the general manager was very hands on and even joined in with the dancing one evening ....whilst working behind the bar.
will certainly return and can highly recommend here for hospitality and location.
thank you to everyone that made our stay unforgettable.

Room Tip: room 112 amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I think Lucas A must have stayed in an altogether different hotel from me. From the minute we walked into the hotel we were very pleased with our choice and we are well travelled. We were checked in by a lovely young man at reception who then proceeded to serve us with an excellent afternoon tea which was very filling and excellent value, try it , you will not be disappointed.OOur room 228 was very clean and comfortable with a comfy bed and lovely linen. Toilet had all that was required with clean , white towels changed each day. The view from our window just made our day, a beautiful loch view and in so unexpected as it was such a cheap deal for our 2 nights from Easy Breaks , a lovely surprise. The dining room had lovely crisp linen tablecovers and napkins, I just hate eating from a wooden table with mats. All the food served was fresh and wellcooked , there were a few choices for each of the 3 courses and tea or coffee to finish.All in all we had a lovely break and will certainly return in the future and will not be scared to recommend it to others. Thank you for all your hard work to the staff in the hotel, it shows

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honda5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for the final night of our holiday.
We read the reviews 'after' we had booked the hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and good standard of the hotel generally.
The location opposite the loch was superb. On entering, we found the atmosphere nice and the staff helpful. We stayed in three hotels on our trip and this one was the cheapest of the three and we thought £74 for the night including a three course evening meal was good value.
The room was of a good standard ( the only negative angle was that we did not have a loch view, but that of the rear service area of the hotel including the pulsating view of three calor gas tanks adjacent ! ) I suppose though, for what we paid for the room, there was always going to be a hitch, but to be fair to the hotel, and for me personally, I thought the food here was the best out of all three hotels that we stayed in during a holiday and we would stay here again, but for only one night though if we had to look at those gas tanks !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walcotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

stayed hear September and got a lovely loch and mountain view room which I had requested the breakfast and evening meal was excellent and the staff so friendly and helpful would highly recommend
great base to visit oban inverraray lochgoil and argyl in general

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing