We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“catherine h value for money”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“catherine h value for money”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

arrived for our overnight stay on sunday4th nov .lovely ground floor room with fabulous views of the cobbler. we were on a dinner bed breakfast deal food was lovely and well presented for the price we paid .would use this hotel again ,staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: room 1 at the front has a fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cat560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments will be shared with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    413
    269
    156
    118
See reviews for
123
695
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Arrochar Hotel is the worst place I have ever stayed in my life. I will not use it again and its incompetency has helped me make up my mind : I will NEVER use any Oxford Hotel Group.

We pre-booked on the phone. When we arrived we had to wait for about 30 minutes at the reception to be served, while there were other receptionists hanging around doing nothing. When we entered our twin room (Number 221), there was still rubbish in the room (see photo). The ceiling was leaking (see photo).

At about 8:30 pm, very loud music began to thump through the floor. The noises and vibration didn’t end until 12:30 am and the crowd was still making a very loud noise until after 1 am.

We complained about the noises to the reception the next morning, and they said they would mention it to the senior management and did not give us any explanation. But

A) I booked on the phone. On the phone, they could at least have the decency to tell me they would be having a party until after midnight, and our room would be noisy. In these circumstances, we could have made other plans.
B) They could have at least told me when we checked in.
C) Why was that from two storeys above, we could still hear all the noises and feel all the vibrations coming through? There must have been something wrong with their building.

I noticed Arrochar Hotel had been awarded in year 2003, but how could they have so many problems?

To this day, we are still waiting for an apology from Arrochar Hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid Arrochar Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvior.

I apologise that I did not have the opportunity to speak to you prior to your departure from the hotel. You are correct that you should have been informed about there being entertainment in the hotel on the evening of you stay. There was a singer in the lounge area of the hotel who played until 12.30am. I am sorry that the noise from the evenings entertainment disturbed your stay with us.

I was not aware of the problems your encountered with your room on arrival at the hotel. Had myself or any member of the team been notified we would most certainly have offered you a new room.

I would like to assure you that we do take all customer feedback seriously and make improvements where required. I would hope that if you were visiting in Arrochar in the future that you would give us the opportunity to show where these improvements had been made and restore your opinion of our hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arrochar hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed overnight on cheap rate so not expecting too much.The hotel has a fabulous lakeside view on Loch Long but our bedroom was in need of a lick of paint to brighten up the dull room. The hotel has a distinct 70s feel and a bit of investment would do wonders.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EKman130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. The hotel has very recently undergone refurbishment throughout the public areas and further refurbishment will begin in January.

I do hope that you will return to Arrochar in the future, to see the considerable work that has been carried out to date, and also the plans that we have for the future improvement and benefit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Our family stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding every thing was so nice the staff were fantastic the food was superb and nice big rooms very clean & comfortable we will definatley stay here again can't wait to go back opening our curtains to the most fantastic view thank you all the staff

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemarie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. We are glad that yourself and the wedding party chose to stay at Arrochar Hotel and we hope that you all had a wonderful time.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

A lovely setting just by the loch with stunning views but the two things that made it a bit of a downer were, lift not working and we had requested a twin for our in laws that can't walk very well so up the stairs it was and also the breakfast was in all fairness probably the worst I 've ever had anywhere. Dried bacon, something that was supposed to be a sausage etc....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We always attempt to meet all our guest request. We do recommend that our ground floor rooms are requested when our guest have mobility problems. I apologise that there was a fault with our lift during your visit - a repair was carried out prompty and the lift was only out of service for a short time.

We take all customer feedback seriously and make changes based on this feedback. I would like to thank you for your comments regarding breakfast.

I do hope that you would choose to stay with us again, should you be visiting in the area, to show the improvements that have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a break here en route to Glasgow.Staff very efficient & friendly especially Attila.The rooms were adequate & so very clean! Had rooms which overlooked the loch & The Cobbler which was lovely.In fact all areas were spotlessly clean not a cobweb in sight.
Could do with another member of staff to help at breakfast,the poor waiter was run ragged.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the loch & The Cobbler
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillySally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our second visit to the Arrochar hotel. Our first was 5 years ago. We found the hotel much improved. We had a clean, well decorated and comfortable room with a lovely view over the loch and the Arrochar Alps. The bathroom was clean and well-equipped. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Service in the restaurant, both at dinner and breakfast was prompt and professional. Our only criticism is the food. At dinner we found it disappointing and bland. We were served small portions with no accompanying vegetables. Breakfast was also poor, as all the food appeared to have been kept warm for a long time.... leathery hard eggs, shrivelled sausages and cardboard bacon, and again small amounts. Thank goodness for the good old Scottish bowl of porridge! However, overall, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otterwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. We do take on board all comments made and make improvements where necessary. I am glad that you can see the on-going improvements that we are making at Arrochar Hotel, and I hope on your return you will continue to see further improvements.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
476 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing