We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up a loch without a boat”
Review of Ardlui Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardlui Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardlui
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Up a loch without a boat”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Ardlui is a great place to stop on the West Highland Way, and even better when the hotel's ferry across the loch resumes a little later this year. The ferry brings walkers over Loch Lomond from the Way at a point that marks a natural end point for a day's waking. Normal service will resume soon. In the meantime, walkers are brought promptly by minivan from a spot further up the Way. In the hotel, service is excellent -- wet clothes quickly dealt with, warm and comfortable rooms, and good restaurant service

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSquires, General Manager at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. Yes, unfortunately we have been without our ferry for a while due to unforeseen circumstances but we hope to have her up and running by the beginning of June. Quite a lot of our customers are walkers in the summer so we like to provide a service that caters for them such as drying clothes etc. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    109
    65
    23
    22
See reviews for
76
196
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel enjoys the most picturesque location on the shores of Loch Lomond. An ideal location for walkers. The Scottish breakfast certainly sets you up for a day in the great outdoors. And the generous portions served in the bar are just what you need when you get home. The staff are friendly and helpful.
However, here's the 'But'..... the rooms are tired and the place is long overdue a refurb!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanwickerjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSquires, General Manager at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. At the moment we are trying to work our way through some of our rooms as we know they need a little tlc. Unfortunately being a small family run hotel, it just takes a little bit longer. Glad you enjoyed everything else and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here last autumn for a weekend and I will definitely be back.

The staff were all fantastic, both friendly and very knowledgeable about the food on offer and indeed the locale. We had a top floor room which looked out over the loch and, despite fairly miserable weather, you couldn't help but smile at the scenery on offer. A real treat was the wee boatman who took us over the end of the loch to the West Highland Way for a day's walking (and midgy fighting).

The food was tasty and just what you would expect - very good seafood and a decent selection of game. Think more good quality gastropub than fine dining; though this is no complaint at all. The atmosphere was very friendly and the menu reflected that. Likewise with breakfast.

The room was huge, with a comfy bed, nice selection of DVDs, killer view and an amazing shower to start the day with. Couldn't have asked for more really.

If you're passing by then it's highly recommended. As is the pub; warm, rowdy and bustling - just what you want!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelmorrison77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSquires, General Manager at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for such a nice review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our food. I shall tell the team to keep up the good work. We hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were very happy with the quality of the room when we checked into the Ardlui Hotel. The location is great too, right on Loch Lomond. Being my birthday I was disappointed they were not able to accommodate my request for a lochview room, however this could not be helped as they were fully booked. The reason for my low score is that the room we were given was directly above the bar which is downstairs and when we went to bed (around 10:30, not too early) there was so much noise coming from the bar that we could not get to sleep. There is a jukebox constantly playing loud music and many people doing as people do in bars and being loud. I called room service (the only available number other than emergency at that time) and was told by the man all he could was turn the volume down a bit. Unfortunately this made no difference whatsoever and we had a terrible night's sleep. My big issue is that any of the rooms further along the hall would not have had this problem because of their distance from the bar. However, there was nothing to indicate when we booked that our room would be above a bar and that the noise would be that bad. We paid the same price for the night as most of the other rooms but feel that we got a very different experience. This is the first bad review I have ever given a hotel, but it was simply not good enough given what we paid. There needs to be something to indicate when booking that this is the room you will be getting. After a lovely meal in the restaurant this was very disappointing. Not recommended until changes to the booking information you receive are made.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CrashMan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSquires, General Manager at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do have 3 rooms above our bar at the hotel and we make sure that the bar is emptied promptly at closing time. We are sorry that you were disturbed on this occasion and we will monitor this from now on. We hope you would consider returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Second time we have stayed at this hotel and most definitely it will not be our last.

Rooms well decorated and spotlessly clean with all the amenities you would expect.

Food was absolutely first class. They have an extensive menu, food is great quality and the portions are generous.

Good range of drinks in the bars though perhaps a bit pricey. Having said that the atmosphere is great.

Topping it all off I won the Grand National sweep in the bar!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandFramed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSquires, General Manager at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your visits with us and hope you continue to come back in the future, maybe the next grand national to see if you win the sweep again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
409 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We arrived here in the snow and were shown to a cosy double room. The bathroom looked brand new and was nicely equipped. Bed was very comfortable with nice white crisp bedding. A bottle of prosecco and box of chocolates were waiting for us, nice touch.
We ate here to save driving anywhere else. Food was fine, not fancy, but nicely cooked with cheery waiter service.
The surrounding scenery is stunning and we enjoyed a short cruise on the loch, it felt baltic but the hills looked beautiful covered in snow.
Breakfast was a huge cooked plateful, plenty to set you up for the day. Would have liked some fresh fruit and yogurt too but that's my preference.
Nice for a wee treat of a night away though if you get the chance!.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernHeatseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSquires, General Manager at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a 2 night break from deal monster and wasnt dissapointed :) the hotel was lovely , great location, lovely room , nice breakfast and a cosy bar serving great food , the pies are excellent , the staff were friendly and helpfull all in all first class :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shauni97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSquires, General Manager at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and i hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardlui
6.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
14.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
12.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardlui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardlui Hotel

Property: Ardlui Hotel
Address: Ardlui, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7EB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Ardlui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardlui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardlui Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ardlui Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardlui Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing