We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sir Walter Scott” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Katrine

Loch Katrine
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.23*
and up
Inversnaid Day Trip with Return Cruise on Loch Lomond from Tarbet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Loch Katrine - one of Scotland's special places. Just as special as the magnificent scenery is the famous steamship "Sir Walter Scott" which itself has been a landmark in The Trossachs for over a hundred years. Your visit is not complete without a cruise on this wonderful ship, or on "Lady of the Lake", the perfect way to experience the beauty of Loch Katrine. Perhaps you'll just want to relax with a coffee or a meal in the Brenachoile Cafe Bar, shop for a souvenir and take a stroll by the shore, or bring the family for a cycle trip?
St Andrews
Level Contributor
139 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sir Walter Scott”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We are up visiting the Trossachs as we do most years in June and we took a trip down Loch Katrine on the Sir Walter Scott. The weather was not great but we got a warm welcome from the crew and enjoyed the trip to the end of the loch and back . A great trip with lovely scenery . A must when you visit the Trossachs.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    157
    28
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Captain Molly and Andrew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We were taking a short break locally and were wondering what to do on our last full day.
Mum had to go home a day early so it was just me and the kids.
I've been to loch Katrine before and the kids have been too but I thought why not as the weather wasn't the best.
We booked our tickets and had an hour to kill before the boat sailed this gave us a chance to apply mucho midge repellant and take a wee look around.
Spent twenty minutes looking for urisks(don't ask) then had a quick look in gift shop.

We boarded the boat in plenty of time and as it wasn't busy there were plenty of seats.
The steward I think his name was Cameron was really good with the kids and organised for them to go up to the bridge and take the wheel. The kids loved it and it really made there day even more so when he gave them both a certificate to say the are junior captains.
A bit cold but still a great way to spend an hour and we all enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mollydrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sir Walter Scott Boat Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Spectacular views and helpful staff. Such great knowledge and experience which included Morags search for polar bears in Madagascar. Great value for the money and a nice bar on board.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteveRPaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sir Walter Scott Loch Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a must if you are visiting the Callendar area especially on a fine day, if you get the first cruise it is a 2 hour cruise looking at lovely scenery and very relaxing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“2 hour Round Trip on the Loch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We chose fine weather to do this trip and had a lovely 2 hours cruising Loch Katrine. The ticketing was easy and we were given a discount on account of our holiday accommodation being in the area. An interesting commentary on board and a small catering hatch for teas and coffees laced with Brandy and Whisky made for a very pleasant morning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferMary46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Katrine also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Loch Katrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing