We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and amazing B&B”
Review of Ben Bheula B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ben Bheula B&B
Ranked #8 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Cramlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views and amazing B&B”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Both myself and my partner stayed here last week (April 2014) and were so thrilled with the reception that we got from Barbara and Rob that we even decided to stay on another night. The trip would have been extended for longer if if wasn't for the fact that we had to go back to work. A wonderful place to stay where you are made to feel like you are at home, are welcomed, and treated like royalty during your stay. The views over Arrochar and Loch Long from the rooms and whilst eating your breakfast from the conservatory are amazing. Barbara and Rob are a lovely couple and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere to stay and we were so delighted with the place that we have booked to go back for another 4 nights at the end of August 2014.

Room Tip: All the rooms have amazing views over Loch Long to Arrochar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
98
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Berwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Barbara and Rob were incredibly friendly and full of local knowledge especially of the surrounding area and walks.
Extremely comfortable cosy sitting room and bedroom and stunning views of the loch from the breakfast conservatory.
All in all brilliant and we shall return.
The swimming pool and fitness centre in the ratings are the loch and munros ( the property does not have these facilities ) !!!!

Room Tip: all rooms lovely but top floor room very spacious with lovely views of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy Varry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed here for four nights in March 2014, and couldn't have asked for a better experience. My room was clean and tastefully decorated; the bed was wonderfully fluffy (and even came with a hot water bottle!); and the breakfast provided each morning was delicious and hearty (like many other reviewers of Ben Bheula, I recommend the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon). The B&B offers beautiful views of Loch Long and the surrounding hills no matter where you are in the house -- the lounge, your room, the breakfast nook -- and because it is located just around the lake from the heart of Arrochar, where there are several pubs and restaurants (the best is The Village Inn; book a table in advance), Ben Bheula is quiet and peaceful -- I had no noise issues whatsoever. Over the course of my stay, I did scope out the other Arrochar hotels/B&Bs I had considered before choosing Ben Bheula, and after doing so, I'm confident I chose wisely. Simply out, Ben Bheula has a charm and appeal that many of the other lodging options in Arrochar just don't. I especially appreciated coming back to a roaring fireplace and steaming mug of tea each night after a long day of hiking in the cold and rain! Whether you're looking for a romantic getaway or a base for exploring the Trossachs National Park, you won't go wrong with Ben Bheula.

On that note, what makes Ben Bheula really stand out is its owners, Rob and Barbara. The latter was away at the time of my stay, but I'm sure she's just as lovely and helpful as her husband. Rob is a member of the Arrochar Mountain Rescue team and an experienced climber and walker, and I couldn't have asked for a better guide to the area. Each morning, he patiently went over maps with me and even drew up personalized hiking guides for me based on what I wanted to see and how far I wanted to walk. Whether you're a novice or an experienced walker, Rob will know the perfect route for you -- and I don't think the same can be said of any other hotel or B&B owner in the area. Walkers (and anyone else) would do well to skip the impersonal big hotels in the area in favor of this wonderful B&B and its knowledgeable owners.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryGirl1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here last summer, and I've been meaning to write a review just to say it is everything you could wish for in a B&B. Friendly, helpful owners, beautiful location over looking Loch Long, a lovely bedroom which was spacious, clean and comfy, and a top breakfast. We loved the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. We spent a week touring the Highlands and this was our favourite B&B by far.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We've just come back from our honeymoon and can highly recommend staying at Ben Bheula. Barbara and Rob made us feel so welcome and spoilt us rotten. The views from the house are stunning, especially from the breakfast room while eating the 'house speciality' of scrambled eggs and local salmon. We spent lovely evenings in front of the log fire in the cosy living room. There are great walks in the local area for all levels and a fantastic local pub. Rob and Barbara can give you local tips on the area which makes it so easy to get on with enjoying yourself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were looking for a stopover en route to Oban before island hopping from Barra to Lewis. Inveraray proved to be "full" with the Best of the West event that weekend, so we came up with Ben Bheula in Arrochar, which was a perfect start to getting away from it all. Rob and Barbara Webb gave us a warm and friendly welcome, and Barbara later gave us excellent and honest advice on the pluses and minuses of all the places to get an evening meal in Arrochar. (Eventual decision, based on Barbara's advice was The Village Inn, it was the longest walk from Ben Bheula, and usually requires pre-booking, but we snuck in as soon as they opened and were seated immediately, before the rush. Very good decision, and a reminder to trust local knowledge!) It was relaxing to walk back to be greeted to return by a real fire in the spacious and very comfortable guest lounge for the rest of the evening.

Our double bedroom (as well as the lounge and the dining area) all had an excellent view across the top of Loch Long towards Arrochar village itself (Ben Bheula is just beyond Arrochar, with a short walk on a good path across the head of the loch to reach it.) Breakfast didn't disappoint, with a hearty full cooked option served in an attractive conservatory extension to the front of the house which gave an airy and peaceful view over the loch, even though the rain was by now coming down like Noah's flood and the wind was rising to give the first of the winter's storms.

Altogether an excellent B&B stop if you're heading for the islands and need an overnight stop but also want to feel that your holiday break has well and truly started.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. It was perfect. The rooms were very nice, warm, clean and with a lovely view over Loch Long. The breakfast was very good and served in the nice winter garden. We loved to sit in the livingroom in front of the fireplace. It was perfect. The owners were very nice and helpfull with good advices for eating out, places of interest and fear of flying. Thank you very much. Next time we'll come back again.
P.S.: The Falkirk Wheel was very impressing

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiAlex76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
8.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.4 mi away
The Inn on Loch Lomond
0.8 mi away
Fascadail Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Bheula B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Bheula B&B

Property: Ben Bheula B&B
Address: Succoth, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ben Bheula B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Foresters cottage sitting at the edge of the village with woods to the back and side. Three comfortable rooms offering twin and double accommodation. All en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ben Bheula B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Bheula B&B Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing