We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not exactly "the Biltmore of Tennessee"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falcon Rest Mansion

Falcon Rest Mansion
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Falcon Rest is the Victorian mansion where history is fun. Built in 1896 by Gorilla Pants manufacturer Clay Faulkner, it's been called "Tennessee's Biltmore" by PBS. Some say it's presided over by a friendly ghost. Open daily year round for guided tours, tea room lunches, Victorian Gift Shop, and history-based entertainment and meals for group tours.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not exactly "the Biltmore of Tennessee"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This place is a fine country home B&B. The owners are so-so and I thought rooms were kindof spendy for the area and what we got overnight. Cold breakfast. It's a pretty area, but just a few acres of OK landscaping. Have these people been to the REAL Biltmore?

Helpful?
1 Thank MattInTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falconfirstlady, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post a review, Matt. An overnight stay would have been at Falcon Manor, the B&B on the grounds of the Falcon Rest tour mansion. We’re so sorry to hear your breakfast wasn’t warm. They’re prepared immediately before guests have asked us to serve them. Possibly we miscommunicated on the time you would be ready to eat, or maybe we delivered breakfast to your room in the winter. In the future, we’ll be sure to take extra pains that meals stay warm in transit.

“Tennessee’s Biltmore” is a quote from a PBS Radio audio walking tour of Falcon Rest Mansion, which won a first-place Tennessee Broadcasters’ Association award several years ago. The Biltmore in North Carolina is a one-of-a-kind castle, and it’s an honor to be compared in any way. The PBS piece was referring to the modern systems, solid masonry structure, and date of construction both buildings have in common – not the scale. We think it’s clear from photos and written descriptions that Falcon Rest is a 10,000-sq.-ft. mansion with five acres of gardens. Neither the size of the property nor the prices charged to tour the mansion or stay on the grounds are on the same scale as its “big sister” in Asheville. People who have toured both places often say one thing they like better about Falcon Rest is that they can imagine a real family living in it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful middle tennessee treasure.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We really enjoyed every minute of our visit. It is beutiful and very evident that a great amount of work and love was done in the restoration of history.

Helpful?
1 Thank lovehistory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falconfirstlady, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
We thank this reviewer and the previous one for highlighting what we consider a very important part of Falcon Rest's "mission." It's been our privilege, not only to preserve the building itself, but also to be the curators of its history. Sharing the mansion and the stories of the people whose lives it touched helps bring local history to life for our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great local history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

The tour was delightful. It is fun to learn about the local history of families that are still here.

Helpful?
Thank rocketslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Educational; Entertaining and great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and I booked the Carriage House Room for the weekend, it was very clean and nice. The owners went out of their way to make sure that we were well taken care of. We joined others for the "'Murder at the Mansion" dinner show and had a great time. They have really done their research for famous personalities of the time period and included a lot of facts into the show. Great food, great fun, and great hosts, just doesn't get any better. In my opinion it was a weekend well spent.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falconfirstlady, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thanks so much for the review, Kenneth. It was great having you and your wife, both for Falcon Rest's "Murder at the Mansion" show and for a stay at Falcon Manor, the B&B on the grounds here. We could see that everyone was having a great time with our "Murder" show, but we really appreciate you taking the time to tell others about the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
1 review
“Had a wonderful time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

My wife and I booked a night at the Falcon Manor Bed and Breakfast located on the Falcon Rest property. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was decorated really well with period pieces and tastefully done. We had a very good dinner at the carriage house and enjoyed talking with the co-owner as we ate. We had several enjoyable conversations with the owners and staff during our stay. The next morning we had a nice breakfast and took a tour of the mansion. The most impressive thing about the mansion is the stories the guide tells. The guide is knowledgable about the history and adds her own humorous take on things for an interesting tour. I've been to some bed and breakfasts that were obviously just tax writeoffs but that is not the case with this one. The owners are continually working to upgrade and maintain the properties for the enjoyment of their guests.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falcon Rest Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Falcon Rest Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing