We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Climb Ben Arthur (The Cobbler)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cobbler

The Cobbler
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Arrochar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Climb Ben Arthur (The Cobbler)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great views from the top. Bit of a trek to get there but well worth the effort. Most of the path is well marked, bit of a scramble to get to the top.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gdadjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    37
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Should Be A Munro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

A special top/ fantastic views on a good day at the top.Also a number of Munros close at hand.Very good path to the Cobbler.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank williamson000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've been up the Cobbler numerous times - sometimes with a terrible hangover - and even back when they had the punishing 'old path' that shot straight up the hillside. If you aren't scared of a hauling yourself up some rocks, I recommend going up the front side and avoiding the stepped path around the back of the hill. That path is boring (not to mention long and steep!) whereas the path up the front is a lot more fun and there is no real scrambling.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FootsoreUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

As novices to walking we found this a great scenic walk. There are 3 different walks depending on agility. Having 2 small children and not used to moutain climing we chose the middle walk! Beautiful scenery over Lock Long, some resting places and well sign posted on the path you need to take!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a great walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The cobbler can be walked from a coupe of directions, but the main drag up the tourist path offers a chance to climb quickly into the glen and up to the narnain boulders. Its a slog but worth every step and is one of those hills that can be retrurned to again and again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank boboblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cobbler also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Cobbler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing