We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAD A FANTASTIC TIME”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had such a good time 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast , unbelievable value , fantastic location even the weather was good ! Excellent food offered both at breakfast and evening meal and pleasantly surprised that there was additional choice to menu on second night, We had one small problem but we went straight to management (much better to report it at time rather than put bad comments if management isnt aware) not only did they sort it but also made a gesture that far exceeded our expectation, Room clean and adequate. Excellent value and we would love to visit again.

Room Tip: We had a loch view room - stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. I make every effort to ensure all our customers have an enjoyable stay with us, and should any problems arise, I do appreciate the opportunity to rectify, no matter how small the problem is.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

993 - 999 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

It was with some trepidation we booked two nights at this hotel. We have stayed many times in the area but after a slightly negative experience at our normal hotel we decided to spread our wings a little. This pretty white hotel on the shores of a loch could not provide a better setting. The views of the Arrochar Alps and Loch Long were breath taking. The room was nothing to set the world on fire but comfortable and very clean. We decided to take advantage of the hotel bar and restaurant, and were not disappointed! The restaurant was well presented and the staff extremely courteous and helpful particularly Carlos who was able to give me lots of information about the specials menu. The menu was varied and cooked to perfection - all washed down with a stunning Pinot Grigio. For me, the treat was the very varied whiskey selection in the bar - who needs a distillery visit with a selection like that?!

Negative aspects? Well there weren't any really! It may look a little tired in places but I am assured by the manager that this is on hand. If the planned work matches the friendliness and enthusiasm of the staff then this little Scottish gem will be hard to fault.

A big thank you to Henriette, Carlos and all the other staff for a lovely stay at one of those rarely found gems - Laura (said manager) must be very proud of the jewel in her crown!

We hope to be able to spend more than just two nights here again soon!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a view of the stunning loch and mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review onto tripadvisor. Your lovely comments will be shared with the team who will be delighted.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar, in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

HAve to agree with good reviews of this hotel ! Just back from 2 night dbb at this hotel. Fab location! Room good size and very satisfactory. Dinner was excellent both nights and staff were first class! Will certainly go back ! S> Robertson Edinburgh

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SERobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. It is always lovely to have such positive feedback to share with the team.

I do hope to welcome you back to Arrochar in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Visited this hotel for a one night break, great view of Loch Long from our bedroom BB&Evening meal plus a bottle of Shiraz with our meal and two whiskeys all included in the price.

In the middle of upgrading new double glazing, and good plumbing our room just required new carpet and furniture.

Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for Loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you found the packages available value for money and I do look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The view was breathtaking, the room was basic but very clean. The meals were superb. The staff worked exceptionally hard (a bit too hard in my opinion, they did not seem to get a break, doing every job in the place) they were really lovely and could not do enough for the guests. The hotel is great value for money, I will definatly be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateBlack883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. All positive comments are passed to our staff, who will be delighted.

I look forward to welcoming your back to Arrochar in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Don't think this hotel deserves all the bad reviews on here, its not luxurious but surely at £40 a night you shouldn't expect it. We asked for & got a loch view room which was amazing. The room was of a good standard apart from curtains weren't put up right so kept coming off & even though we asked reception it was not fixed properly during our 2 night stay. The bathroom was dated but clean. Breakfast to be honest wasn't great at all, we ended up going to the cafe next door which was fab!
Go with it in mind that this is a budget hotel in a stunning location & you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennettkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We take all customer feedback seriously and aim to make the relevant improvements based on this feedback.

I do hope to welcome you back to Arrochar in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I really can not understand the bad reviews for this hotel; it is such good value for money. Ok the rooms are basic, but they are functional, and all for the same price as a youth hostel. You also get a good breakfast and an excellent view. Arrochar is great base for cycling and walking. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank falcarragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. Your comments will be passed to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Arrochar in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
552 reviews
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
15.1 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
138 reviews
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range: $57 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing