We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay.”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break at the Claymore Hotel in Arrochar which is on the edge of Loch Long in Argyle.Even though the weather was pretty poor, the hotel and its staff did everything to make all residents enjoy their stay.Nice clean room with all necessary facilities.Lovely breakfast and dinner.Can certainly recommend the Claymore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bobuk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm so glad you had an enjoyable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    560
    264
    93
    72
See reviews for
193
727
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the Claymore on a national holidays 5 day break.We found the hotel a little tired,but the food,staff and the rooms were excellent.Plenty of extras if you needed more food,our waitress ADRY was very helpful,always with a smile,sometimes with a laugh.The outlook from the hotel was impressive,overlooking Loch Long.I would go back again if there were different trips to the ones we did this time.Callander,Loch Lomond,Fort William and Oban.a great break,with very good entertainment in the evenings.

Room Tip: ask for a walk in shower(some rooms only have a bath)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Many thanks for your great review on trip adviser.
As you mentioned in your review the view from the hotel is very impressive and we try to make all our guests feel welcome and offer great customer service to make your holiday memorable.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Thought I would try a National Holiday trip again staying at the Claymore Hotel in Arrachor Scotland. Tried one a few years ago, a mystery trip eventually finishing off at Blackpool of all places-ended up in a fight between two women in the dining room of the Norbeck Hydro Hotel. So what did I think of this trip. Driver excellent, but took 8hrs to get there with picking up. The hotel-outdated, shabby, lacked sparkle, a really run down place. No shower, only a bath in the majority of rooms. The management, presumably Nat Holidays, seem to have no pride in their hotels. Lots of people staying, so potential is there to spend and upgrade the rooms. Depends what you want. If you are easily satisfied and are prepared to accept mediocre standards at a low cost then come here. What a waste though, a fantastic area with the potential to make it one of the best around. Wake up Nat Hols and invest for the future. You have finally lost a customer who has supported you, no more!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for your review on trip adviser.
Unfortunately your review seems to make out that everyone who stays here accepts mediocre standards. This is certainly not the case.
As for the management pride in the hotel - all the staff and management take tremendous pride in the hotel and in their job and excel in offering efficient, friendly customer service.This is demonstrated in all the positive comments that we receive on a daily basis.
I do hope that you change your mind and return to the Claymore hotel in the future.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds unitedkingom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

sheila & i had 5 days at the claymoor hotel arrochar.located on the banks of loch long.
yes 5 very good days,we had very good excursions to oban loch lomond calander & extar
day to fort william.our driver less whas one of the best very good.also les entertaines us all in the
ballroom with good vocals.the rest of the entertainment whas also very good,the claymoor is a nice hotel but a little bit tired ,the food was fine & all the staff were very good.so yes in all very good value for money.sheila & i will be back for more holls with national holidays.yours,sydney elcock.(ps,just beat the snow)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Sydney and Sheila,
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially the excursions with Les the driver - we often get complaints about his singing so you have found your self in a minority - only kidding, he's great!!!
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

me and my friend stopped here last week on a national coach holiday, was given a room on the 4th floor was not happy very dark. went down to recepition no problem 5th floor at the side and had a lovely view of the loch downfall no lift had to drag cases up all them steps and some of the elderly found it difficult. yes it could do with a little TLC, but the food was very good the reception staff where excellent what ever we wanted they tried to get. entertainment every night was really good overall we had a really enjoyable holiday and we would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review on trip adviser.
I'm glad we could change rooms for you when you recently stayed at the Claymore Hotel.
As you have mentioned we do not have a lift at the hotel but there are only short flights of stairs between each floor and we are always on hand to offer assistance.
I will look forward to your return to the Claymore Hotel.
Regards,
Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
withernsea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

we went to the claymore with national holidays 18Th-22ND march,although in need of a lick of paint here and there we really enjoyed our stay!! 4 nights excellent sleep,excellent food,excellent service our waitress was Barbara,lovely girl!! in fact it is run with great efficiency,like clockwork.Cant comment on the entertainment as we retire early ready for the next days trip also my husband has had a stroke so tires easily,so thank you claymore for a wonderful 5 day break!!!.A big thank you to Les our driver he was very obliging and knowledgeable.we shall return!! ml&ca Sutton.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm so glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay here at the Hotel and I will pass on your comments to Barbara - she'll be delighted.
Many thanks again,
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

mum and I took a last minute holiday We had agreat time ,a nice room, good food and pleasant and helpful staff who were there anytime we needed them. Having worked in hotels as a housekeeping manager, I find the remarks of Jean from Doncaster offensive .We were there on the same break. Baths a great for us as my mother scalded herself in a shower and is frightened of them. For the price we had great value and very much looking forward to staying again. To add to another comment TAKE NO NOTICE don,t be upset by negative reviews!!! see you again soon,And the magician was great fun, Cath Graham

Room Tip: take a compass if you don,t have a good sense of direction.I did get lost several times but that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathgraham47alston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Many thanks Cath for your review on trip adviser.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and also that fact that you had a bath instead of a shower.
National holidays offer great value for money and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,.
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
455 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
10.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Property: Claymore Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing