We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just had a lovely wk/end at the Arrochar Hotel, staff at this hotel were very helpfull always very happy to help with any requests we made during our stay over the wk/end, we had a meal in the hotel restuarant on Saturday night it has to be said the food was excellent as was the service .The room we had was at the front of the hotel with excellent views over Loch Long and the surrounding mountains, the bathroom is a wee bit tired looking and could be doing with an overhaul but other than that we had a very enjoyable wk/end,the entertainment was also very good as it was Burns wk/end everybody enjoyed the Scottish music and were all quite happy to join in a good night was had by all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am please your enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    405
    255
    149
    111
See reviews for
117
671
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

have just returned after a lovely weekend @ the arrochar hotel dont often do a review but after reading a few negative ones before i went thought i must give my honest review. the hotel was nice , staff very helpfull and friendly had a lovely loch view room (no extra charge) the food was very nice all public areas have been upgraded recently and the bedrooms are all getting upgraded the one we had was recently refurbished the value for money is outstansnding 2 adults 2nights b&b total £70 around £17-50 pp pn what do people want the hilton?if so you have to pay hilton prices i would recommend this hotel to anyone it was our first stay here and we will most certainley be returning many thanks for our stay.

Room Tip: have a loch view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am please your enjoyed your stay and found it to be good value for money. I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

just returned from what was a brilliant weekend at Arrochar Hotel.My wife had taken me there for my birthday. I have to say we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the hotel (having read so many BAD reviews). The Food and service were excellent. The staff were very helpful and always ready with a "GOOD MORNING" accompanied by a smile. The Hotel itself was very comfortable and clean with stunning views across loch long. All in all we had a great time. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Room 212 has excellent views across Loch Long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you chose the Arrochar hotel to celebrate your special occasion and I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Usually spend New Year in Spain but came to this wee hidden gem we found on internet for our budget. Had a fab New Years Eve and New Years day at Arrochar. The weather could have been been better but that is obviously the chance you take with New Year in Scotland. Was prepared for a walk along the loch front in freezing cold, windy, rainy weather, blowing away the cobwebs, I can tell you it was different from what we were used to but loved it! Accomodation, food and staff were excellent. Fantastic dinner and entertaintment on new years eve, loved that it had haggis on the menu and the two boy pipers were so good leading up to midnight, Raymond & Victor were great entertainment getting eveyone up to dance. Relaxing day on New Years day,with a quiz that we were to fill in (did you trust us not to google the answers? ha ha,) and buffet dinner at night was just fantastic, salad starters, hot mains ohhh just made the New Years break perfect . I think we have met some friends we will try to keep in touch with, unfortunately off to a sunny cruise on Monday. All in all was great New Years experience and would recommend it to anyone, thanks so much Henriette, Laura and staff, we loved it will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a loch shore room, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you chose the Arrochar hotel to celebrate Hogmanay and I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Selected this hotel, having read reports, both from the public and the Hotel Manager. Yes the hotel has been refurbished, ie new chairs in the function room and dinning area, and yes this hotel is old and needs further improvement particarly in the rooms, which are clean but badly needing updated. Plus points, views are fantastic, food was really good, except breakfast, the sausage, pudding etc were awful.Staff were really helpful, mainly Europeans. Bad points, no draft beer except the old 70shillings, rooms/bathroom were old. The Hognamay Ball went well,although the Band did not turn up, they managed to find a late replacement. An extra bonus was the Whisky that they served at 10.50pm for the bells in 10 minutes, yes they were an hour out! They also had a the singer that was planned for the Tuesday night, perform on the Hognamay Night, Vic Stevens, everyone agreed he was terrible. We had to suffer him again on Tuesday, quite a few people complained about his singing, if that is what it is called. He ran out of material and kept apologising for his material, it was take it or leave it!

Room Tip: Loch view on top floor, ie you will not hear the floor boards creak from the upstairs guest!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Findlay1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.

We do take on board all relevent comments made and impliment improvement where required.

The hotel has seen major investment over the past 12 months having seen complete refurbishment of the public areas, carpets have been replaced throughout the property, new beds, telephones, flat screen TV’s and other soft furnishings. Further investment is planned for 2013 with the bedrooms.

I do hope to welcome you back to Arrochar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Loved this picturesque hotel in great location. We had a room facing The Cobbler, which was stunning! Food was excellent the Two AA rating was underated in my opinion, all local fresh seafood, outstanding. Beautiful area for walking and relaxing. Rooms were clean and comfortable with outstanding views. would defo stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the cobbler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Arrochar Hotel on Friday 23rd November 2012 What a great time we had Lovely clean hotel fab food and super staff from check in to check out it was wonderful. Our thanks go to Laura. Henriet and the rest of the staff well done and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rifleman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your positive comments and they will be shared with everyone in the team.

I look forward to welcoming your back to Arrochar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing