We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A buteful cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private drive to cottage sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Private drive to cottage
sitting room
kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom with king size bed
Bedroom with twin beds
Bathroom
garden
view from front of cottage
view from cottage
view from cottage
sitting room
winter view
log burner
view
view
sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Madhuskyg...
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A buteful cottage”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a wonderful few days stay here. The cottage is modern and to a very high spec. It was warm and comfortable. We appreciated the underfloor heating and the log fire. (The Mount Stuart sawmill is a good source for logs!) Plenty of room - great to have wifi. The dog enjoyed the garden and we liked the views of Rothesay Bay, watching the Calmac ferries and the odd fishing boat. Bute is one of the most beautifulplaces you can visit - we saw lots of wildlife including seals especially out beyond Ascog and a flock of Greylag geese which migrated round the island. Then after a day out exploring it was back to the cosiness and quiet of Bogany Cottage. The cooker is easy to use. All you needed for a holiday. I hope we will be back next year.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R
1 review
“A wonderful stay with breathtaking views”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The cottage is about 1/2 mile from the centre of Rothesay and the views over the sea to the mainland are fantastic. The cottage itself is decorated to an excellent standard and quite spacious for a 2 bed accomodation. The kitchen lounge is particularly nice and the underfloor heating keeps the whole property warm. We tried lighting the wood burner which is extremely efficient and I would only recommend lighting it if it is really cold outside.
The main bedroom has a lovely view of the sea and the bed is very comfortable.

Helen the owner was also very helpful and accomodating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position and decor
Liked least: We were not sure whether we could use the garden
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2016
Thank you for your review and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tomlesdav
Newton Mearns
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Facilities.”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This Cottage is ideally located. Approx. 100yds. from the prom up a steep slope and about a 15 minute stroll to the harbour. The Cottage had absolutely everything we required for our holiday. Lounge - 2 lounge windows with great views. 2 comfy sofas and a small flat screen TV. Large Kitchen - Dining table and 4 chairs. Vast cupboard space and worktop facilities. Every facility.... Washing machine, 4 ring cooker, large fridge freezer, toaster, kettle, microwave and coffee maker. Everything, Right down to salt and pepper sellers! 2 Bedrooms - 1 double room and 1 twin room. Both with really comfy beds and good quality bedding. Bathroom - Lovely hot and powerful shower.
The underfloor heating is very efficient with thermostats in all rooms. Surprisingly the log burner was not required during our September visit.
On arrival we had a problem when the dog was slung on his foot by a wasp. Allison contacted the local vet and the dog had an appointment within an hour. The owners could be contacted by phone if there were any problems.
The Cottage also has easy disability access. A low long ramp to the front door and level indoors.
Great house ! Great service ! Book now if you are in doubt,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities.
Liked least: Tree in front of one window.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Bogany Cottage, we do hope that you will come back and see us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamrafa
west midlands
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Bute of a stay !”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely cottage with excellent views...could watch the ferry all day! Excellent facilities felt like 'home from home'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The viws
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2016
Thank you for your review and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage on a Perfect Island”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was absolutely lovely and contained everything we could ask for. It was decorated beautifully and was very clean. The bed was very comfy.

The views from the garden over the bay are excellent and the dogs loved running round in the safe enclosed space.

The Isle of Bute was perfect for a lovely summer holiday, Ettrick Bay and Scalpsie beach are both amazing sandy beaches perfect for the kids to play on. Scalpsie also has a lot of seals with which you can get up close.

We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful view
Liked least: The turn onto Bogany Road from Mount Stewart Road
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the island. We would love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing