We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider your customers needs!”
Review of The Village Inn

The Village Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Arrochar
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We popped in here for a drink whilst staying at the nearby Loch Long Hotel with a view to eating here later in the week. We had been recommended this venue by our coach driver. One of our party is disabled and the attitude of the young man on our arrival was brusque. As it was raining we did not want to leave the mobility scooter outside and asked if we could leave it in the entrance area - a curt ' no' was advised. We were told we could take it into the bar which we did, however the bar was busy and it was difficult to manoeuvre the scooter. We closed the door temporarily to help us move the scooter to be told ' that's a fire door it needs to stay open'. We did not feel welcome at all.
We can't comment on the food as we only called in for a drink although the menu looked varied, inviting and reasonably priced. The restaurant had a sign saying ' fully booked' although at 2100 hours there were still tables free - it may be that meals are not served after a certain time to be fair to the establishment.
The young girl serving at the bar was friendly and chatty - it was shame her male counterpart who we first encountered was less customer focussed. Remember first impressions count and our first impression resulted in us not wanting to return.

Thank RHGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willross2014, Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Fire safety is of the utmost priority to us and we could not have anything impeding a potential escape route, but this should have been relayed to you in a polite manner, please accept our apologies if you felt that was not the case.
We have a booking system in our restaurant so although you saw empty tables, they were reserved for guests who had booked them, we try our best to accommodate guests who have not made a reservation , but we always advise booking in advance especially at this time of year.
We value all our customers at the village inn, and I do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 749 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

The restaurant was very good. Try the ribs especially. They also offer excellent haggis, a different kind. It was the tastiest haggis we ate during our 7 days of Scotland trip. On of us wanted her steak to be cook a little bit more (she simply changed her mind after tasting the steak. The restaurant had cooked it perfectly as she demanded) Instead of reheating the steak, they gave her a newly cooked steak. This is extremely kind of their part. We were very pleased of the food. Afterwards, we continued till 1pm at the pub next door.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MufHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willross2014, Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the food., and service.
We hope you will visit us again, if you are in the area in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Food was freshly cooked meaning a small wait for the food but was very good! Chips especially were amazing! Although beer on tap wasn't good and atmosphere wasn't grate either.

Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review.as feedback both positive and negative is important for the growth of our business.
Firstly I appreciate your comments regarding the food, but I'm disappointed about the comments regarding the beer and atmosphere.
We pride ourselves on our beer being of a high standard and perhaps if you had stated a problem at the time we could have rectified this.
Hope you will come back and give us another chance.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

super food, good service. We had pulled pork, chips. rice pudding and apple puree, and summer berry crumble for dessert

Thank javeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review .
I am so glad you enjoyed the food and good service, the pulled pork is a very popular dish.
Hope you will visit again when you are in the area .
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Lovely traditional inn. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Although we did not eat on our visit the menu looked very tasty and traditional. Loved the Midge cocktail very appropriate .

Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit especially the Midge Cocktail. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Inn also viewed

Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing