We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, excellent, wonderful”

Arrochar Fish & Chips
Ranked #9 of 9 Restaurants in Arrochar
Restaurant details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb, excellent, wonderful”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Visited today with family from North Carolina following a climb to the top of The Cobbler. Service was excellent. Staff were very very friendly. Food was sublime. My USA brother-in-law said it was the best fish n chips he had ever tasted. I agreed. It was delicious. Highly recommend a visit here. 10/10 !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you dearly kind Tony C. May the sun shine long in North Carolina :)

Kind regards

Arrochar chippy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    40
    35
    18
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Chippy ever!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Been going to Arrochar for more than 10 years and always have to pop into 'The Chippy' for some fish and chips which are scrumptious. The staff are extremely friendly and very helpful even when they are run off their feet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hazel59durkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Much appreciated hazel59durkin, thank goodness there are some people out there who take the time to write positive reviews. :)

Kind regards

Arrochar chippy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Brilliant food, priced reasonably and you get a good sized portion, staff were friendly and helpful as we weren't local so told us where we could go buy what we needed and places we could visit. The shop was a little random, in one corner is the fish and chip counter and next to it is a bookshelf full of soaps whilst in another corner they sell Avon Skin so soft dry oil body spray, weird, except I now know that it is a fantastic midge repellent, shame I found out after my trip as I am now covered in bites, doh!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you Sam R for your much appreciated positive comments. The so called "bookshelf and the soaps displayed in it are both hand made by ourselves (rural business, quiet long winters, dark nights, you gotta diversify out here in the sticks ha!).

Many thanks

Arrochar chippy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful fish”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful haddock and lovely fresh chips. Thoroughly enjoyed my visit here and would definitely go back again. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmwestlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Than you so much Kmwestlife, delighted you enjoyed our fish and chips.

Kindest regards

Arrochar chippy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were looking forward to a fish supper, under the illusion that in this neck of the woods it would be freshly cooked good quality fish. Both the fish and chips were the frozen type and poor quality. Very much overpriced would never go back. Total waste of money! Give this place a miss.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank gerri d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atticapartment, Owner at Arrochar Fish & Chips, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are so sorry that you were so unhappy with your meal.

Our fish though frozen is cooked to order to ensure that it is as fresh as possible. Our chips are fresh and vacuum packed not frozen.

Regrettable that we were not given the chance to refund your money at the time and instead, decided on a very public damning through trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arrochar Fish & Chips also viewed

Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Arrochar Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing