We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claymore Hotel”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Claymore Hotel”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Went on National holiday to Arrochar. Hotel on shores of Loch Long with breathtaking views of surrounding scenery. Hotel was bit of a warren, but once orientated, really liked. Bedrooms fine, food pretty good, and staff really pleasant and helpful. Nice bar, large lounge with entertainment.
Overall incredible holiday with free drinks!, excellent trips, including boat trip on stunning Loch Lomond, beautiful weather, and scenery to die for! All for £99.00 Well done National!

Room Tip: Room with Loch view must be breathtaking, but had side room with reasonable views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alston12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Many thanks for your nice review and your compliments regarding you recent stay at the Claymore Hotel.
National Holidays offer great short breaks and you can be sure of value for money and an enjoyable stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Claymore Hotel in the future.
Many thanks,
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    553
    263
    92
    72
See reviews for
192
720
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

stayed for 2 night stay with national holidays had a nice big room on the ground floor food was very nice as were all the staff very good value for money seen alot of the area around driver dave was good and had a lot of very nice people on the bus with us

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Many thanks for your recent review of the Claymore Hotel on trip adviser.
I'm so glad that you found your trip to be of great value and that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.
I will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Many thanks.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day National Holidays tour based at the Claymore Hotel. Our overall rating is one of good value for the money. Albeit the hotel is in a 'tired' state and in need of a makeover the rooms where clean and warm. We felt breakfast was the best meal of the day and free wine (2 glasses) was provided with dinner. Staff were helpful and friendly. Evening entertainment varied and a game of bingo is popular for many guests. As with the rest of the tour it is the scenery where this hotel really excels - this is definitely 5 star. The Claymore hotel was a good base for us the experience beautiful Scotland.

Room Tip: Pay the small supplement for a view of the loch and request a room with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoefromWakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Many thanks for you great review on trip adviser.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Claymore hotel and you enjoyed the food especially breakfast.
The hotel here is surrounded by stunning scenery and as you mentioned we do have rooms with scenic views - well worth the small supplement.
Many thanks again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited the Claymore for an overnight stay from 21st to 22nd October. We booked with Caledonian Travel at the last minute, as we weren't convinced that a one night coach trip was a sensible idea. Anyway, off we went and what a lovely surprise it turned out to be. The hotel and the staff were warm and welcoming. We had room 227 which was fresh and bright, and warm. There were nice white sheets on the bed and lots of tea and coffee sachets provided too. Our table number in the dining room was printed on a ticket we were given when we arrived and collected our key. We were also given 4 drinks vouchers each at the same time. We took our complimemtary glass of wine on the way to the dining room. There was a nice varied menu for dinner. served by a really polite and friendly waitress. We sat in the lounge bar (which has a nice tartan carpet) for the rest of the evening. There was a good atmosphere and we met two English ladies who were really interesting and good company. The breakfast was excellent, again there was a good variety and all very fresh and tasty. So our overnight stay was a complete success. The weather was lovely, the coach driver was a friendly chap, we visited Lomond Shores,Inverary, Aberfoyle and Callendar. The hotel and all their staff were ideal and there is no doubt we will visit again. Outstanding value for money from beginning to end!

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niko18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Many thanks for your nice review of your recent stay.
I'm so glad you decided to come to the hotel for just the one night and that you enjoyed your stay.
All the staff at the hotel do their best to make sure everyone's stay is memorable and enjoyable be it for one night or more.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here on a three day national trip 19th -21st of october. This Hotel is of a far better standard than most of the other hotels that National/Shearings own and is excellent value.The location is fantastic and My Loch view room provided fantastic views every morning. The rooms are a great size and nicely furnished and the refreshment trays are generously stocked. The food quality and choice was perfectly fine with a particularly tasty breakfast. The evening entertainment was well liked by most of the guests. this Hotels greatest asset is its staff,from the Manager who greets every coach to the great receptionist and the very busy but friendly bar and restaurant staff. Did not see the cleaning staff but they did a good job as all areas were well cleaned. Really great time and even better was the great price. Well worth a return visit as most guests do time and again, well done the claymore.

Room Tip: Loch view rooms are well worth the little extra but try to go higher floors to avoid the little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaymadkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Many thanks for your great review of your stay at the Claymore Hotel.
I will pass on your remarks to the departments concerned- they will be pleased.
I hope to welcome you back to the Claymore Hotel in the future.
Many thanks,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull east yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here with my eldest daughter for two nights with national holidays 18/10/2012 to 20/10/2012. Hotel could not be in a better location at the head of Loch Long. I cannot comment on local transport as I was with a coach trip but we did see a local bus pass our hotel in the evenings so I assumed it ran all day as well.Not too far from a railway station. The hotel is clean and the rooms have a bath, tv, phone, tea making facilities, our room had comfortable beds ( two single beds ). The food was good with quite a lot of choice at both breakfast and in the evening, good service very quick. A glass of either red or white wine is included at the evening meal.Bar was very good with entertainment each evening, cabaret and bingo in the concert room.Tables are soon filled so we stayed in the bar. Nice walk outside the hotel as you are on the Loch side.Recommend a high floor as it is quieter and you get a good view if you are overlooking the Loch, there is no lift so you have to be mobile. If like me you prefer a shower, you have to get a mixer from reception, be quick though as someone told me there was not enough to go round all the rooms, I had no problem getting one. Rooms are warm and have hairdryers should you need one. The price we paid was very good to say the least so I cannot complain about anything we were very satisfied and will be back, we will stay longer next time. Trips included to the Trossachs,Callendar, Loch Lomond and Gretna Green. I Cannot fault this trip. Everything was good maybe some of the other coach party could have been better ( more FRIENDLY ).

Room Tip: Get a seat in concert room early, I don't know how maybe miss your sweet at the evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanagoogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
Your review was very in-depth and interesting and enjoyable to read.
I hope that you return to the Claymore Hotel to enjoy some more scottish hospitality.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Im gunna be quick (just like the bus driver on the sightseeing tour). Free Bar, a long line to the very small bar, over worked under staffed bar, until the free bar shuts and then they smile a bit when you pay. Rooms need modernization, thankfully we paid extra for a very nice view. Meals, were 7/10.friendly restaurant.hot food. Not much to do outside, (unless you smoke) then you can go outside and dodge the midges,not the hotels fault,but they WILL get you...The Turns were ok dont expect a seat in the lounge though unless you get in early. The Drivers (who drove the buses here) were regulars, who i found out do the same run weekly seemed to have a lot of say around the hotel.they help out the bar staff, one helps in other ways too, i thought one was the manager up until the second day..complaisant is the word. Over-all a cheap and easy way to see a bit of Scotland.....pity about the midges...

Room Tip: pre book front view rooms if poss...or you may regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Many thanks for your brisk review of your stay at the Claymore Hotel.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay but I'm puzzled that you mention midges at this time of year. Normally they are gone by mid September.
Hopefully you can return to the hotel another time and enjoy a midgie free stay.
Many thanks,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Property: Claymore Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing