We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fell in love with Falcon Manor B&B on our first visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McMinnville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Falcon Manor B & B at Falcon Rest
Ranked #1 of 2 McMinnville B&B and Inns
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fell in love with Falcon Manor B&B on our first visit”
Reviewed March 15, 2010

This was our second visit to Falcon Manor. 2008 was our first experience there and when we knew we were returning to McMinnville for a special birthday celebration this year we were excited to be able to stay again. After a 12 hour drive we knew we would have a welcoming smile from Charlien upon arrival. We enjoyed the breakfast and each day was a little different (3 day stay). She is an awesome cook. We also like the location of Falcon Manor as it is not far from downtown McMinnville and is very quiet and relaxing. I recommend a tour of the mansion which we took on our first visit. The McGlothin's are very knowledgeable concerning the history of the mansion as well as McMinnville. Hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crackergirl915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I highly recommend this bed & breakfast. Our room (The Carriage House room) was absolutely beautiful - furnished in beautiful antiques with a private bathroom complete with antique claw foot tub. The room was clean and perfect in every way!

The McGlothins were very accommodating hosts. We had a choice of what we wanted for breakfast, what time we wanted our breakfast and where we wanted our breakfast served. And best of all, breakfast was delicious!! Charlien is obviously a very talented cook.

Make sure you take the tour of the main manor house - the restoration is obviously a well-done labor of love.

Treat yourself to a wonderful night away at Falcon Rest.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Playswithjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

My wife and I visited Falcon Rest for a Valentines getaway. We were hoping this place would be a 7 and it turned out to be a 10 !! We stayed in the Carriage House room and it was very comfortable and clean and had a large bathroom. We had dinner there that included salad, steak and chicken entrees, and some incredible cheesecake. The next morning, the owner served us breakfast in our room, which was a real treat. We had a sausage and cheese omelet, strawberry pastry, biscuits, fruit, coffee, tea, and juice. The service at Falcon Rest was way more than we could have ever expected. That is what really stood out for us. We also toured the house and bought some souvenirs of our visit in their gift shop. The place is over 100 years old, so don't expect the Ritz Carlton. However, if you are looking for a quiet getaway with your spouse, I really recommend the Falcon Rest. We definitely will go back for another visit.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 38Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2007

We did not like staying at this bed and breakfast. It was dirty and in poor repair. Upon arrival the toilet did not flush, and upon leaving the sink did not drain. The walls and woodwork were extremely dirty and stained. The windows are rotting and sills were filthy. It did not meet expectations for even a cheap motel, and it was not cheap. If you are looking for charm you can find it, but you'll have to overlook the years of neglect and lack of cleaning and maintenance.

  • Liked — Leaving it.
  • Disliked — The filth
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ET135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falconfirstlady, Owner at Falcon Manor B & B at Falcon Rest, responded to this review, May 3, 2009
We were sorry to learn from this review that these guests were unhappy with their stay at Falcon Manor, the B&B guest suites on the grounds of the Falcon Rest tour mansion. If they had told us at the time, we could have taken steps to make their experience a more positive one.

We recall this visit due to the unusual coincidence of a toilet chain coming undone, then a sink drain stopper getting stuck the next day. Both were regrettable but very simple issues that we resolved immediately. The room they stayed in was the 1896 kitchen, across a breezeway from the main mansion and the only guest room in the original building. It's usually the favorite of guests who love historic homes. Business travelers, as these guests were, sometimes do prefer our more modern rooms in newer buildings on the grounds. The windows (which aren't rotting but do date from 1896) were open when they arrived to take advantage of a cool fall breeze. Some dust had blown in due to the very dry weather. We regret that these factors apparently set a negative tone for the visit.

While we feel this review was exaggerated and unduly harsh, we appreciate the fact that it called our attention to some needed improvements, which we made immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McMinnville
2.0 mi away
Scottish Inn
Scottish Inn
#2 of 4 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#3 of 4 in McMinnville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Manchester
Comfort Suites Manchester
#3 of 17 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
23.5 mi away
Ambassador Inn & Luxury Suites
2.0 mi away
Best Western Tree City Inn
Best Western Tree City Inn
#1 of 4 in McMinnville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Manor B & B at Falcon Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Manor B & B at Falcon Rest

Property: Falcon Manor B & B at Falcon Rest
Address: 85 Bluff Springs Rd, McMinnville, TN 37110-4139
Location: United States > Tennessee > McMinnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in McMinnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four bed and breakfast guest suites on the grounds of the Falcon Rest Mansion offer a peaceful getaway to the 1890s with all the conveniences modern travelers expect. It's the ideal place to stay when visiting Cumberland Caverns, Bluegrass Underground, or Rock Island State Park. A full gourmet breakfast can be served in the guest room, courtyard or tea room. The Victorian Gift Shop offers mementos of the stay to take home. Guests are encouraged to explore Falcon Rest's gardens on their own. Guided tours of the 1896 Falcon Rest Mansion, a historic tourist attraction, are available daily from 9 to 5 at the regular admission price. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing