We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning!”

The Cruin restaurant loch lomond
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Arden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cruin is situated along Loch Lomond about 5 minuted drive north of Balloch
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply stunning!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife has just written a review for The Cruin and I just have to add mine. Everyone wants to have the perfect day on their wedding day, and that's exactly what we had. From the stunning location, we were very lucky with the weather and were able to have the ceremony outside, resulting in the most amazing photos, to the brilliant team that work there. From the very first meeting we knew we had found the right place, we were made to feel very welcome and told that the day was about us, "tell us what you would like, we'll do it"! They did, and did it brilliantly. We are still getting feedback from our guests about what a wonderful day it was, location, food, service, how friendly the staff were, there has not been one negative. If you are looking for somewhere magical for your wedding, please check out The Cruin, we have already decided to have our daughters Christening there next year and possibly all major family events!
Well done Lynsey and the team!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    26
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect venue!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you are looking to get married on Loch Lomond The Cruin is the only place to go and if you are not you should be!
We were married at The Cruin on the 14th of October, all our dreams came true! An absolutely stunning setting, fabulous food and service which is second to none. Everyone commented on the standard of the food and how it was the best wedding food they'd ever had.
I wanted to get married outside and even though it was slightly spitting with rain Lynsey and the team turned it around in record time (there was even someone on standby with an armful of umbrellas!), however the clouds parted and there was a rainbow (not sure that can be recreated every time!).
It's hard to put into words what you get with The Cruin, however from the moment we contacted them we were immediately at ease. You feel like they are part of your family and will do whatever it takes to make sure you have the most magical day ever.
Even though it holds 170 people, the venue still has the warm and cosy feeling and that is largely down to the wonderful team there, they are just outstanding!
Lynsey, Wilma, Morag, all the waiting and kitchen staff are phenomenal.
I urge you to go for a coffee, lunch, wedding, party anything really! You will never be disappointed! We are in love with The Cruin and if you visit you will be too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“loveable place in scotland”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

i love the cleanliness,very nice staff,would love to go back
u can get the nice view of nature,frequently visit here every time feel more better then last time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Venue”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My daughter had her wedding reception at the Cruin yesterday. The food, service and the venue itself were perfect. The staff were friendly, attentive and could not have done more to make our special day as stress free as possible.
Everything combined to give our families and friends a fabulous experience.
If you want a great venue for your wedding check this out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“what a great day”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Anyone out there looking for a wonderful place for a wedding look no further than the cruin on Loch Lomond got married there yesterday 21st Sept 2012 was a fantastic day,great setting great service food was amazing the staff and management at the Cruin were first class. I cant really praise it high enough on its standards Lodges were spotless just wonderful go have a look.Thank you to everyone for making our day one to remember

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cruin restaurant loch lomond also viewed

Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to The Cruin restaurant loch lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing