We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Day at The Cruin”

The Cruin restaurant loch lomond
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Arden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Cruin is situated along Loch Lomond about 5 minuted drive north of Balloch
glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wedding Day at The Cruin”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Where should we start, we had a amazing wedding day at the Cruin on the 20th June. Before we had even spoken to anyone just from the outside we both new this is the place we would celebrate our wedding. The staff were amazing from the very beginning, Wilma was always quick to respond to emails and not living in Scotland anymore they were so flexible with appointments and menu tasting to ensure a time that suited us. The location is fantastic - much better than any of the other venues near Luss as you can hire the place exclusively and have the whole area just for you, and your friends and family. Lyndsey was so helpful on the lead up to the day and her, Sharon and the team looked after us on the day. The service was excellent, the food amazing!!!! The staff were so attentive and clearly love their job....the next morning speaking to one of the bar staff he quote ' we do around 200 weddings a year - that's 200 people that have a part of their life and memories' - working in hospitality myself, this kind of attitude I know is rare to come by and really does show you what the Cruin is all about. Our best memory at the end of the night all the guests had left and we sat in on the bench outside with a bottle of bubbly, overlooking the loch and the Cruin's twinkling lights and just took it all in - truly one of the best parts of the day and a memory we will never ever forget! Thank you to everyone at the Cruin, it was a truly amazing day and your venue will bring us smiles and memories for a lifetime!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lilone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    26
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Egypt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spectacular wedding location”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Cruin has a wow factor! We attended our friend's wedding here on one of the hottest days of the year. Set beside the loch, you can see Ben Lomond in all it's glory. What a beautiful setting for a wedding. All the guests, who had come from many countries, were gob smacked by the view!
There were 100 guests and everyone I spoke to agreed with me and said their meal meal was hot and delicious. Great choices which everyone had made previously. I had a super haggis, beeps and tatties starter. My husband's steak was so tender and I enjoyed delicious salmon followed by raspberry cranachan with pieces of crunchie! Best wedding meal I think I've ever had! Great service, too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynneleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great venue for family reunion”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

A family event brought us to The Cruin. The service was excellent, from our first email contact, through many phone contacts to the event itself. Food is a bit above average for a buffet style meal, as was organised for our group. Scenic location and unable to comment on cost, as someone else footed the bill!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanMAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding 6th July 2014”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I had our wedding here on 6th July and I can only describe the day as phenominal.
Staff were amazing, and nothing was ever a problem, even down to two last minute guests arriving, and when seated they had name cards and their own choice of food. It was as if they had always been coming!!

We were really lucky with the weather and this along with the views was just an extra bonus.

The food was exceptional, and almost every guest commented on the quality of the food.

The staff were exceptional, and very attentive, not only to us, but our guests every request was dealt with excellently!!

A special thanks goes to Elaine, Morag, Wilma, Lyndsey and Sandra who were on hand for everything, but a huge thanks also goes to the backroom staff whom we didn't get to thank personally!!

All we can say is phenominal venue, phenominal setting, phenominal staff, phenominal food, which all in all made for a phenominal day!!

Martin & Lynne

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding 26 May 2014”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Where do we start? Anyone looking for a wedding venue with a stunning view, excellent customer service, a relaxed yet extremely professional feel and high quality food then the cruin is the place for you. Every member of staff made us (and our guests) feel special right through from the early planning stages to the big day itself and no request was too much trouble. A special mention has to go to Lynsey, Wilma and Morag who really went the extra mile to make the day go without a hitch. If it didn't mean getting a divorce we'd go back there and do it all again in a heartbeat!! Jennifer & Greig x

Helpful?
Thank JenniferandGreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cruin restaurant loch lomond also viewed

Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to The Cruin restaurant loch lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing