We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real must see, nothing left like this around anymore!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rothesay's Victorian Toilets

Rothesay's Victorian Toilets
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Rothesay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tillicoultry
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A real must see, nothing left like this around anymore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Initially I intended to visit this just to see it as I had been told it was well worth a visit. However on discovering there were showers avaliable, I brought my wife back after she completed her walk of the West Island Way, as I knew she would want to get clean if there was an opportunity to do so.

The setting is nothing short of stunning. Original Victorian fixtures abound and I had a great shower and shave. Anyone coming to the area walking, kayaking, cycling etc. should certainly make use of this facility if it would be in any way useful. It was only £1.50 for a full shower, 20p for access to the toilets. Given you have to pay that to get into whatever passes for a toilet at a station, its a steal!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    93
    20
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A view from the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Must have been mind blowing to the Victorian travellers with a communal pot down the garden. Very much like the mens loo in Stockport Town Hall

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A loo with a difference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Victorian Toilets on the sea front have won many awards over the years and it is little wonder. You move into a bygone age when you enter the toilets which are impeccably maintained and which retain all the original fixtures and fittings. An unusual attraction well worth a visit even if it is not essential!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jerryattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“What a place to go.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Victorian tiles and brass fittings were very well preserved and definitely worth 20p - where else can you see such a historical building as this for 20p. Apparently the gents is remarkable too. Not surprising it has won awards - well worth the visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank margareth700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pay and GO.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Well what can we say about "Toilets" unbelievable such extravagance in victorian times. well worth the 20p charge + take images (no persons ) Male and F-male all spacious bus loads visit !!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank brian5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rothesay's Victorian Toilets also viewed

Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 
Rothesay, Isle of Bute
 

Been to Rothesay's Victorian Toilets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing