We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Montford cottage

From north side.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
From north side.
South side Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
From north side.
South side
Double bedroom
garden gate
sea view
old walled garden
view from bedroom
boat
Bute ferry
Highland cow
Ferry at night
Dunagoil point
Ascog bay
Saltire
Montford cottage
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Living room
Living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ascog, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
George an...
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 13, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Visiting family for New Year we required a warm and comfortable cottage within easy reach of Rothesay.
This property fulfilled all these requirements and more. The location is amazing with fantastic views from the living room and kitchen. We saw an otter on our last day. The kitchen is well stocked for self catering needs and the decor throughout is tastefully appointed with careful choice of soft furnishings. The beds are comfortable too.
Only one small comment, we consider access to wi-fi an essential part of a holiday let. If you don't want it you can always it unplug it!

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandl...
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“A peaceful oasis!”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2015

I stayed here for a week in 2015 and absolutely adored it. The views over the bay were breath taking and I used to enjoy having my morning cup of tea watching the changing colors of the sky and sea. The swans would visit the little cove every morning and as well as the otters and the seals. It was truly a remarkable place to unwind and relax away from every day hustle and bustle. I was fully rejuvenated by the end of my stay.

Date of stay: September 2015
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
Thank you Linda for the lovely review all the way from California! We are looking forward to welcoming you back later in the year.
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny G
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm and Welcoming”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

As we have family on the island, we have visited and stayed in this cottage several times. Every time I walk in it feels warm and welcoming, with it’s beautiful décor and cosy atmosphere. It is well equipped with everything that you may need in the kitchen and to help you relax, including DVDS and books. The location is perfect, sitting right on the water’s edge and it is only a couple of miles from the town centre/ferry. This time we took a trip out to St Blane’s Chapel, which is only a 15-20min drive from the cottage. The ruins sit up on a hill, a short walk from the parking. The ruins are well kept and the views are stunning! A bit like the views from the cottage!

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2017
Thanks Jenny. Very happy to hear you had another great stay at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C
1 review
“An amazing idyllic cottage with amazing views.”
Reviewed December 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed here for a long weekend and had the most relaxing time. Cottage is of a high standard as are the views. Will definitely return for another stay.

Date of stay: September 2016
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2017
Thanks Elaine! So glad you enjoyed the cottage for the weekend. Let us know when you want to come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Date of stay: September 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
philbunch...
West Dunbartonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tranquility”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My 4 grandchildren and I spent a week at this beautiful cottage, it was decorated to a high standard, everything you would need for a relaxing holiday books,board games and binoculars to watch the scenery which was breathtaking! I even found my grandchildren on the beach eating there cereal they had a ball,looking for treasure. We loved it so much we have booked for two weeks next year!

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2016
Glad to hear that you had such a lovely holiday, Philomena. We're delighted that you're coming back.
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C1175TLja...
West Melbourne, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfy Cottage with a view!”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

You can't go wrong with booking this beautiful cottage by the sea. I read the reviews, I saw the pictures, and still I was stunned when I finally arrived at Montford Cottage. The cottage itself is decorated beautifully, inspiring a sea side theme that isn't the least bit cliche. But far and away, the most amazing aspect of our stay was the view! Everywhere you look, there was something awe inspiring. The sea changed almost hourly, the incoming, and out going tide changed the shape of the pebble beach dramatically throughout the day. We were even lucky enough to befriend a Swan, who visited us daily. He swam up, sat next to us, and we all enjoyed the scenery together. The animals weren't the only friendly ones around. We also had the pleasure of meeting a few neighbors. Everyone was very nice, and happy to chat and give advice about things to do on the island. The location of Montford cottage is fantastic. Far enough away from the major town to feel like you've really gotten away from the hustle and bustle of busy life, but close enough that running out for some milk wasn't a chore at all. We loved getting to know the house, and all its little secrets. I apologize to the owners for not posting my review sooner. I've been back home for 3 weeks, and am only just now beginning to mentally leave my little white cottage that sits by the sea.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view, and decor of the house
Liked least: The tricky lock on the front door.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing