We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of charm and handily located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowantree Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowantree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 17 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Full of charm and handily located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Rowantree cottage presents a great value choice for comfort and hospitality for anyone considering a stay in Arrochar. We required a stopover for our halfway point between Leeds and Skye, and Rowantree cottage appeared to strike the balance between comfort and cost.

The welcome was friendly and the owner helpful and cheery throughout. The rooms were comfortable, both en-suite, with window seat views across the loch to Ben Arthur. The ceilings are a little low for tall people, but it’s an acceptable hindrance in return for a characterful setting. Beds were comfortable. No complaints over sleep quality.

The cottage is situated on the main road a stone’s throw from the loch, with both Ben Arthur’s Bothy and The Village Inn (Arrochar’s two pubs) within walking distance (2 minutes and 20 minutes respectively). The Village Inn offers a locally-sourced menu and a fine selection of regional ales, whilst the Bothy is a decent option if you’re on a tighter budget.

Breakfast was stunningly presented in the stylised wooden entrance hall, and was the perfect start to a hard day of driving. The Scottish sausage and haggis were delicious if perhaps a little rich for so early in the day, and overall the plate – whilst well-cooked – was somewhat dry. Despite this it was a nice change to have a traditional Scottish breakfast and the owner was very accommodating with requests should you prefer something else. The orange juice and coffee were fresh and delicious.

This is a small B&B, full of charm and handily located. It offers a comfortable night’s stay, a terrifically warm welcome, and a characterful breakfast send-off. Highly recommended for anyone considering Arrochar for a stopover or a longer stay, and for value for money it’s doubtful you’ll find better in this particular corner of Scotland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LambentLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene T, Owner at Rowantree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi

I appreciate your taking time to review your stay with us. Thank you for the things you have said

Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I chose to stay at Rowantree Cottage for my birthday in early January and had a very enjoyable and memorable weekend there. Outside, the weather was snowy but inside, Rowantree Cottage was warm, comfortable and welcoming. After climbing The Cobbler, it was lovely to return to hot showers, and a blazing log fire in the sitting room as well as an impressive collection of DVDs. Our bedrooms were attractively decorated, fresh and clean with tea and coffee making facilities (and biscuits and chocolates!) The en-suite bathrooms were light, airy and modern. Mr Thompson was obliging enough to make us breakfast earlier than usual so that we could make an early start walking. We enjoyed the hearty, nicely-cooked breakfasts very much and felt well nourished for climbing mountains! Rowantree Cottage offers excellent value for money and is an ideal base for walkers. Even if you're not walking, the views over the loch are delightful. I hope to have the opportunity to return in future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene T, Owner at Rowantree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind review. Your feedback review is a measure of how we are doing in getting it right.

I very much appreciate you taking the time to send in a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We only stayed 1 night (would have loved to stay more...) and we loved it! The hosts were lovely, and the room... Ever so cosy! It has all that you need, and a great view. The ensuite had toiletry and hairdryer. When we arrived, I asked if there was heating, and eventhough they said they usually don't turn it on this time of the year, they would go ahead and turn it on for me, lovely! Furthermore, in the bathroom there's a wall heater, fantastic!
The double bed mattress isn't perfect, but it's a detail I suggest future guests to ignore as I loved the b&b and the room so much (and mind you, I'm very picky when it comes to hotel beds!). It had a very cosy duvet.

Bill suggested a great place to have dinner (the Rustler's Restaurant) and called to reserve a table for us, it was delicious, I recommend it!
The breakfast was an actual meal, I couldn't finish mine, it was all delicious.
I highly recommend it! Excellent rates too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Bill and Irene are fantastically friendly, dog tolerant and the breakfasts are amazing. Room really comfortable and cosy with great views of the Cobbler. Just perfect. We have stayed there four times now on our way up or returning from further north and this would always be my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mb1pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have to agree with the other rewies, as this is really a cosy, nice, clean place with a great view on the lock. And the full scottish breakfast was fresh and rich, everything was good. So it is a perfect address if you are sleeping in Arrochar - and looking for great value accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeau62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowantreecottage, Owner at Rowantree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Rowantree Cottage, Arrochar. I am pleased that you took the time to feedback your thoughts and I am happy you enjoyed your stay. I hope you enjoy your time in Scotland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We arrived in Arrochar late afternoon and discovered that the B&B we had booked said they hadn't received our booking. We did a quick (and panicky) reccy of the area and liked the look of Rowantree Cottage. After knocking on the door we were made to feel very welcome by the owner who showed us to a very nice dormer bedroom with a FANTASTIC view overlooking Loch Long. The room was very comfortable with a double bed, and large en suite shower room. There was a chaise longue in the seating area together with a TV but this only had two channels for some reason. However with the view of the loch available from the bedroom window seat we didn't need the TV!! There was a very smokey smell inside the room, we're unsure as to whether this was caused by a wood burning stove somewhere else in the house. Anyway, we had a smashing breakfast the following morning and a lovely chat with the owner before we went on our way.Parking is available within the grounds and although there isn't much in the way of entertainment locally we did find the Village Inn (a 15 min walk away)which served a wonderful evening meal, followed by a very watchable Scottish/Irish folk duo performing in the bar. All in all it was a very pleasant night's stay, considering we had visions of sleeping in our car after the other (booked) B&B denied all knowledge of us!! A big thank you to the owner of Rowantree for accommodating us at such short notice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowantreecottage, Owner at Rowantree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Rowantree Cottage. I was pleased that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and registered your very positve comments in our visitors book. I'm sorry you had only two channels on your TV. It's a pity you didn't mention it to us at the time as the TV receives analogue and digital TV and radio channels(Freeview). There are instructions in the room to change the TV from analogue to digtal.

We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed in Rowantree Cottage in the family room, which was perfect for the four of us. The hotek is ideally located for those who wamt to climg the Cobbler or just enjoy the great views if the Loch and the surrounding fells. The service was great and the hosts were very hospitable. Lived the breakfast, too.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndriyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
13.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
14.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lochside Guest House
Lochside Guest House
#3 of 17 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seabank B&B
Seabank B&B
#1 of 17 in Arrochar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braemor B&B
Braemor B&B
#10 of 17 in Arrochar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowantree Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowantree Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rowantree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Rowantree Cottage, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowantree Cottage, Arrochar, is a warm and welcoming Bed and Breakfast overlooking Loch Long. Located centrally in the village of Arrochar the cottage is within easy level walking distance of a variety of restaurants and pubs. The offstreet parking is free The accommodation consists of a double and a twin room. Both rooms can accommodate up tp three adults. They have en-suite shower and toilet facilities with a haiedryer. Both rooms have a seating area, a flat screen TV, Radio and DVD player and complimentary tea and coffee and toiletries. Free WiFi is available throughout the cottage There are stunning views across the loch to the mountains beyond from both rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Rowantree Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowantree Cottage Bed And Breakfast Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing