We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star but not 5star prices”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed November 8, 2013

4 days in the Claymore, coach holiday with National coach hols. Booked last minute - Raining windy and cold when we arrived, but with a very warm happy welcome. Staff 5 star. Everyone smiling, nothing Was a problem. Hotel itself ie restaurant, bar etc really nice, bedrooms tired looking but very clean, white bedding duvet pillows towels etc immaculate, furniture bit odd ball, but a wardrobe is a wardrobe regardless of the colour. Food was good, big breakfast, cereal fruits porridge plus a cooked breakfast, in fact it was a very large cooked breakfast. Excursions were really well thought out and very enjoyable. Gary our driver, a fun guy made it very enjoyable and lots of knowledge, and the hotel had good evening entertainment. The negative was no shower in our room, not a big negative, but by choice we would have liked one. Now we know this hotel has rooms without, we would ask for a room with. We asked for a room with a view, and we certainly got that, overlooking the Loch with the mountains behind beautiful. Overall a very nice friendly and enjoyable experience. would certainly recommend and will return.

Room Tip: Would recommend getting room with a view because the view is amazing, directly overlooking loch at f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagoa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

What a nice, in-depth complimentary review!
Many thanks for your comments. I will make sure all the staff in the hotel get to see your review. Your stay here should have been exactly how you described it - friendly and enjoyable and I'm so glad it was.
We all look forward to your return and hope that you do!
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

910 - 916 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day holiday with National Holidays. We are arrived on a cold day but did expect that once we entered our room to be greeted wirth warmth but this was not to be, however after a little time we did manage to get the electric radiator working. Our room on the fifth floor was accessed via a number of short flights of steps (no Lift) and no porterage was offered. The Staff were pleasant and helpfui and the menus were varied with choices. The Hotel did cope well with a request for mt friend to be served with sugar free deserts. We had booked the Scotland Special Superdeal as against the "inclusive" deal the latter being less expensive but whilst on the tour were made at times to feel like porr relations. Despite paying £20.00 each extra for a loch view room the room we were give was very small with loch view from a very small window. Despite this we on the whole enjoyed our time in Scotland.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGMJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm sorry that you found your room cold on arrival but I was pleased to read that it was not long in heating up.
I'm also glad that you found the staff helpful and pleasant and the meal choices were to your liking.
The superdeal package that you purchased offers the same tours as the all inclusive package with the only difference being the drink vouchers given out by the hotel. I can only apologise if you felt you were treated differently.
The sizes of the scenic rooms in the hotel do not differ greatly from non scenic rooms.
The only difference in these room types is the terrific view of the loch and mountains that are adjacent to the hotel.
I hope that you can return to the hotel and enjoy some more Claymore hospitality!
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Me and my nana went on holiday with national holidays for my nanas birthday. The trip was 2 days long and it was amazing. The food was amazing the service was amazing and all of there wonderful entertainment , facilities and complimentarys were amazing. Views from our clean warm room were breathtaking we couldn't find fault with anything on this holiday and thank national holidays an the claymore hotel very much .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielHeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thanks tons for your AMAZING review!!
You need to come back with your Nana very soon.
We will all look forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Gary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days the staff are great nothing is bother but the only thing is that the rooms are dated needs updated you need to go for a upgrade.the view of the loch long are incredible the grounds are good the meals were nice we went with national holidays our driver was called Peter

Room Tip: try not to get the rooms that over that over look the court yard also they are dark you can hear ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Many thanks for your review of the Claymore Hotel.
National Holidays offer great value for money and here at the Claymore we all enjoy looking after our guests, as you found out!
Thanks again for your review.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

my partner and I went to the claymore hotel for 4 days with national holidays. the driver Mark was great and was knowledgeable about scotland and the areas we visited. The hotel was clean and tidy, warm. The reception staff were great, really efficient and so helpful also. The waiting staff were hard working. The food was not up to scratch for a hotel as my partner and myself had to send our breakfast back cause it was cold and warmed up in the microwave even the fried egg was warmed up in micro and was like rubber and inedible. The pavlova was a joke as tinned fruit was used on top of a shop bought meringue nest and cheap squirty cream on the top,The best meal was the sunday roast only. in all meals were very disappointing that we ended up buying a hot meal while we were out to make sure we had something to eat (money we didn't expect to spend.) Evening entertainment was great and enjoyed the three nights. The view's were out of this world. The grounds were spotless.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones in front of the building so go for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cart677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

I'm very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Claymore Hotel recently but I'm also concerned that some of the meals you received were not up to our usual standard.
I will discuss your comments with the kitchen and I hope that you will return to the Hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Really enjoyed our 2 nights here as part of a National Holidays coach trip. The hotel is in a really beautiful setting. We had a room in the older part and you may wish to request this if you prefer a bath rather than a shower, as it seemed to present fewer issues than in the newer wings.
The meals, at least those freshly cooked, were very tasty and it was refreshing to have a kipper option at breakfast. The serving staff were very helpful and very efficient. We didn't avail ourselves of the evening entertainment, although those who did seemed to really enjoy it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm glad that your stay here and in particular the room you were allocated and also the kippers for breakfast!
Come and stay with us again soon.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

loved every minute of this tour. Les our driver was very informative he knows his Scottish history, The hotel, although in need of a refurbishment was clean and warm, the staff caring and the meals more than adequate. Evening entertainment first class.The setting of the Hotel was beautiful and we would happily return, However, we spent more time on the coach than we expected and probably not so much time in places like Oban and Fort William as we would have liked, but we were certainly given value for money and a trip to remember.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the loch would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

What a great title to your review!!
These are the kind of reviews that we hope for: truthful, informative and complimentary.!
Come back soon!
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
573 reviews
10.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
819 reviews
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing