We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“leave”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

we have just left my wife and i we will never return until the new manager leaves she is a disgrase we asked the girl at reception could we speak to manager her answer no she was so rude and nasty we asked the barman her name he told us its on the bord at the lift.i dont think he understood what i was asking.the room was filthy the food cold there seemed to be party at the back of resturant hope they had a better time we have been to arrochar many many times but sadly our last please bring back the old mangment.the new ones not working hotel being ruined going down hill fast i know i may be harsh but my wife so angry and upset

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sweetdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

I’m afraid this false review is posted by a disgruntled member of staff. Their other review (posted the same weekend) is posted at the hotel of the previous management team. I hope that those reading this can see the similarities between the two reviews and gain a more rounded opinion of the hotel from other reviews posted. We are trying to get this review removed.

Thank you

Laura Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a lovely stay at the Arrochar Hotel.Went for dinner, bed and breakfast. The views from the hotel are breathtaking as we had a front facing room. Really can't find fault in our stay. Big thank you to Laura and her staff for making us feel so welcome. Nice warm friendly atmosphere. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennyshouse15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

Your comments have been shared with the team and we appreciate such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked this at a truly amazing rate, figuring it would be fine for a night. It's much more than fine. I'm guessing the Arrochar Hotel mostly caters for vast coach parties touring Scotland, and, out-of-seaon, it keeps itself busy by offering its rooms very cheaply. If so, the plan's working well.

This is not a luxury hotel, but this was a large and clean room in a building with plenty of history. The view of the Loch from the restaurant is jaw-dropping. Seriously amazing. The staff are friendly. For the price, I'd say it's unbeatable.

The only drawback is the lighting in the bar which is eye-wateringly bright. A bit of mood-lighting would go a long way there. But that's a quibble - we had a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eustonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. Your comments will be shared with the team who will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

arrived for our overnight stay on sunday4th nov .lovely ground floor room with fabulous views of the cobbler. we were on a dinner bed breakfast deal food was lovely and well presented for the price we paid .would use this hotel again ,staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: room 1 at the front has a fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cat560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments will be shared with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Arrochar Hotel is the worst place I have ever stayed in my life. I will not use it again and its incompetency has helped me make up my mind : I will NEVER use any Oxford Hotel Group.

We pre-booked on the phone. When we arrived we had to wait for about 30 minutes at the reception to be served, while there were other receptionists hanging around doing nothing. When we entered our twin room (Number 221), there was still rubbish in the room (see photo). The ceiling was leaking (see photo).

At about 8:30 pm, very loud music began to thump through the floor. The noises and vibration didn’t end until 12:30 am and the crowd was still making a very loud noise until after 1 am.

We complained about the noises to the reception the next morning, and they said they would mention it to the senior management and did not give us any explanation. But

A) I booked on the phone. On the phone, they could at least have the decency to tell me they would be having a party until after midnight, and our room would be noisy. In these circumstances, we could have made other plans.
B) They could have at least told me when we checked in.
C) Why was that from two storeys above, we could still hear all the noises and feel all the vibrations coming through? There must have been something wrong with their building.

I noticed Arrochar Hotel had been awarded in year 2003, but how could they have so many problems?

To this day, we are still waiting for an apology from Arrochar Hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid Arrochar Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvior.

I apologise that I did not have the opportunity to speak to you prior to your departure from the hotel. You are correct that you should have been informed about there being entertainment in the hotel on the evening of you stay. There was a singer in the lounge area of the hotel who played until 12.30am. I am sorry that the noise from the evenings entertainment disturbed your stay with us.

I was not aware of the problems your encountered with your room on arrival at the hotel. Had myself or any member of the team been notified we would most certainly have offered you a new room.

I would like to assure you that we do take all customer feedback seriously and make improvements where required. I would hope that if you were visiting in Arrochar in the future that you would give us the opportunity to show where these improvements had been made and restore your opinion of our hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed overnight on cheap rate so not expecting too much.The hotel has a fabulous lakeside view on Loch Long but our bedroom was in need of a lick of paint to brighten up the dull room. The hotel has a distinct 70s feel and a bit of investment would do wonders.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank EKman130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. The hotel has very recently undergone refurbishment throughout the public areas and further refurbishment will begin in January.

I do hope that you will return to Arrochar in the future, to see the considerable work that has been carried out to date, and also the plans that we have for the future improvement and benefit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Our family stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding every thing was so nice the staff were fantastic the food was superb and nice big rooms very clean & comfortable we will definatley stay here again can't wait to go back opening our curtains to the most fantastic view thank you all the staff

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemarie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. We are glad that yourself and the wedding party chose to stay at Arrochar Hotel and we hope that you all had a wonderful time.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
584 reviews
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
12.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range: $66 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing