We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant”
Review of The Kingarth Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kilchattan Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kingarth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilchattan Bay
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stopped here on our tour of the Island intending to have a snack for lunch. Once we saw the menu though we couldn't resist and my husband managed a three course meal. I managed 2 courses and was finally defeated by the best ploughmans I have had in a long time. The member of staff was friendly and the pool table was in super condition. Highly recommend this place for food. Can't comment on the hotel side of things but the restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolindenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    37
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
53
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colintraive, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Ate here again, this time with seven colleagues. The food is good and there is a nice ambiance. There was only one staff member on so service was not the fastest but we were not in a hurry so this was not a problem. We started ordering at about 1pm and were finished after 3pm. What was eaten? Mussels in garlic, avocado salad and soup for starters, fish and seafood pie, burgers and fish and chips for mains. The portions are large. The burger is actually two home made burgers in a baguette and the fish pie about 10 inches in diameter! There are lots of specials to choose from too.The place is all on one level including toilets and so is good for the mobility impaired. There is good parking and also a minibus service to town. Happy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetIna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We only called here on our circular tour of Bute (Beautiful place) for Saturday lunch. Happy to recomend the food here, the staff and the Hotel to others who may read this.

The food was very good, the service was the same, what more could the hungry traveller ask for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MullenYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visit Bute regularly as we have a boat and like to use the marina facilities in Rothesay. In recent years we've been restricted to eating at restaurants in the town (no transport) but recently were delighted to discover that the Kingarth offers a complimentary mini-bus service for diners staying in the marina. This country pub oozes olde worlde charm and the food in the restaurant is first-rate, fresh local produce cooked beautifully. The service was outstanding and we enjoyed an excellent evening before being driven back to the marina by the owner of this fine establishment. Sadly the sailing season is nearly over but we'll be back in Rothesay next year and I know where we'll be dining!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigha36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I have been in Bute several times unfortunately on a number of occasions we were unable to obtain accommodation at the Kingarth Hotel due to it being fully booked. The food is excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful even suggesting other accommodation possibilities when they are fully booked. It is a pity they do not have more rooms available. We always look forward to being in Bute and of eating in the Kingarth Hotel

Room Tip: telephone well in advance of your trip to Bute unfortunately we only know the day prior to our actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were wild camping locally but chose the location as near to the Kingarth. There was a wedding going on so rather busy. However, we still received excellent service and food - all fish and chips but really good. Would like to go back when quieter, which I'm sure we'll do. I also met a lovely bay horse nearby. ;-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klette0147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My partner and I paid a visit to the Kingarth Hotel on a recent holiday in Bute - what a wonderful find! The staff were welcoming and helpful and the food extremely good and freshly made from locally sourced ingredients. The fish and chips were excellent and the fish pie one of the best I have ever tasted. The atmosphere is lovely, toilets spotless, everywhere clean and fresh. It was a real pleasure to visit and we shall return on our next trip to Bute.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchattan Bay
5.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
924 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
245 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
297 reviews
12.0 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
317 reviews
5.6 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingarth Hotel

Property: The Kingarth Hotel
Address: Kingarth T-Junction, Kilchattan Bay PA20 9LU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Kilchattan Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilchattan Bay
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing