We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Claymore Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
$63
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)(Great Value!)
$99
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$138
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ardlui Hotel(Ardlui)
$955
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel(Luss)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardgartan Hotel(Arrochar)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,537)
Filter reviews
1,537 results
Traveler rating
457
620
283
96
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
620
283
96
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational holidaysfree barour waiternational coachcoach driverconcert roomno liftscenic viewbeautiful scotlandentertainment roomshower attachmentdining roommet some lovely peopleburns nightfood was lovelygretna greenevening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
1,158 - 1,163 of 1,537 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my husband and another couple as part of a National Holidays trip on November 2nd - 4th. As the trip was booked at last minute we were uanble to upgrade to a room with a loch view. Howver, the room (418) was adequate and very clean although I would have prefered a shower rather than a bath. Apparently these have to be requested beforehand. The staff were really friendly particularly the waitress at mealtimes who even remembered to wish me happy birthday on the Sunday morning (it was only mentioned during a conversation the day before).
Included as part of the deal was four drinks vouchers per person including 'house' spirits and a mixer. Take my advice and dont waste your vouchers on tea and coffee as these are provided in the rooms. Order pints instead of halves and ask for a smaller glass if you dont like the pint glass.
The food was good with a choice of starters, mains and deserts and you could ask for more if you were still hungry. The entertainment was the usual bingo and a singer on the first night and a singer on the second. We didnt have any trouble getting a seat in the concert room although I suspect you would struggle if there were more than three coach loads staying over. We took an optional extra of a trip on Loch Lomond. This was spoilt by the rain and everyone crammed inside the rather small boat which steamed up the inside windows so you couldnt see much! One for a clear or sunny day I think!
I have travelled with National before and encountered some ropey hotels but this was one of the better ones and I would stay again. The only drawback? if you count up the amount of time on the coach it comes to more than a third of your time away, still it did feel like value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candybellHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Many thanks for your in-depth review on trip adviser.Your review was interesting to read and offered a good insight to a future guest wanting to stay at the hotel.
I hope that you stay with us again at the Claymore and enjoy some more value for money Claymore hospitality!!
Many thanks,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel has a lovely location with fine views. Although most aspects of the hotel were OK, the room allocated to us ( 508) was not, being of an unsatifactory standard even for a budget hotel. The lighting was poor and the light switches above one of the beds were not easily reached. One wall light did not work and there were holes in the wall where the light switch once was. There was a gap by this wall light exposing wiring roughly covered with insulation tape. In the en-suite, there was no shower facility, no heating, no electric shaver point, a hot water tap coming loose, poor lighting and an extraction fan that did not work.. In our opinion, this room fell far short of that expected even in a budget hotel and we have stayed in far superior B&B's

Room Tip: ask for a superior room and inspect it before confirming
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bukoba1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm so glad to read that you enjoyed the location and views from the hotel.
Please be assured that the issues you mention in your review will be corrected.
I hope that you can return to the Claymore Hotel in the future.
Many thanks,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay with National Holidays. Firstly I don’t feel the price should come into it yes it was cheap and yes apparently you get what you pay for. Saying that in this day and age you expect a bed that is clean, a bed that is not stained round the base, a bed that has springs in the correct place and a bed that is not years old and way past its best!!. The carpets were soiled, bathroom had no shower and it all made for a room in desperate need of a refurb. There are minimum standards people now expect irrelevant of the price and all it would need would be a lick of paint, new bed, new carpets. I had 2 nights of no sleep and fully clothed lay on towels on top of the bed! The food was bland and in my opinion chicken curry does not go with boiled white cabbage and sweetcorn!!! Sorry to say I won’t be returning shame because this hotel could be simply stunning!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smith2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I glad that you found your stay at the hotel value for money but also disappointed that there were some aspects that you were not happy about. We are continually renovatiing the hotel and operate a rolling program for redecoration.
We do not receive many complaints about the food served at the hotel but I will pass on your comments to the departments concerned.
Many thanks,
Gary Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

went with national holidays to Claymore Hotel Arrochar 22/10/12-25/10/12, great location and views. Food good and wide variety/choice - even on arrival day could chose from main menu - Les our driver very informative - hope you better now -
had read some of the reviews prior to going but not disapointed at all, friendly staff, clean, good entertainment
good value for money

Room Tip: had been treated to view of loch long 313 good views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
You will be pleased to know that Les has fully recovered and is fine.
I hope that will return to the Claymore Hotel and sample some more great scottish hospitality!
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay,has many have said lovely location,hard working staff and good value.We stayed in room 516,everything about the room was ok,except the bed all you could feel was the springs sticking out, the mattress was that old.The base of the bed was tatty and badly stained,no excuses for that.Needless to say it was hard to get to sleep.
The best thing about arrochar is the Village Inn lovely place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorraine1808489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay but also disappointed your bed was uncomfortable.
I would have preferred if you had mentioned this to a member of the management at the time as we could have recified this problem.
I hope that this does not deter you from coming back to the Hotel in the future.
Many thanks,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews