We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Ardgartan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardgartan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Certificate of Excellence
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a superbly run hotel in every way. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean and the view from our window overlooking Loch Long was breathtaking. The food was beautifully cooked and there was always plenty of choice on the menu to suit all tastes. Lochs and Glens have obviously spent and great deal of time, effort and money on this new hotel and it certainly shows. Ian the manager and his staff should be congratulated because everything is so well organised and their attention to detail ensured that our holiday was perfect from start to finish.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    53
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
256
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had a lovely coach trip to Scotland with lochs and glens to there newest hotel. We have been to all there hotel over the years and this is one of there best. The trips getting there and back are a bit arduous but when you get there are well worth it. The Ardgratan hotel is very spacious and well thorough out the room was nice with a great view down the loch. Food was great and plenty of it and staff friendly and very helpful. Day trips out are all included and well worth it to see how lovely Scotland is. We stayed at the hotel one day instead of going on the trip and had a lovely walk round to the other side of the loch. The only downfall was the beds being hard but that maybe because there new and the coffee that's put in the rooms is awful perhaps they should have a costa coffee machine at there hotels. Overall a good holiday and great value for your money.

Room Tip: Rooms are allocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Having just returned from another Lochs and Glens holiday at Ardgarten Hotel it will be some time before I book another.This was my 6th holiday with the company and have enjoyed all previous ones immensely.Their usual high standards were faultless,and this beautiful new hotel is in an idyllic location.I was the only single person on my coach which is most unusual,consequently felt somewhat isolated.I have travelled Lochs and Glens alone before and met other single people and had a great time.But not this time and to cap it all ,I caught Norovirus whilst there( I'm still recovering)and had to travel home by taxi as I was unable to return by coach.
I think it would be rather nice if Lochs and Glens had the occasional singles holiday,there are many people on their own.You may be one day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank germanderspeedwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Second trip to this hotel. i can only describe this holiday as fantastic.Lochs and Glens are a great company who look after you from the moment you book to the moment you arrive back home.Our coach driver lizzi was excelent a credit to the company.as were all staff cannot fault any part of this holiday.will be booking again soon total value for money

Room Tip: for a loch view just ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coachman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I've just returned from my first trip with Lochs & Glens, and also the first Christmas for the Ardgarten Hotel. Both were magnificent. The journey from Essex was long, 11 hours there and 13 hours back, but very much worth it for an excellent experience. No White Christmas, just lots of rain, but we didn't let it spoil anything. Ian and Bev run an excellent hotel, and our drivers, Clive and Martin were both excellent with their informative and very amusing commentaries. All staff are very polite and attentive at all times, rooms large and airy, and meals to an excellent standard, with all the expected Christmas trimmings. I have every intention to return during the summer months to see the difference in the surroundings. All in all, excellent value for money and would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: As others have said, a loch view at the back of the hotel is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChipmunkEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was our 7th Mountains and Mistletoe holiday with Lochs and Glens and what a wonderful time we had. This newest hotel was breath taking and the pictures in the brochure do not do it justice. The magnificent reception was something you have to see for yourself and the bedrooms were huge. All staff were so polite and professional and always had a smile on their face. The food was delicious and plenty of it. As far as the 12 hour coach journey goes it is worth every mile to get to this wonderful place and we plan for this by organising games, treats and many surprises. We had a brilliant coach full of people who all seemed to have a great sense of humour. Thankyou Ian and your wonderful staff for a fantastic christmas holiday. The Pixies x

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixiecarolNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day break with Lochs and Glens. cannot find any faults the coach was roomy and our driver Chris very considerate and helpful. His knowledge of Scotland is immense. The hotel was spotless lovely rooms and comfy beds food was good and waiters very attentive and polite.Will definitely go back would like to see the hotel in summer wonderful setting overlooking Loch Long. Love Scotland its such a beautiful pace and the cost of these breaks with Lochs and Glens is very reasonable.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room overlooking the loch on first floor and there was plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shilly3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
2.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
12.4 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.3 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgartan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgartan Hotel

Property: Ardgartan Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Ardgartan Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing