We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely guesthouse in a Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goldberry Cottage B&B
Ranked #7 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in October as part of a Scottish road-trip. The bed and breakfast is perched on the side of loch long, with only the road running between it and the loch. The hosts were extremely welcoming and friendly. Room was very well presented, bed very comfortable, lovely homely touches and attention to detail. Bathroom very clean, could have maybe done with a bit of shelving or similar to allow guests to store their toiletries. Breakfast was spot-on. Great value for money - we felt it was worth more than we paid. We are at the Village Inn, just across the loch in the evening where the food was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 75 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Really fabulous location for touring, only 30 mins from Inveraray and just past Loch Lomond. The owners are lovely and are so helpful. Very very welcoming. Great hospitality!!! Their house is stunning and the bedrooms are lovely. Private parking and your own doorway to the bedrooms is an advantage. The scotch pancakes in the morning with smoked bacon and caramelised cinnamon apple are awesome and are nice breakfast alternative. Cannot wait to go back in October. Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasgow2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is an excellent B&B in an amazing location. The owners are very friendly, the rooms are clean and finished to a high standard, the view from the breakfast room and our bedroom was superb and the food was exceptional. This is well worth the money to stay here and probably one of the best B&B's I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dippydodaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We drove up from Portpatrick and stayed 1 night at The Goldberry and what a great night it was. The hosts, Mandy and James, were very welcoming and the room we stayed in was lovely and clean.. in fact the whole place was spotless. They gave us some advice on where to eat ( The Village Inn, and it was great ) and on places to see in the local area and beyond ( we didn't go to The Mull of Kintyre in the end! ). The breakfast was lovely and the views over the Loch were just amazing as you ate your breakfast in the conservatory at the front. There was a bottle of spakling wine in our bedroom upon arrival so Thank you very much for that lovely gesture.. much appreciated. We would definitely recommend the Goldberry to anyone looking for a place to stay in that lovely part of Scotland.. the only thing i would say is... wish we could have stayed longer..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Upon approaching the cottage, we were wowed by the surrounding view of loch long and the mountains around. When we booked in and met the owners Mandy and James, the friendliness and helpfulness shone through. We were shown to our room and and the first thing that hit me was how fresh looking and smelling it was, very inviting. The cleanliness of the room, en suite and surrounding areas was first class, there was a complimentary tray of tea sugar milk water biscuits and hot chocolate! Which was replenished daily. They really have thought of everything. The bed was very comfy and the breakfast...well what can we say about that...you are spoilt for choice, we had the full Scottish breakfast on day 1 which was delicious and day 2 we tried the scotch pancakes with smoked bacon and caramelised cinnamon apple...mmmm mmmm mmmmmm never tasted anything like it, absolutely fantastic. Overall Mandy and James were the nicest people you could ever wish to meet, make you feel so welcome and part of their home. We celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary whilst their and we had a card n box of chocolates off them to help us celebrate it...very thoughtful. We will be returning and recommending this quaint little b&b.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in this charming B&B for three nights in the beginning of September in order to get some rest before a trip to London. Had it not been for nonrefundable hotel booking in London, we would have cancelled London trip in order to stay longer in Goldberry Cottage and experience wonderful hospitality of the hosts Mandy and James. We chose the hotel solely on the basis of reviews in TripAdvisor and can now say that every word in praise of this hotel is true.

Location. Located directly on the bank of Loch Long and our room featured very picturesque view of the loch. The hotel has a small garden and sitting there you can listen to the sound of the woods and relax.

Room condition and amenities. The room is newly and tastefully decorated and perfectly clean (my wife is extremely picky in these mattes and it was she, who noted order and cleanness of the room). The room has everything that you might need: from clean and high-quality bed sheets, TV, free wifi, and hairdryer to small electric kettle with cups&spoons. All these things are either new or kept in perfect condition.

Breakfast. Excellent and beautifully served food. My wife had allergy for certain products, so she asked for something, which was not in the menu, and this request was fulfilled.

Hospitality. The only thing to say is that coming over here you do not feel yourself in a hotel but rather at your friend's place. Hospitality of the hosts Mandy and James went beyond all our expectations and turned our trip into an unforgettable experience. Besides being very friendly Mandy and James display excellent attention to details, which define excellent service. We definitely recommend this hotel to everyone, who is looking for a quiet place to stay at. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Goldberry cottage on our journey home after returning from the Hebrides for our honeymoon. We took the ferry from Lochboisdale to Oban (arrived at 7pm), and drove from Oban to the cottage. We phoned the cottage as we did not know if we would be arriving later than 9pm. James reassured us that it was fine and not to rush. We arrived close to 9pm and were nicely welcomed by Mandy and James. We stayed in the first room to the right which was small, but very clean, nice linen, and comfy bed with tea/coffee available. Felt we had to tiptoe around a bit, but their home is homey. The guest door out the back of the cottage was very noisy and we were conscious of being too loud going in and out a couple of times at that time of night. Maybe this is done on purpose to be able to hear the guests going in/out, but definitely needed a lube job to help guests not to feel this way. After bringing our stuff in to the room, we wanted a nightcap, so Mandy gave us walking directions (10 mins perhaps) to the Ardgarten Hotel up the road by the Ardgarten Campsite. Great place, don’t know how we missed this hotel as it looked like a fab place to stay also. There was a man singing and playing the keyboard with older guests travelling by coach having a dance. It was nice to sit and listen to the music, have a chat, enjoy others dancing, and the view out the windows to Loch Long. Walked back to the cottage and had a restful sleep with a delicious cooked Scottish breakfast the next morning to help start our day off nicely before travelling on to Durham for a two night stay somewhere else before heading home. Thanks Mandy and James. Happy travelling to all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuinteMohawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arrochar hotels
0 mi away
Ben Bheula B&B
Ben Bheula B&B
#9 of 16 in Arrochar
158 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lochside Guest House
Lochside Guest House
#4 of 16 in Arrochar
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 16 in Arrochar
687 reviews
0 mi away
Benarthurs Bothy Luxury Flat
1 mi away
Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast
Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 16 in Arrochar
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldberry Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldberry Cottage B&B

Address: Ardgartan | Arrochar, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range: $86 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldberry Cottage Bed & Breakfast is dramatically situated at the foot of the world famous Ben Arthur, better known as "The Cobbler", and we have stunning uninterrupted views over Loch Long and out towards the Ardgartan peninsula.We are located in Ardgartan, Arrochar, Argyll & Bute, Scotland, which is at the heart of The Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park, Scotland's First National Park. The area is renowned for its dramatic natural scenic beauty, and yet we are only one hour's drive from Glasgow and 45 minutes drive from Glasgow Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Goldberry Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldberry Cottage B&B Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing