We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee inn.”
Review of The Village Inn

The Village Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Arrochar
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great location,great service,good food & friendly staff.If the prices were a wee bit lower I would visit more often.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alister M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
There are newer reviews for The Village Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

803 - 807 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just called in for a light lunch. Warm welcome. Lovely old fashioned bar with log fire. One sandwich and one mussels - first class and great value. Beer is OK.

Thank Birmingham_folk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your lunch and look forward to you returning the next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

went here on 30/11/13 table was booked for 8 pm turned up ,went in the bar for a drink nice homely surroundings and good service ,good wide choice of whiskeys and beers with real ale on tap noticed on the way in there were awards and certifcates on wall for food after sitting a while the waitress came through and got us and took us through to our table at this point we are offered drinks and were brought a basket of crusty rolls which i always thought were served warm but on this occasion they were stone cold and obviously the ones you buy in , at this point we ordered our starters and mains which consisted of 2 cullen skink and 1 mackera pate and the vegatain starter both of which were really nice ,wish the same could be said for the cullen which was more like a cream of potatoe soup with a lack of the main ingrediant smoked fish was very bland and taste less in comparison , when asked if we did enjoy we did mention this and the waitress replied "are you serious" may i suggest if you sell something that states its cullen skink as smokey fish soup you at least put smoked fish in it .After this came our mains which were 3 pulled pork and the vegatairn option the pulled pork was amazing and tasty and if you decided to go here i can totally recommed it although the potatoe skins that accompany it are nothing like you can imagine there like the potatoe skins that are took off potatoes from earlier on in the day when they use the rest for mashing,on sayng this they were tasty , i would recommend you order a side of chips, during my meal the male waiter walked round the back of my chair and kicked the leg of it perhaps by accident but walked on and never appologised manners cost nothing !, during this part of the meal we were asked no less than 8 times if the meal was ok ,and where i personal dont mind being asked once or twice i think 8 time was getting quite annoying all this and the fact this was a birthday treat and our friends had talked the village inn food.It was a bit unedging and putting off for them after the main was took away we decided on sweets with both guys having the baileys bread and butter pudding and ice cream and cream this was an amazing sweet where we could have ate like 5 portions of each lol , the ladies had the vanilla cheese cake and at this point it went bad the cheese cake bore no resemblance to cheese cake except the biscuit base it was just whipped double cream with no hint of cheese through it when we did mention it the cheese cake was took through to the kitchen and in plain sight of us tasted by two chefs in the kitchen with there finger ,first of all totally unhygeinic in my view and then to be told by a waitress when she came back out"" yes we did use a lot of double cream in this cheese cake and perhaps it was down to everyones tastes ....and the fact they had sold another eight portions that night of this perhaps the other 8 were to polite to mention it .All this was said just to make the kitchen aware of it but then for a waitress to come and say dont worry ill amend your bill to reflect about the cheese cake that wasnt the point of say the point wasnt to get discount it was to let you know it was lacking in any cheese taste at all and then to admit it was extra creamy ..... why then sell it as cheese cake ? after dinner the bill was paid and the waiting staff were complemented on there service , we retired to the lounge for drinks before going home .I must admit it was not an enjoyable experiance at all and perhaps on this night the standards from when the award was made hade slipped or was it because it was nearly finishing time i dont know. I d apperciate perhaps a manager or the owner replies to this as it would be intresting to hear from them we will at somepoint come back and try again after reading the other reviews it might ave just been a off night

    • Value
    • Service
Thank warrior1692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for you review. I would be grateful if you could contact us direct so we can discuss your points raised. You can call me on 01301 702279 or email me at villageinn@maclay.co.uk.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Plus -A great choice of single malts and decent real ales, with fantastic views across the Loch.

Minus - Very expensive. Over £4 a pint.

Thank John_M1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your review. We do sell a selection of ales from £2.95 a pint through to just over £4 a pint. We pride ourselves on the good quality and selection we offer. I do hope the next time you are in the area you will visit us.

Kind Regards
Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Nice restaurant in the main Hotel of Arrochar. Good selection of beers.
Service was very friendly and they served fresh, local specialities.
But you pay a little premium for this service, never the less it is to recommend.

Thank darktemptation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to you returning the next time you are in Scotland.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Inn also viewed

Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing