We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Getaway”
Review of Chandlers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chandlers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ascog
Certificate of Excellence
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Anniversary Getaway”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We booked a two night deal with Groupon ( which I think everyone who we met during our stay had done ). For the money we paid, I doubt we could do better. The external appearance of the hotel is a bit tired and could do with some TLC but the inside is absolutely lovely, well kept ,very clean and with lots of character. The views are superb and not too far from Rothesay and if you are lucky, as we were, to go when the sun is shining then the deck at the front of the hotel is a great place to relax and unwind for a while.Our room was the smallest in the hotel but was spotless and the decor was lovely. Sure, the bed was on the small side but we were on our anniversary so no complaints there!
There was a recent review which was scathing and they had obviously stayed in the same room as us. All I can say to them is " get a life !" Yeah, no frosted glass in shower room or curtain but there was a lovely view of the bay and I have no idea who could possibly have spied on us as we showered and I could'nt care less.
We ate on our second evening which was our anniversary and it more than lived up to it's reputation. David, the Chef, had spoken to us earlier in the day and he certainly prepared a meal that was very tasty and pleasing on the eye. I had the seafood chowder and then a lamb shank, my wife had the homemade pate followed by the salmon -- both of us agreed it was a cracking meal and as good as we have had on any of our previous 31 anniversary dinners ! We had a cooked breakfast both days which had an extensive choice and was a great start to the day.
Congrats to the owners, who run a very friendly and welcoming hotel and we look forward to returning to Chandlers in the future.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    75
    24
    22
    32
See reviews for
31
199
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked a cheap groupon deal for 2 nights. For the money i doubt it could be better.

I read the recent scathing review as i lay in the same room. Yeah sure its not a big bed, but it was fine, the room was small, but again it was fine. The breakfast was lovely and the staff attentive.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it at the price bracket its in.

On the second night we were without asking ,moved to a much bigger and nicer room the floor below. I think this room was worth far more, and made the cost of the stay fantastic value. We didn't eat in the restaurant on either evening but others who did ,raved about it to us.

So, to surmise, if you are a realist and like me look for a bargain, you couldn't not enjoy this place,the views are fantastic.

Room Tip: If possible not the top floor. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lnf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a sea view room- Ferguson which was wonderful. Even though the outside of the hotel could do with some painting and maintenance the inside is well kept and full of character. The view from the room was spectacular.
The hotel is a nice walking distance from Rothesay and very close to Ascog bay.

The first night we had food in the hotel - it was the best food we had all weekend! It was reasonably priced and delicious. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on the Saturday night as we would have loved to have eaten there again.

Breakfast was included and they provide plenty of choice. The cooked breakfast is lovely.

My mother in law had organised a surprise bottle of wine for my husband and a box of after eights (my favourite) which the hotel happily organised for her.

The staff are very friendly and we would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Had a great two nights staying at Chandlers the staff where all very friendly. It,s in a good location and very scenic views would stay again if i visit Bute again. i wish i had tried the kippers they looked amazing. Good location for walkers to use as a base to explore Bute.
The last bus from Rothesay is 10.10 pm but it,s only a sort walk to the hotel. The room was very clean and cosy and had a great shower in the bath room.
Did not have an evening meal but if breakfast was anything to go by it would be outstanding.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omak, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The staff here were very friendly and the room nice and clean. While we had no view from our room, we were OK with it as we were out exploring most of the time. The breakfast was very good, and we had a choice of hot dishes if we opted for them. Dinner was amazing! Dave, the chef fixed one of the most wonderful seafood dinners that I have ever had. My only complain is that the hotel is some distance from anything. As we had no car, we had to take the bus. That wasn't a problem as the bus stops at their driveway every hour. Bute is a lovely Island, and I hope to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeezit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancy77
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at this Hotel for a Birthday Celebration Weekend, we received a very warm Welcome from Alison & her son, we were immediately given an upgrade, which was very welcome, our room was immaculate with a view to die for, toiletries supplied & tea making facilities. Dinner was to die for as was the Splendid Breakfast where we met our host, a very pleasent man attentive to our needs, and incidently
very talented on the guitar. On return we have recommended this Hotel to all our friends & family, we will definitely be paying another visit to this great value for money Hotel. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy7764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My friend and I stayed here B&B for 2 nights in June. We had a comfortable twin room to the rear of the hotel (no view, but that didn't bother us) which had a spacious bathroom en suite. The hotel is slightly out of town but there is a regular bus service, and taxis cost about £7 each way. The breakfasts offered a variety of cereals, fruit, juice and several hot options. We enjoyed the large dining room with the fabulous views over the sea. We found the staff friendly and very willing to give helpful advice about the island. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have a sea view. We took the open top tourist bus for a tour of the island and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascog
1.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
947 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,165 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
925 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandlers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandlers Hotel

Property: Chandlers Hotel
Address: Ascog Bay, Ascog PA20 9ET, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Ascog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ascog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chandlers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandlers Hotel Ascog, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing