We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and tranquility”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
chester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is our fifth visit to a F.H. site but our first to Argyll.
The place is beautiful, so scenic and quiet, on the loch shores so not right in the forest as with other sites, it's also smaller and therefore quieter.
We normally stay in a Silver Birch but as the school hols prices were good for once (different half term dates in Wales - so took advantage) we went for a Golden Oak - pet friendly. For us we probably wouldn't bother paying the extra as there is no difference at all in the actual cabin except for a fire.
Our cabin (No.15) had a wood burner rather than a contemporary fire so logs needed, these are quite expensive from the Forest Retreat on site so take your own if poss or get them from the local garage.
No.15 has a perfect position as you get the loch view but its just set back from the path so nobody nosing in as they pass.
The hot tub is amazing although I think they installed them the wrong way around as you get in onto the contoured bit where you lie down rather than the upright seats, not really a problem except I managed to injure myself twice trying to get in as its not a flat surface oh and when they warn you the decking is slippy it really is as I also managed to go flat on my back, legs in the air much to hubby's amusement!
We didn't really venture out far, took a drive to Inverary and had a little walk about. We mostly walked with our dogs, there are a few walks of various distances (the Argyll forest visitor centre is close by and they have walks on their info board).
We had a pizza delivered from the forest retreat and this was the best we've ever had, we also went to the local chippy which was ok but wouldn't go again, portions small, fish horrible (hubby's opinion) chips were nice though.

All in all another lovely Forest Holidays experience we are making it our mission to visit every site so cannot wait for the next one on our list!
Good bits -
loch view,
wood burner -nice and cosy
the beds and pillows are so comfy I have back and neck problems but not on this holiday
the all round restful experience
hot tub (once you're in!)

Bits to improve on -
no free wi-fi (really in this day and age you shouldn't have to pay for it)
cleanliness is always a bit of an issue but maybe I'm fussy - so I give the kitchen a going
over and usually have to brush up previous owners dog hairs
do something with the vent in the en suite as it rattles and bangs with the wind and
wakes you up

Room Tip: Cabin 15 has a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmalh70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your latest Forest Holiday. I am delighted that you liked Argyll, the setting is very peaceful. We will investigate your comments and suggestions and do everything we can to improve your experience next time you stay at one of our locations. In the meantime we’ll settle for the fact that our pizzas are the best you have ever tasted! Our latest location, Thorpe Forest opens in May this year; do take a look at our website for details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    105
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
227
194
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawalli, Kuwait
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Spent 5 days in Argyll Forest Holidays lodge (silver), yet again didn't use the hot tub but did thoroughly enjoy our stay. We took along our dog to one of the pet friendly lodges (main reason we chose the Forest Holidays sites originally), underfloor heating which is controlled by zone so you don't have to have it too hot or too cold, facilities were all working well and the location on the Loch is absolutely stunning. Had 3 great walks out through the forest and took in the breathtaking views!

Staff were friendly and knowledgeable and gave some great advice on walk and routes.

Room Tip: I'd choose a Gold lodge if possible as they are around the edge and feel less overlooked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REG_7516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your recent break at Argyll. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday – and amazed you didn’t try the hot tub! The forest walks with the dog sound very satisfying though. I do hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Booked a midweek half term break which coincided with my daughter's birthday. From arrival to checkout we
were treat like Royalty. A member of staff visited once we had unpacked to ensure we had everything we need and to show us the hot tub. (This was checked daily to ensure good water quality)

The accommodation was spacious, clean, and well stocked - no need to wash a cup after each use as plenty of them!! Each area in the cabin could have the temperature controlled individually so no boiling bedrooms or freezing living rooms. We were also lucky to have a fantastic loch view.

We took part in a couple of activities - archery and the twilight walk. Both good value for money with well informed leaders. The pizza night in was also excellent value. Freshly cooked pizzas delivered piping hot to your cabin door.

Would we go again? Most definitely YES. A huge thank you to the Manager and his team of brilliant staff for making this one of our best holidays ever.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccrevell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your Forest Holiday in Argyll. It sounds as if you made the most of your cabin and the activities too. I will ensure that the team at Argyll see your comments and I do hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is the 1st time we have been to a Forest Holiday retreat. We arrived early so we were able to have a light lunch in the on site Cafe. The staff were very friendly and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble.
The cabin (Oak) was spacious, clean and had everything needed for a 4 day stay.
The weather was dismal but this didn't stop us using the hot tub - hale stones and gale force winds was novel!
With so many places to walk, places to visit and welcoming locals, we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarIad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break with us at Argyll. I am pleased that you enjoyed your first ever Forest Holiday and proved that the hot tub can be used even in gale force winds and hail! I hope you will spend many more holidays with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with husband and baby.Beautiful location.The cabin was lovely and warm, and the bathroom and bedroom good sizes - we were worried our travel cot might not fit, but it easily did. The staff in the retreat were all very helpful and nice. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katepalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind review following your recent break at Argyll. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break and I hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I received our break as a gift for our 21st birthday and we could not fault our time away at all! The cabin was perfect and so clean as was the hot tub which was our favorite part. The location and the views were just breathtaking it was difficult to believe we were just an hour drive from where we live. The park rangers were friendly and helpful and totally respect your privacy but there was someone on site 24 hours of the day incase of emergency which gave us piece of mind! I can't praise forest holidays, argyll enough and as soon as we returned home we were already talking about when we could next visit we loved it that much! Thank you forest holidays Argyll, hope to see you all soon.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinCollins93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Congratulations on your 21st birthday; we can’t think of a better way to celebrate it than a Forest Holiday! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was our third Forest Holidays getaway and our second in Scotland. Our previous Scottish visit was to Strathyre and while we enjoyed that I must say that I do prefer Argyll. We (me, wife and 2 teenage girls) stayed during the February school half-term and the price was very reasonable. After a 6 hour drive we arrived in the rain to check-in shortly after 4pm and that was smooth and quick with friendly banter about the weather from the manager, Laurent. he and his team were great, providing info about the walks and local area and nothing was a problem for them. The Forest Retreat is well stocked and they also bake bread on site which is nice. One day we forgot to order our bread the night before but again that was no problem to Laurent and within a half hour one of the staff was delivering it to our cabin. 10/10 for service.

We hadn't pre-booked a specific cabin and by chance were allocated the very one that we were hoping to get as it looked like the views would be good. We were not disappointed at all...Cabin 27, a Golden Oak, is a stones throw from the Loch and looks across the water to the village of Arrochar at the head with snow-topped vistas to either side. Perfect!

The cabin is one of the newer ones added in March this year and so is still in near new condition with all the amenities you need for your stay. I did find at this site that all the cabins seem to be quite near each other but are all sited so your deck with its hot-tub are still fairly private and there was no noise from other cabins.

An added bonus (if you like them) - we enjoyed a meal of lovely fresh mussels one night. As Loch Long is a seawater loch, it has tides and so at low tides you can walk down to the shoreline (about 20 meters from our cabin) and literally pick the mussels off of the beach. They are hidden amongst the swathes of seaweed that is left when the tide goes out. We picked up a few handfuls and they tasted superb.

There are a number of circular trails that begin at or near the site and we walked 3 or 4 of these along the river and then up onto the side of the mountain. the scenery along the walks is a photographers dream and I couldn't put the camera down. So beautiful and if that is not enough short drives will get you to nearby Lochs (Loch Lomond is about 10 minutes away) and stunning views (Rest and be Thankful rest stop)

We booked onto the Forest Ranger dusk walk and thoroughly enjoyed it. the ranger provided a wealth of info on local area and its wildlife and while we were unlucky not to see any of them, the previous day's group spotted deer. It did rain on and off during the week, but if you ignore the rain and wear appropriate gear (eg. thermals and wellies/hiking boots) you will be fine and not even notice it after a while!

When it came time to (sadly) leave to return home, the check out process was swift and we were soon on our way already thinking about the next time. Would we return - most definitely! Would I recommend Forest Holidays Argyll - most definitely.

Room Tip: If possible, pre book Cabin 27. this is a Golden oak (hot-tub on the deck and a wood fire in the lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 585andrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent Forest Holidays break at Argyll. You have painted a picture of a wonderful Scottish holiday and it seems you took advantage of every opportunity. Thank you for recommending us and I hope we will see you again soon for another relaxing break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
1.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
404 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
1.6 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Seabank B&B
Seabank B&B
#1 of 17 in Arrochar
215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lochside Guest House
Lochside Guest House
#3 of 17 in Arrochar
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland

Property: Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland Arrochar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing