We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understaffed, but otherwise great”
Review of Ardlui Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardlui Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardlui
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Understaffed, but otherwise great”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in a superior suite. The room was lovely (although the ceiling was a bit low). Everything was clean & comfortable. Our dog was made very welcome too.

We enjoyed a tasty curry in the bar - by no means fancy food, but the portions were generous & it suited us perfectly.

The only issue we had was related to understaffing. The man who was working in the morning was very helpful, but clearly working flat-out. We came down for breakfast at 9.30. While it is served until 11, it was obvious that the majority of guests had already eaten & gone... Leaving their uncleared tables behind. The freshly-brewed coffee had run out, & while we were served a fresh pot, it was instant rather than fresh. Overall the food was disappointing, and I got the impression it had all been sitting in a bain-Marie for several hours.

Overall, though, I think I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSquires, Owner at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you were dissapointed in the morning with your service. We were experiencing a small staffing issue which we have now rectified. We take our level of customer care seriously and we hope we can prove this to you on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    109
    65
    23
    22
See reviews for
76
196
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The setting is spectacular - right next to the loch at the northern end. The setting sun bounces off the hills on the other side of the loch to light up the bedrooms even more. It was truly beautiful. Then there was the supper - we chose the cod. It filled the plate. It was very good. I fear that I didn't finish the chips (chunky 'rustique' style) and I didn't even look at the sweet menu - so can't comment. If they were anything like the mains, then they would have been very good. I think the mistake I made was to start with the mussels - a portion big enough for a main course - with a yummy sauce that made me eat too many pieces of bread!!!

The room was a bit small but this is an old building, so to be expected. It had a beautiful comfy bed in the 'sleigh' design (with a wooden headboard and footboard). For some reason it wasn't long enough for me. This wasn't a disaster as my wife wriggled over a bit [ it's certainly not a reason to avoid here - just check it out if you are a tall person!

Room Tip: Check out the size of bed and make sure that you face the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mewsdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSquires, Owner at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We do like to feed you well. I am glad that you enjoyed our food and your stay with us and we hope you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel has superb location and our room was lovely.
Good selection for breakfast with the full Scottish option.
We were very impressed with the staff who were extremely friendly and helpful. Scott, the owner, made us feel very welcome.
We will definitely pay a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizieg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSquires, Owner at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review. We are glad that you had a nice stay with us and look forward to you returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

An attractive looking hotel, in a fantastic spot at the top of Loch Lomond. A wee glitch on our arrival, but very promptly, and ably, taken care of by Scott and his staff. Room 10 was an absolute delight, thank you. A refurb in progress gave the hotel a sparkle, without being in any way intrusive. The food... Wow!!.. Excellent local food, cooked and presented fabulously. The venison was outstanding!. Walkers are looked after very well in a most friendly and helpful manner. Yes indeed... A smashing hotel, in a brill location with great, friendly staff. Bliss!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davyalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSquires, Owner at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and were looked after well by our team. We hope that you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Located on the side of loch lomond, location is central and allows to have a good visit of trossachs national park. Rooms are however small and I got room 18, which is the room above the pub. The room was so noisy as everybody was singing downstairs that at a point I decided to have a drink and join the team. The pub was very cool but it is definitely not a place you want to pick if you want to rest. Breakfast is included and very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bekdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSquires, Owner at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you were disturbed in your room, unfortunately we do have a few rooms that are situated above the bar so in busy times there can be a bit of noise. Please dont let this put you off as we do have rooms that are loch facing and a lot quieter. We hope that you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Ardlui is a great place to stop on the West Highland Way, and even better when the hotel's ferry across the loch resumes a little later this year. The ferry brings walkers over Loch Lomond from the Way at a point that marks a natural end point for a day's waking. Normal service will resume soon. In the meantime, walkers are brought promptly by minivan from a spot further up the Way. In the hotel, service is excellent -- wet clothes quickly dealt with, warm and comfortable rooms, and good restaurant service

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSquires, General Manager at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. Yes, unfortunately we have been without our ferry for a while due to unforeseen circumstances but we hope to have her up and running by the beginning of June. Quite a lot of our customers are walkers in the summer so we like to provide a service that caters for them such as drying clothes etc. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel enjoys the most picturesque location on the shores of Loch Lomond. An ideal location for walkers. The Scottish breakfast certainly sets you up for a day in the great outdoors. And the generous portions served in the bar are just what you need when you get home. The staff are friendly and helpful.
However, here's the 'But'..... the rooms are tired and the place is long overdue a refurb!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanwickerjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSquires, General Manager at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. At the moment we are trying to work our way through some of our rooms as we know they need a little tlc. Unfortunately being a small family run hotel, it just takes a little bit longer. Glad you enjoyed everything else and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardlui
6.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
14.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
12.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardlui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardlui Hotel

Property: Ardlui Hotel
Address: Ardlui, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7EB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Ardlui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardlui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardlui Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ardlui Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardlui Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing