We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay on Loch Long”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fascadail Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent stay on Loch Long”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Superb views of Loch Long and the mountains from the front rooms. Brilliant welcome and attentive service - lovely big room and en suite shower all fitted out to a high standard - and superb breakfast with homemade marmalade - kippers if you want them too. We were both really happy with this gem. A1 location at the top of Loch Long and easy walk to decent local pub with food available in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelt0tty, Owner at Fascadail Country Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review and we are pleased you really enjoyed your stay with us. Perhaps we will see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
180
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Fascadail Country guest house is located in the Trossachs National park in Scotland. The house is in a very picturesque setting but was difficult to find and the directions given were not easy to
follow. The room was clean and well presented but not large and the bathroom was the same. Our
hosts are very pleasant and booked us in to a nearby hotel for dinner, which was ok also but not
great. Everyone made an effort to provide whatever was needed including a really lovely breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms certainly do look as they appear on their website only smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelt0tty, Owner at Fascadail Country Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to note that you rated us very good in all tripadvisors categories except the rooms. We are sorry that you were disappointed in the size of your room. We do have rooms of varying sizes and prices and all exceed the minimum requirements for Visit Scotland 4 star award. So as not to confuse anyone reading this review we are in Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park located on the west side of Loch Lomond only 2 minutes away by car. and 45 minutes from the Trossachs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene Valley, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Up on a slight hill overlooking a beautiful garden along the shores of Loch Long, The Fascadail House is the gem of Arrochar. Our room was beautifully appointed, and breakfast was divine. The inn keepers were very attentive, caring and mighty resourceful. Located in the heart of the hamlet, the inn is within walking distance of all local points of interest. After a hearty breakfast, we simply walked to Ben Arthur's trail head! Fascadail House felt like home. We highly recommend you stay at this lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mox22453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelt0tty, Owner at Fascadail Country Guest House, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hello glad you felt that it was a home from home and that you enjoyed your break here in Scotland. You never know you might make a return visit one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Next time we come to Scotland we will return to Fascadail House and stay for several days instead of just one. We were traveling by train from Spean Bridge and had an extra night before heading back to Edinburgh and home to the States. I picked this beautiful country guest house because the train stopped here and because of the high praise it has received from TA. We were not disappointed! Kevin picked us up at the station and took us back the following day! The house and gardens are absolutely lovely. Our room was one of the nicest we encountered on our whole trip, and had a magnificent view of Loch Long. We had no idea of the amazing beauty in this part of Scotland - if you ever have the chance, take the train ride between Ft. William and Arrochar. It is breath-taking!!! But - back to Fascadail House...Both Kevin and Ann are the perfect hosts, and we appreciate their care and concern about sustaining the environment in Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park - where their guest house is located. Beautiful breakfast room - we sat at the table by the window with a full view of the loch and a pair of binoculars to watch all of the active bird life. The breakfast was delicious, as well. Lovely sitting room, very comfortable and inviting - we'd spend more time in there next time!! Walked along the loch to the Village Inn for dinner - less than a ten minute walk, and very pleasant. Lots of other places to eat nearby and Kevin and Ann have all the menus and will, of course make reservations for you. Kevin told us that there is a very good bus service between several local towns, which we will use next time, as there is a whole lot to do and see - if you like natural beauty and the outdoors! Thank you Kevin and Ann for making one of our very last nights in Scotland so special!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poodlemom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelt0tty, Owner at Fascadail Country Guest House, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thanks for leaving such a long review. I hope you are planning a return trip and that you are able to stay for longer. It just takes a bit of forward planning when you use public transport. Although as you remark the train journey is spectacular so why not relax and go by train, bus or boat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We found this delightful B&B while rambling around the Loch area. Rooms are beautifully done, and the breakfast was one of the best we've had. Ann thoughtfully booked us into the nearby restaurant for dinner as we were arriving late. An interesting and inspiring couple in what they are doing with sustainable hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flynmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelt0tty, Owner at Fascadail Country Guest House, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and thanks for leaving such a wonderful review. It does make all our hard work seem worthwhile especially on the 'green issues'. Hopefully we will finally manage to get the run finished so we can get the hens next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a one night stay on the way up to Easdale Island (near Oban). Every attention to detail was taken care of, down to the binoculars in the dining room window and fresh flowers on the breakfast tables. A very quiet and peaceful night in a side room overlooking the garden. Superb cooked breakfast (not a trace of grease). Would definatly stay again.

Room Tip: Twin room very spacious with a sofa. However, no bath, but excellent shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmackYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelt0tty, Owner at Fascadail Country Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and that you think we have done a good job of restoring the house to its former glory. Perhaps you will be able to stay a bit longer if you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

A short walk from the loch side Fascadial House is a delight. It is hard not to see the love and attention to detail the owners have lavished on the house during their tenure. Bedrooms fresh and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,128 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.5 mi away
Lochside Guest House
Lochside Guest House
#4 of 16 in Arrochar
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fascadail Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fascadail Country Guest House

Property: Fascadail Country Guest House
Address: Fascadail House Church Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fascadail Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 40 minutes from Glasgow and 2 minutes from Loch Lomond. Located by the tranquil shores of Loch Long in the picturesque village of Arrochar, this mid-19th-century listed residence sits in extensive gardens. There are magnificent and changing views out across the garden to the Loch and the Arrochar Alps with their distinctive profile of Ben Arthur (The Cobbler). A warm and friendly welcome awaits, providing a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fascadail Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fascadail Country Guest House Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing