We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty chips”

Arrochar Fish & Chips
Ranked #9 of 9 Restaurants in Arrochar
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty chips”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just called in & bought chips on the way home. Parking is a problem in the area but there is a carpark at the end of town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ricochetsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Parking can sometimes be a bit of a menace.

Kind regards

Arrochar chippy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    39
    31
    17
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shocking quality”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Ordered fish and chips for the grown ups and chicken nuggets and sausage for the kids. Probably the worst fish we have had inexplicably served in breadcrumbs and thin, anaemic fish. The chips were not fresh cut, the nuggets chewy and the whole family - including 3 hungry kids who eat most things- threw it away. Such a shame as the shop has charm and the lady serving was very friendly. I should have smelled a rat when we couldn't actually see the food being cooked. We do like decent grub but fish and chips can be average and still leave you satisfied. This was much worse than that and being so close to the sea and some famous ports like Oban just not good enough. First negative review I have posted but really wouldn't want others To waste their money - avoid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank TIJ303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
This is a very damning review and we are very sorry that you found the food so unpalatable and that we should be subject to your first negative review.

We regret not being given the opportunity to rectify it at the time, before so publicly airing your complaint.

Due to the size of our premises and nature of our seasonally affected turn over we do use frozen breaded haddock fillets from a very reputable producer. This product is very popular with many returning customers. Our chips are not frozen, they are fresh and vacuum packed and like all potato products can very in crop quality throughout the year.

Only the layout of our premises dictates where the cooking area is. Your comment " I should have smelled a rat when we couldn't actually see the food being cooked" does seem inappropriate and not in keeping with any sincere grievance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Chippy”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

after a long walk with the dogs along the Loch called in at The Chippy the staff were friendly food was fab really enjoyed it. Would go back there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GeordieFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, much appreciated.

Kind regards

Arrochar chippy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
108 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“We were warned by locals......”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

However, we wanted to experience it for ourselves, and have never seen fish and chips quite like it! The standard fish, chips and mushy peas offering consisted of a a slab of frozen food style fish in breadcrumbs that had been run over by a ten ton truck, with average mushy peas but acceptable chips (not in huge quantity).

Rather strangely they also sell some lovely soaps, which is something they should expand and forget the fish and chips. Head down instead to the excellent "Inn at Inverbeg" for a completely different experience, well worth paying the extra for really fresh fish and chips.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank StewartStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are very sorry that you were so unhappy with your meal and deeply regret that you chose not to give us the chance to rectify or reimburse you immediately before airing this very public grievance.

You describe being clearly "blown away" by the seemingly unworldly presentation of your meal, I simply cannot rationally account for this extreme however I can offer you my assurances that it would not have been run over by a 10 ton truck prior to serving.

Due to the size of our premises and nature of our seasonally affected turn over we do use frozen breaded haddock fillets from a very reputable producer. This product is very popular with many returning customers. Our chips are not frozen, they are fresh and vacuum packed and like all potato products can very in crop quality throughout the year. We have not found any brand of mushy so far that have stood out as exceptional.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our own hand made soaps which we are currently developing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the best fish and chips we've ever had”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

There weren't too many places to eat here and we always love our fish and chips so this seemed the right place. Wrong. The fish looked and tasted like crumbed fish taken from the freezer. The chips were OK. I don't recommend this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sgb1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal and sorry you informed us at the time in order to give us the opportunity to handle your complaint and refund your money.

Our fish is frozen from a reputable producer and we have many regular returning customers who continue to enjoy it.

Again we are sorry that it was not to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arrochar Fish & Chips also viewed

Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
 

Been to Arrochar Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing