We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"A Cottage with stunning views"”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Montford cottage

From north side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
From north side
South side Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
From north side
South side
Double bedroom
garden gate
sea view
old walled garden
view from bedroom
boat
Bute ferry
Highland cow
Ferry at night
Dunagoil point
Ascog bay
Saltire
Montford cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ascog, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
philbunch...
West Dunbartonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"A Cottage with stunning views"”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If you are looking for a quiet family friendly cottage this is were to go! I have went with my grandchildren the last two years and now we have booked for 2018, the girls love the location we sit in the beautiful garden watching the seals and the views over the Clyde. They enjoy the beach looking for treasure and just the overall magic which draws us back!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Hello Philomena
We are so glad you enjoyed staying again at Montford Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2018. Best wishes Kate & Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Very nice cottage”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Montford Cottage was the perfect cottage for us on our trip to the Isle of Bute. Lovely garden, well equipted, clean and decoracareted with much love.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Thanks for the positive feedback Daniel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenny M
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful, quiet relation weekend”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Anyone who's driven around Bute has been past this cottage. It stands on the seaward side of the road giving great views across the Clyde with the beach right on your doorstep. It's a compact little cottage but has everything you need for a quiet relaxing break away from it all. There's a bus stop just next to the cottage so if you want to dump the car it's easy to still get into Rothesay, it's not too long a walk anyway and the views are excellent. This is a great location for a relaxing break, sitting in the garden watching the waves crash against the shore or spotting boats go sailing by. The only downside for me was the lack of wifi but the views more than make up for it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Hi Kenny. Many thanks for your great comments - we're delighted you had such a lovely holiday at Montford Cottage. Regarding the wifi situation, this is something we continue to discuss at length - particularly with our teenage children! I suppose we're just trying to keep the cottage a place of retreat from all that. Enjoy the rest of the summer and we hope you will return! Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George an...
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 13, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Visiting family for New Year we required a warm and comfortable cottage within easy reach of Rothesay.
This property fulfilled all these requirements and more. The location is amazing with fantastic views from the living room and kitchen. We saw an otter on our last day. The kitchen is well stocked for self catering needs and the decor throughout is tastefully appointed with careful choice of soft furnishings. The beds are comfortable too.
Only one small comment, we consider access to wi-fi an essential part of a holiday let. If you don't want it you can always it unplug it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandl...
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“A peaceful oasis!”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2015

I stayed here for a week in 2015 and absolutely adored it. The views over the bay were breath taking and I used to enjoy having my morning cup of tea watching the changing colors of the sky and sea. The swans would visit the little cove every morning and as well as the otters and the seals. It was truly a remarkable place to unwind and relax away from every day hustle and bustle. I was fully rejuvenated by the end of my stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
Thank you Linda for the lovely review all the way from California! We are looking forward to welcoming you back later in the year.
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny G
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm and Welcoming”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

As we have family on the island, we have visited and stayed in this cottage several times. Every time I walk in it feels warm and welcoming, with it’s beautiful décor and cosy atmosphere. It is well equipped with everything that you may need in the kitchen and to help you relax, including DVDS and books. The location is perfect, sitting right on the water’s edge and it is only a couple of miles from the town centre/ferry. This time we took a trip out to St Blane’s Chapel, which is only a 15-20min drive from the cottage. The ruins sit up on a hill, a short walk from the parking. The ruins are well kept and the views are stunning! A bit like the views from the cottage!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2017
Thanks Jenny. Very happy to hear you had another great stay at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C
1 review
“An amazing idyllic cottage with amazing views.”
Reviewed December 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed here for a long weekend and had the most relaxing time. Cottage is of a high standard as are the views. Will definitely return for another stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2017
Thanks Elaine! So glad you enjoyed the cottage for the weekend. Let us know when you want to come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing