We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy wee b&b near town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #11 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cosy wee b&b near town centre”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Booked for 1 night in the family room. The room had a double bed and a single bed. Good sized room but didn't have a good view of the sea, which wasn't an issue.

The guest lounge was lovely to sit at night with a few drinks over looking the harbour and we were allowed to bring our own drinks into this room.

The breakfast was amazing in the morning. We had a lot of choice but went for the fry up. Was delicious and Kier who owns the b&b was very attentive and offered us more toast etc.


Would definitely stay here again if visiting Rothsey. Ideally located about a 3minute walk from the town centre and ferry terminal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail130882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
13
32
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
motherwell
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have just returned from our third stay in the Glendale , I can honestly say we don't have one negative thing to say , keir is very friendly & his customer service is excellent. We booked on the Tuesday for the following saturday & were pleasantly surprised to get room one , this room has lovely decor/bathroom& most of all the view right across the bay , breakfast is the best , hot & freshly made , will definitely return

Room Tip: Room one has excellent views & a sofa at the window where you can sit & watch the day go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A quirky guest house with fabulous views over looking the clyde. friendly, helpful owners I would definitely stay again and would recommend it to others. Clean and tidy and handy for shops , restaurants ferry terminal etc

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This place seriously has character! We got a very warm welcome and shown to our bed/sitting room which looked directly out to sea. Next door was a huge, communal living room with spectacular bay window. The house has obviously been very run down at some point, and there are still a few rough edges here and there, but this is easily made up for by its eccentricities. We were very well looked after and thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robindaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

A quiet, comfy night, friendly helpful owner. Location for views hard to beat, worth spending time sitting in the enormous bay window over the bay watching the ferries come and go. Breakfast tasty, hot and freshly made, refills offered. No negatives.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabella55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in Rothesay for 2 nights as part of a tour around Scotland. Upon arrival we were welcomed by one of our hosts Fiona who checked us into our room. There is adequate parking on the street by the property and on the property itself. The room was very clean, well furnished and spacious with all the neccessary facilities required to make the stay more pleasant. The view from the room was fantastic, we were overlooking the seafront. The residents lounge was tastefully decorated and spacious with great views of the seafront. There was also a fridge on the landing for residents to put drinks in which was great. The breakfast is done to order between 08.00-09.00am, there is no buffet-style setup. Therefore, some patience may be required when it's busy but the end results are worth it. There is a good variety of food to choose from( I recommend the fish cakes, they are very tasty), it's very nice and there is plenty of it. My only concern was that we had to leave our room key in a room by the hallway when we wanted to go out. This was requested so that the owners would know that we were out out of the property, we would upon our return enter the security locked door and collect our keys before going to our room. A good idea, but the problem here is that this room with the keys is not manned at all times and not locked, so potentially anyone in the property can help themselves to keys and possibly the contents of somebody else's room! A great deal of trust is being put into the owners by the guests and vice-versa. While most folks tend to be fairly honest, there is always the chance that someone isn't. Just something for people to think about. This being said, our hosts made us feel very welcome, Kerr helped me out with all the information that we needed to make our stay more enjoyable. Overall, we had a really pleasant stay here and would recommend to others

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We were able to book a room on short notice. We booked the sea view and (after cycling) enjoyed a couple of relaxing hours in the afternoon sun in the lounge and our room - both have a very cosy atmosphere. We felt welcome and the owner was very friendly and helpful.

And then there was the breakfast - probably the best we ever had in a B&B so far with a great choice of food!! So, as food lovers: Just for that, we'll come back...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
908 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howards Way Guest House
Howards Way Guest House
#13 of 18 in Rothesay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Property: Glendale Guest House
Address: 20 Battery Place, Rothesay PA20 9DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing