We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardlui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardvorlich House Bed and Breakfast Guest House Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Ardlui B&B and Inns
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ardvorlich House lies somewhat south of Ardlui, but the hosts are quite willing to come pick you up at Drovers Inn at Inverarnan and drop you back off there if you are walking the West Highland Way. Rooms were good and clean, although the lavatory is somewhat noisy. The breakfast room is rather small, but they manage to produce a good standard scottish breakfast for all, including cereals, milk and yoghurt. Friendly people, but have a heavy scottish accent that can be difficult for non-native speakers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbrouwer_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at this B&B in June, 2007, with family and friends, and have returned in June, 2013 with other friends. The property is just south of the little village of Ardlui, and about five miles north of Tarbet on the busy A82 highway that runs along the west shore of Loch Lomond. A bit of caution is needed while driving this scenic route, because large buses and lorries make frequent use of this, frequently straddling the middle line as they go on their merry way. Just be alert!

The B&B itself has about 5 ensuite bedrooms, each with cable TV and WiFi access. The owners, Helelor and Nancy, are friendly and take pride in their lovely property. Don't be startled by the occasional rumble of a passenger train to or from Glasgow; the rail line is directly behind the property, but there are only four or five trains a day; none later than 11 PM or earlier than 8 AM. The train stops at the nearby town of Ardlui, and the owners of the B&B will arrange to pick you up at the station, I believe.

There is ample car parking alongside the house, and a delicious full breakfast is served. Tea and coffee are furnished in the rooms, along with delicious Scottish shortbread and cookies! I also had a very good night's sleep, in a quiet, cozy room on the ground floor. The bed was very comfortable!

I highly recommend this superb B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maestrolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Beautifully located on the western shore of Loch Lomond just south of Ardlui, this is the best B&B we have ever found. The owners are ready to collect folk from the nearest West Highland Railway station at Ardlui, or from the West Highland Way just across the narrow neck of Loch Lomond opposite. Everything about the place was perfect, from the view to the lovely decor, the comfort of the room, the food etc. Plus we had the entertainment value of watching innumerable birds feeding at the feeders on the terrace outside the picture windows.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne & wear
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having stayed here in 2011 for my partner's birthday weekend, we had no reservations returning to stay for another night as part of our 4 day break on the West coast of Scotland. We brought our mother's with us to give them a holiday as they haven't been to the West coast of Scotland before. We had the downstairs double room and our mother's had the twin room, both were spotlessly clean, immaculately well presented, free WiFi, and all the usual facilities you would expect from a 1st class guest house.

The owners were very accommodating as we had arrived earlier than expected, full of chat, couldn't do enough to make our stay a worthwhile experience. The guest house is set back off the main road on a hillside commanding a stunning view of Loch Lomond, and is so peaceful. All you can hear is bird song, sheep, ducks and the occasional train that passes in the back ground, but even that just adds to the experience.

Some beautiful places for walkers including the Highland Way and a Munro out back, and other places of interest just a short drive away.

Any and every time we will be in the West coast of Scotland and need a place to stay we will have no hesitation in booking a room here if one is available.

Attached photos of nearby places of interest

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanEthel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosyth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Myself and my husband's mum & dad came with us last weekend and were greeted warmly by the owner we were shown to our rooms that were very nicely decorated and lovely and warm as it was a chilly day . We were made to feel very welcome and nothing would have been too much trouble for them ( could not do enough for us ) breakfast was lovely well cooked with plenty of tea /coffee and toast etc .We would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone going up to the loch lomond area. The Ardluiu hotel has a very good resturant ( 2 mile ) at resonable prices and a bit further north at Inveraray try the George hotel for a sunday lunch .These were also recommed to us by Helenor. We would like to wish them all the best for the future

Room Tip: The upstairs front room is the best for views ( family room )
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moira h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Loved this place and the super friendly people in it. We were there with two couples, shame it rained but the temperature was ok. We wanted to walk to the restaurant for dinner but no the owner offered to take us and pick us up and wouldn't hear of payment for it....so hospitable and Matt had us in hysterics all the way to the Ardlui Hotel and back with his brilliant sense of humour. Our meal was great too. The rooms are spacious, clean, with tv, box and everything you require.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gypsyberry
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August - it was chosen originally because of the proximity to Ardlui hotel. We had plans on going to the Highland Games being held there and google maps showed it as being about 300m away - a very walkable distance. The hotel, however is about 2 miles away.

A slight re adjustment of our plans, we still went to the games but it wasn't as much of a knees up as we had planned, but no harm, and no ones fault - apart from googles.

The BnB itself is very fresh and modern. We had the room which looked out over the Loch - and it was a lovely room. Very clean and comfortable w/ ensuite.

The breakfast was great. Option of continental to start with a made to order full fry up. The coffee was amazing.

Noise does travel a bit in the house, which I assume is normal in BnB's but we don't normally treat ourselves to nice accommodation.

The trains aren't an issue - as far as we were concerned. They stop over night and we were out exploring during the day.

The hosts were incredibly friendly and welcoming.

All in all - a nice place to stay for a couple nights exploring Loch Lomond and the Trossachs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Loch, its a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardlui
2.3 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
4.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
11.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
12.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
4.7 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardvorlich House Bed and Breakfast Guest House Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardvorlich House Bed and Breakfast Guest House Accommodation

Property: Ardvorlich House Bed and Breakfast Guest House Accommodation
Address: Ardvorlich 82 Off the Main a Road, Ardlui, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Ardlui
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ardlui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ardvorlich House Bed And Breakfast Guest House Accommodation Ardlui, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing