We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Montford cottage

From north side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
From north side
South side Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
From north side
South side
Double bedroom
garden gate
sea view
old walled garden
view from bedroom
boat
Bute ferry
Highland cow
Ferry at night
Dunagoil point
Ascog bay
Saltire
Montford cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ascog, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sparky49K...
kent
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed May 21, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage is right on the shoreline with sea views from every room. It is fully equipped and has a real family feel. It's position is incredible and the peace and tranquility is amazing. We loved every minute and would go back in a heartbeat

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray201803...
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic holiday destination”
Reviewed April 26, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We found Montford Cottage and it's location to be an oasis of calm in an idyllic setting . Couldn't wish for a better place to unwind and relax. Can't wait to return and enjoy another stay there. We would recommend it to anyone.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2018
Thanks Ray for your review - we are delighted that you had a lovely restful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bernd H
1 review
“IT was a good time in a very nice hause at the sea”
Reviewed January 16, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Every things works very easy and the house is very comfort and has a fantastic view.
To Rothesary it is only ten minutes with the bike.
Nice greetings to the ownerns Jack and Kate!
Bernd

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2018
Thank you Bernd. We hope to welcome you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“First visit to Bute, excellent accommadation.”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

As indicated this was our first visit to Bute and we could not have chosen a better place to stay. On stepping through the door we felt the cottage was warm and welcoming.and so it proved throughout our weeks stay. The whole house was comfortable,bedrooms and living room and even the kitchen has a great view from the window.
Rothsay was only a few minutes down the road for shops, dining etc and it was an ideal base from which to explore the island or just sit watch the sea and the boats go by. We look forward to a return visit.
.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2017
Thanks Eddie for your great feedback. We'll be very pleased to welcome you back in June 2018!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philbunch...
West Dunbartonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"A Cottage with stunning views"”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If you are looking for a quiet family friendly cottage this is were to go! I have went with my grandchildren the last two years and now we have booked for 2018, the girls love the location we sit in the beautiful garden watching the seals and the views over the Clyde. They enjoy the beach looking for treasure and just the overall magic which draws us back!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Hello Philomena
We are so glad you enjoyed staying again at Montford Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2018. Best wishes Kate & Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very nice cottage”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Montford Cottage was the perfect cottage for us on our trip to the Isle of Bute. Lovely garden, well equipted, clean and decoracareted with much love.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Thanks for the positive feedback Daniel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing