We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back for a second time and worth it AGAIN!!”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“back for a second time and worth it AGAIN!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

this is the second time i have frequented this wee gem....YES it is a cheap place to stay and NO its not the hilton by any means, BUT, for value for money you have to accept that you get what you pay for. Staff were once again friendly and coped with our needs. Food, although a bit bland, was adequate. We paid 58 GBP for 2 nights dinner, bed & breakfast which is good value. The room was fine and as it was at the opposite side, there was no road noise.
I wont hesitate in returning to this hotel if the price was right once again.
In summary....if you are expecting the Holiday Inn or a Hilton then book elsewhere and keep your comments to yourself. "you get what you pay for"

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popstar1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    413
    268
    155
    118
See reviews for
123
694
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

great location.helpful staff.room was not ready until after dinner.never would have been unless i told them it needed doing.room noisy,right next to main road.lorries thundering past all night. noisy delivery drivers at 6 am.food bland. rooms not cleaned during stay.same hair on sink all week.same bits on carpet. ran out of loo roll.had to rob the gents in lounge.

Room Tip: rooms at front overlooking loch best. minor road,less traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redders17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arrochar hotels

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Room was damp and mouldy and the bath has been filled in with what looked like poly filler. The window was held open with a block of wood and our view would have been that of gas tanks, rubbish bins and staff smoking in the courtyard. We were showed an alternative room with loch views but the wallpaper was coming off the wall, we decided not to stay as we value our health!! Judging by our previous stay at a 2* Oxford Hotel this one should be zero star rated. Such a shame as this hotel has potential to be a very grand hotel with a bit of tender loving care...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This hotel building has definitely seen better days, is not hugely sound proof,was not the very cleanest place we've ever stayed,and tv barely worked. But for just one night it was fine for us, convenient location with great view and not a bad price. The staff was very helpful and friendly in booking and checking in/out, although breakfast seemed a bit understaffed. Didn't have dinner at the hotel, as the set menu had no vegetarian option.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liesbeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The whole busload of 70 people are refusing to unpack and are insisting to be taken home and cut short the holiday. Shockingly bad housekeeping, manager refusing to speak to us. Cannot see the view for the dirt on the windows. Won't serve you dinner until you have full table of eight even though there is no one else left to eat! Do not stay here even if it is free if you value your health and sanity

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJD04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

we stayed here for a wedding nearby, the place is a dump I'm afraid.
I wouldn't have minded if it didn't cost £75 for a room for a night, total rip off.
our bathroom had already used bottles of shower gel in it....and suspect hairs stuck to the shower wall.
they kindly gave me £20 back on the room bill, but it didn't really make up for it.
the room was so old, with mould round the windows and thin curtains from yesteryear - this place needs some investment or it shouldn't be charging such high rates.
the breakfast is made of the lowest quality ingredients you could get your hands on. I couldn't eat any of it.
we got there at 1pm on a saturday for a wedding having called a few days beforehand to ask if it might be possible that one of our rooms would be available for us to change in before the wedding, this was not possible, we had to leave our bags in the restaurant and get changed in the not very nice loos downstairs.
sorry to moan.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanf_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Yes it was really like going back in time a true late 70s early 80s watering hole in need of so much updating it isnt true .
I thought the staff where really faultless really friendly.
Had dinner first night , i must admit i think school dinners where like michelin star compared to these,say no more.
The room we stayed in had a great view , also sheets towels etc where very clean ,but afraid decor again much to be desired .
Will think hard about going again,i don`t think so.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roarychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
471 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing