We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardgartan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardgartan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Have just come backfrom a five day holiday at the newest hotel of Lochs and Glens, Ardgartan it
is the best hotel my husband and I have been to.Our bedroom was huge and had a big walk in
shower which was fantastic . The staff couldn't do enough to help the meals were very good and the staff kept coming to see if you wanted more vegetables.The trips out on the steam train to
Malaig was wonderful, and the two hour cruise the next day also was.The drivers were also very
good and we learnt many things about Scotland that we didn't know thanks to Michael and
Dougie.So if anyone is thinking about going you want to as it is great value for money.
Mr and Mrs Ovington.

Room Tip: If all the rooms were as comfortable as ours any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valandnormanovington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    52
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
254
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed with wife on a four night holiday late July 2013. The journey up from the North East was on a full (57) seat six week old Lochs and Glens coach. A steal at £275,000! Both drivers - Michael and Dougie were great with Dougie in particular a mine of information on Scottish history even if he was rather disparaging of England-shire!

Our fourth L & G holiday so we pretty much knew what to expect, which is superb value for money. Ardgartan is the first purpose built L & G hotel and forty years of experience are reflected in its design. Reception areas are light and airy with the lobby offering a panoramic view of Loch Long. Rooms are a reasonable size with plenty of storage and tea/coffee facilities. Bathrooms with walk in showers are excellent.

Food is OK - adequate but dull and portions are on the small side - reflecting the appetites of the predominantly elderly clientele. Bar prices are reasonable - £2.95 - £3.20 per pint.

We were blessed with superb weather - high 20's temperatures and not a drop or rain.

The outings were superb - a trip on the West Scottish steam line from Fort William to Mallaig one day, our own exclusive boat trip through the Kyles of Bute the next and finally a visit to Oban and the Cruachan power station.

So long as L & G keep coming up with interesting itineraries we'll keep coming back ...

Room Tip: Loch Views on request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

travelled on a proctors coach which was the most uncomforable coach we have travelled on,there was not alot of leg room, people around us were sufering with cramp.two nights we arrived back at the Ardgartan hotel to find no water in the bedrooms because of burst pipe in the cellar, not good for a new hotel. There was only a sorry for any inconvenience it has caused you.I have written to complain.But up to date have had no reply.This has made us think twice about booking with Lochs & glens again.

Room Tip: The view from the bedroom looked out on the loch that was loverly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 196christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day break with Locks and Glens ,cannot praise hotel and staff enough, from the moment you arrive you are treated as a valued guest.
The staff were very polite always greeting you with a smile and nothing was to much trouble for them. Food was excellent, rooms were comfortable clean and to a high standard.
The location of the hotel could not have been better situated at the end of Loch Long having fantastic views, (view greeted you as soon as you walked into the hotel). The hotel grounds were ideal for a stroll.
The holiday was great value for money and worth every penny, we will certainly be using Locks and Glens again.

Room Tip: Request a Loch view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our recent stay at the Ardgartan Hotel completes our our visits to all the Lochs & Glens Hotels. It lives up to and maintains the L & G reputation for:
1. Superb value for money.
2. Location & ambiance.
3. Competent Staff.
4.Good food.
5. High quality fixtures and fittings.
All we need are now are longer holidays on offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jwrobinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

If it's quality with value for money that you need from your holiday, then "Lochs & Glens" are the Company to travel with.
The Hotel "Ardgarten", which was newly built and opened in July, 2012 is a credit to the Wells Family, who have six other delightful hotels,each with their own characteristics.
Situated no more than fifty yards from the edge of "Loch Long", with it's wonderful view of the Loch and the mountains rising either side, the mirrored image reflecting on the water, a slight mist lingering in the early hours, what could be better than to wake up each morning to such tranquility.
Tucked away from any roadway the approach winds it's way through woodland, then suddenly this magnificent building is in front of you, drawing you in for further delights.
A member of staff quickly boards the coach to welcome you all and to inform you of your room number and time of the evening meal, whilst other members of staff are delivering you cases to you room.
Each room is designed with space and comfort in mind with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space built into an extra long dressing unit with a suitcase stand at the end. Tea making facilities, hair dryer, telephone and TV along with a comfortable armchair and occasional table are all there to give you that home from home feeling.
The en-suite bathroom was also designed with space in mind, with it's deluxe shower and fully tiled walls and floor. Everything about this room was "First Class".
You would think that all the praise so far couldn't get better, but believe me it does. Every single member of staff, from the Reception to the Housemaids greeted you with a smile and a warm welcome.
As a retired publican I speak from experience of the standard of service we all received, and it was obvious that each and everyone of them had been "Professionally" trained in their respective duties. It was a pleasure for me to watch them at work, and the Management are to be complimented on the high standards.
Another part of you holiday is the quality of food, and this was another excellent result. To organise several large parties to eat as groups, and to be given a choice of food, is a challenge to any kitchen and waiting staff, but this was not a problem. The service and quality of food was brilliant.
Included in this package holiday was a daily excursion to various places of interest, with once again very friendly and knowledgeable drivers giving us a commentary of the area and historical information throughout the trip.
For those people that have never been to "Scotland", and who have probably been put off by the long travelling distance, let me assure you that it is well worth it. Comfort, lunch and tea breaks are frequent, so your journey is made as relaxing as possible, plus your driver will keep you amused with a story or two.
My praises for this Hotel and holiday could go on and on, just like the other destinations I've been to with "Lochs & Glens", it's such a pity that some other holiday companies cannot follow in their footsteps.
These past full six days, (Without my Bar Bill), only amounted to £319 with insurance and no supplement for a single person, what could be better value?, I can't wait for my trip next year, which has already been booked, (and it was the last seat available), that's proof of a popular company.

Room Tip: Book early and on the Forth Floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Holidays186259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

From the moment you step through the entrance door the "WOW" factor kicks in, for in front of you is this huge panoramic bay window with it's fantastic views down Loch Long. With the quality of all the furniture and fittings throughout this new hotel its easy to see why it has cost nearly £10 million pounds to build. Everywhere is so spacious from the lounge, restaurant bar and function room. Our hotel room was huge with a double bed and a single bed with a table and 3 chairs, vanity unit, drawers, wardrobe and still plenty of space and stunning views down the Loch from the window. The en suite shower was also very spacious but still leaving plenty of room for the toilet and wash basin area. From boarding our coach in Dorset the Drivers made us very welcome and this continued throughout the holiday with all the hotel staff being so helpful. This holiday was fantastic value with such a good selection at all meals nicely presented, we had excursions on the steam train from Fort William to Mallaig, a cruise on Loch Katrine aboard the 110 year old steam driven vessel the Sir Walter Scott, another cruise aboard The Waverly - the last sea-going paddle steamer in the world from Danoon on Loch Long and Loch Goil,and a day trip to Edinburgh with each of these excursions travelling through the picturesque Scottish scenery and all of this for only £319 each.

Room Tip: All front facing rooms have Loch views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
2.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
12.4 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.3 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgartan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgartan Hotel

Property: Ardgartan Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Ardgartan Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing