We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday”
Review of Ardgartan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardgartan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having just returned from the beautiful hotel of Ardgarten with Lochs and Glens which is built on the shore of Loch Long I have to say it is the most wonderful hotel in an idyllic setting. The rooms are spacious with a very comfortable bed and a huge shower and so clean. The staff cannot do enough for you and the food is excellent. Would recommend it to anyone. We have been to all the Lochs and Glens hotels except Loch Long but this one is exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    53
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
256
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

had a lovely time at this hotel with lochs and glens.the scenery is something else.cant fault anything staff so pleasant do anything for you.rooms spotless and very spacious.meal times were absolutely great lovely choices and all cooked to perfection.would recommend this hotel to any one great strolls around the hotel after your evening meal.nice to just sit and look at the scenery.you could not get any better even if you booked 5star

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phyllis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just returned from our 3rd holiday with Lochs & Glens this time at the newly built Ardgarten Hotel on the banks of Loch Long. What a wonderful hotel and beautiful setting everything (except the weather) was perfect. Luxurious large bedroom with every convenienvce, staff, and food exceptional. We were a party of 4 and after travelling all over the highlands decided to stay at the hotel for our last day and relax .. The manager provided sandwiches and coffee at lunchtime for us and others who had stayed - free of charge. How good was that . Well done to Ian Wells, Debs and their wonderful staff we will return

Room Tip: 95% of rooms have loch views and some have lovely walkin showers - request when bopoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We've just returned from our 4th holiday with Lochs and Glens, the Ardgartan Hotel is a new, fabulous hotel in stunning surroundings, the Autumn colours were out of this world. The service and food were excellent. Our trip number 5 is planned for March 2013, and we cannot wait, Lochs and Glens are a fantastic comany to travel with, I would recommend them to anyone. Thanks Lochs and Glens for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: I had a lovely room overlooking the Loch, I highly recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently stayed at the Adgartan Hotel but unfortunately had to come home early due to the Norovirus. The manager Ian handled the situation with integrity despite some very rude people on our coach who didn't understand how the virus spreads. Well done Ian!
Despite this curtailed holiday we shall be going back next year. It is in a beautiful location and the hotel is spotless. Our room was excellent too. You won't find better service as all memebers of staff are only too willing to help your stay as enjoyable as possible. We also had a great driver, Tony who was an excellent driver and went out of his way to ensure we were all comfortable. His jokes were funny too!! We have been on several Lochs and Glens holidays and compared to others they are certainly the best value for money. I would recommend them to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 116 looking out over the loch which was fantastic. However I think all the rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have just returned from our 4th holiday with Lochs and Glens, and once again we had a fantastic time. The hotel is stunning and the scenery in the surrounding area is out of this world, so much so that we are planning trip number 5 in March 2013.
Lochs and Glens are a fantastic company to travel with. The only downside was the Noro Virus which caused changes to the original plans, in order to try and contain the infection as much as possible. We missed out on a visit to the Highland Hotel and Gretna Green because of it, but Lochs and Glens did everything they could to help in the situation.
Thanks again Lochs and Glens.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to have a room overlooking the Loch and it was stunning in the Autumn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisandB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from a four night self drive stay at the Ardgartan Hotel. The hotel is set in a very peaceful and tranquil setting with stunning views.

Our room 402 was huge and had a large king size bed, with another single bed also in the room. It had a fantastic view over Loch Long and the beds were incredibly comfortable. There was also a flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer.

This was our second stay at a Lochs and Glens hotel and the service and attention to detail was again first class. The meals were excellent and there was always the offer of extra toast at breakfast, and potatoes and vegetables during the evening meal.

The drink prices were very reasonable and there was a good selection of spirits and wine available. The staff were always helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble.

The Ardgartan Hotel is very well located for visiting local attractions and these are a couple of trips we did while staying there.

Drove along the east side of Loch Long to Helensburgh, which is about 15 miles from the hotel. The road is quite narrow but not very busy. From Helensburgh made our way up the west side of Loch Lomond to the lovely picturesque village of Luss, which was the setting for the TV soap 'Take the High Road. '

There is a very nice walk around the village and the surrounding area, which took about 1 hour in total. Loch Lomond is truly beautiful and a few miles beyond Luss is the village of Tarbet which offers sightseeing cruises. We did not take a boat trip but it looked inviting. A few miles later we arrived back in Ardgartan and had a very enjoyable day.

Another trip we had was visiting Benmore woodland gardens, which are about 25 miles from the hotel, and located on the road to Dunoon. It was a very picturesque drive along the side of Loch Eck and the gardens were in a woodland setting on a hillside. Some of the paths were quite steep but the autumn foliage was stunning, and it was well worth the reasonable entrance fee.

Overall it was a fantastic break and the Ardgartan Hotel and surrounding area are highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a high floor overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenlivet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
2.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
12.4 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.3 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgartan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgartan Hotel

Property: Ardgartan Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Ardgartan Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing