We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant on Bute”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kingarth Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kilchattan Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kingarth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilchattan Bay
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on Bute”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visit Bute regularly as we have a boat and like to use the marina facilities in Rothesay. In recent years we've been restricted to eating at restaurants in the town (no transport) but recently were delighted to discover that the Kingarth offers a complimentary mini-bus service for diners staying in the marina. This country pub oozes olde worlde charm and the food in the restaurant is first-rate, fresh local produce cooked beautifully. The service was outstanding and we enjoyed an excellent evening before being driven back to the marina by the owner of this fine establishment. Sadly the sailing season is nearly over but we'll be back in Rothesay next year and I know where we'll be dining!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigha36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    35
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
50
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I have been in Bute several times unfortunately on a number of occasions we were unable to obtain accommodation at the Kingarth Hotel due to it being fully booked. The food is excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful even suggesting other accommodation possibilities when they are fully booked. It is a pity they do not have more rooms available. We always look forward to being in Bute and of eating in the Kingarth Hotel

Room Tip: telephone well in advance of your trip to Bute unfortunately we only know the day prior to our actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were wild camping locally but chose the location as near to the Kingarth. There was a wedding going on so rather busy. However, we still received excellent service and food - all fish and chips but really good. Would like to go back when quieter, which I'm sure we'll do. I also met a lovely bay horse nearby. ;-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klette0147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My partner and I paid a visit to the Kingarth Hotel on a recent holiday in Bute - what a wonderful find! The staff were welcoming and helpful and the food extremely good and freshly made from locally sourced ingredients. The fish and chips were excellent and the fish pie one of the best I have ever tasted. The atmosphere is lovely, toilets spotless, everywhere clean and fresh. It was a real pleasure to visit and we shall return on our next trip to Bute.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

A family favourite. Good tasting food, large portions and nice environment. Remember to book as it can get busy. Good alue and consistently great meals.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth uk
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Kingarth Hotel is a great place to have a meal, the food is fantastic & great big portions,& the staff are very friendly.If we ever go back to the Isle Of Bute we would stay there as well. It is an old coach Inn and has loads of character.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossbankbymutley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This was a lovely find on the Isle of Bute when we were looking for a family meal out - a relaxed atmosphere, nice recently renovated building, and fabulous pub-price food. When I saw fish-fingers and chips on the menu for the children I thought it would be the bog-standard sort; but it turned out to be gorgeous handmade fish-fingers and chips. My children ate up everything on their plate - which were enormous portions - which is rare for them! The grown-ups really enjoyed their meals too; the menu was imaginative and offered loads of choice. There was lots of locals (surely the sign of a good place) and it would definitely be somewhere I return to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchattan Bay
5.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
884 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
233 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,430 reviews
12.0 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
301 reviews
5.4 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 19 in Rothesay
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingarth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingarth Hotel

Property: The Kingarth Hotel
Address: Kingarth T-Junction, Kilchattan Bay PA20 9LU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Kilchattan Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilchattan Bay
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing