We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay again”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just returned from another excellent weekend break here. This is the fourth time we have stayed here since January and each time has been better than the time before. Our stay this time was for our wedding anniversary. Unknown to me my husband contacted the hotel a few days before we arrived to order a bouguet of flowers for the room as a surprise for me. The staff member at the hotel asked if it was a special occasion and when my Husband explained it was our wedding anniversary they insisted on upgrading us to a suite at no extra cost. The suite was beautiful. Loch facing, very bright and sunny, very spacious and very clean. The welcome we received was as usual very warm. The food was excellent and the restaurant staff were very attentive. The entertainment on Saturday night was very good also. The only gripe about the whole stay was that it had to come to an end! We are looking to book again for June for a family members 50th Birthday and we cant wait!!

Room Tip: ask for a loch facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

939 - 945 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed 2 night here last week. First room we were given was like a prison cell with no view; wallpaper coming off the walls; cigarette burn on the only seat and a nasty smell. After intervention of a friend we were given another room which was much better and overlooked the Loch. The staff were friendly and did their best to make us comfortable. Food was satisfactory. Lounge area near bar drowned out by pop music . Could be much better if money spent on it. Very nice location however.

Room Tip: Ask for front facing rooms with view of the Loch. Avoid back rooms at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phutchence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel & service. We were greeted well by staff. Great location and views.
Clean, tidy, spacious room with great views.
Had a peaceful nyt and good sleep.
Food was great, will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noor007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed in hotel dinner bed and breakfast 13th april. Lovely views and walks in and around Arrochar. Also had a front facing room with views over the water. Can't fault hotel. Room just what we needed. Food very appetising, staff helpful and very friendly and we were even treated to great entertainment that night. All and all a very enjoyable stay and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: ask for a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights on buisness very clean and tidy plus very polite and helpfull staff. lovely location and beautifull views. but if you want a room with a view make sure you request one as rooms to the rear have little or no view at all. my room had a wall about 4 feet in front of the window so very little light getting into the room making the room very dull even on a bright sunny day. but having said that the room itself was more than adequate for the price. my only real gripe was the breakfast not only myself but other guests also recieved different items than was asked for also most of the breakfast was cold and served on cold plates which didnt help. the waiters where very pleasant but there lack of understanding of the english language didnt help either

Room Tip: rear rooms have no views. also limited menu so if staying more than a couple of nights will be best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telfordtrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

For the price of this hotel you can't go far wrong. Friendly service, great meal on dinner, bed and breakfast (again for the price...it's not gourmet but impressive given the value). We requested loch view rooms and had a lovely view of the mountains to wake up to which set our trip to the highlands off to a great start. The room was a little dated, but again, for the price I've stayed in much more dated travel lodge's and we had a decent bed, decent shower and everything you need for a budget stopover. It's by no means a luxury hotel but would definitely stay again - it is worth mentioning that it's used a lot by contractors so maybe not the greatest place if travelling alone!

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view room on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed overnight dinner bed breakfast March 13.
Bit concerned before arrival at some reviews of this hotel .... for us totally unfounded.
Evening meal good and the service great.
Room (old sash windows as expected) clean warm with stunning views of surrounding snow covered hills and loch.
Would certainly consider it again for weekend escape.

Room Tip: ask for front rooms overlooking loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackdlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
551 reviews
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
15.1 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
138 reviews
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range: $57 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing